Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

23

Not sharing a language doesn't mean you can't communicate. Familiars are smart (6 intelligence at level 1, and rising fast) and have empathic links to their associated spellcasters. Which is to say, you can demonstrate concepts to your familiar by example, even if you can't do it through speech; And you can readily communicate an emotion associated with each ...


16

I see no reason why an Int 6 familiar with which you share an empathic link that lets you directly communicate emotions would be less able to be instructed than an Int 2 dog which doesn't even have a link. Yet nobody seems to think that it's impossible to direct an animal companion, and the idea of a guard dog doesn't surprise anyone. You might not share a ...


3

A familiar with int 6 has a number of skill points equal to 1 per hit die, and you use the master's hit dice or the creature's, whichever is higher. People forget this. This means that even if your familiar does not have a language to start with, it can learn one. No, it probably can't speak it (unless it's a raven or a parrot or similar) but it can ...


3

This answer is at least partially opinion based, just as a warning ;). The Familiar still has an empathic link, which means it is able to determine your general attitude towards a person or Situation, furthermore it is intelligent to a degree and for a first level character, you can usually assume that your familiar has "known" you for some time, therefore ...


2

Firstly, yes, if a spell requires an attack, that attack still counts as an attack. So, what you have to remember is the "specific beats general" rule. This is detailed on page 7 of the PHB. The core of the rule is: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins. So the general rule here is that familiars can't attack. There are ...


2

From the Find Familiar entry: A familiar can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal. A familiar is an independent creature with its own movement, actions, and so on. So it can take an action, a bonus action, and a reaction. (Assuming it has something to do with them.)



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible