Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

18

No. Consider that: Verbal (V) ...the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. If you can argue that this is ALL that is needed to cast a purely verbal spell, then anyone or anything with a mouth can cast it. Let's get more basic: suppose you don't have spell slots left to ...


9

So to start with, it's worth pointing out that you can cast Warding Bond on yourself. Touch range spells are described as: Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Further, under the Targeting Yourself section, it says: If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be ...


7

No, you can't do verbal spellcasting through your familiar. From Find Familiar's last paragraph (PHB p240) we see you're granted permission only to "deliver" touch spells through your familiar, but you're not granted permission to do any other spellcasting through them (nor does the familiar itself cast the touch spell): Finally, when you cast a spell ...


7

Yes. There is such an example in the Player's Handbook on page 54, as part of the description of the sorcerer's familiar class feature: For example, suppose that Hennet is a 3rd-level sorcerer with 3,230 XP when his owl familiar is killed by a bugbear. Hennet makes a successful saving throw, so he loses 300 XP, dropping him below 3,000 XP and back to 2nd ...


7

No — since it doesn't explicitly override them, the normal rules on page 204 of the Player's Handbook for choosing the target space into which you summon your familiar in the first place still apply when re-summoning it: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover. You have to pick a location that you can ...


6

From Find Familiar (PHB p. 294) the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast. They have the same Intelligence (and Wisdom, and Strength etc.) as the chosen form. The spell is explicit about what they can and cannot do. Specifically: It acts independently It obeys ...


4

I would allow it, but "in range" is iffy For me the primary question here is what does "in range" mean, exactly? Does the target have to be in range of you (the caster), or the place that your voice happens to be coming from, when those are not the same place? The definition of "range" in the PHB does not say anywhere what the distance is measured from, ...


1

Short Answer If you can cast Warding Bond on yourself, via touch, then Yes, your familiar can do it. If you can't cast Warding Bond on yourself, via touch, then No, your familiar cannot do it. The embedded question required to answer the question posed is: "Can you cast Warding Bond on yourself?" Miniman's answer suggests that you can. The ...


1

I don't think the rules-as-written would allow it, because allowing logic to say "I can deliver this spell in a way that isn't explicitly specified" is usually broken. However, the idea makes sense to me, if I were GM'ing I might well decide that you can provided: The target is within 60 ft of you And can hear your familiar. That doesn't let you cast ...


1

The simplest answer is no because the rule says no, only flavor text vaguely indicates yes, and rules trump flavor text. D&D is a game, not a simulation of life in a fantasy world. The explanation of how the weave works is just flavor text and is merely an afterthought that makes the PHB somewhat more interesting to read. But the rule itself is what the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible