Hot answers tagged

24

Not sharing a language doesn't mean you can't communicate. Familiars are smart (6 intelligence at level 1, and rising fast) and have empathic links to their associated spellcasters. Which is to say, you can demonstrate concepts to your familiar by example, even if you can't do it through speech; And you can readily communicate an emotion associated with each ...


20

No. Consider that: Verbal (V) ...the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. If you can argue that this is ALL that is needed to cast a purely verbal spell, then anyone or anything with a mouth can cast it. Let's get more basic: suppose you don't have spell slots left to ...


20

Not exactly. The rules on Working Together in order to give advantage are as follows: A character can only provide help if the task is one that he or she could attempt alone. For example, trying to open a lock requires proficiency with thieves’ tools, so a character who lacks that proficiency can’t help another character in that task. Moreover, a ...


19

So, to your first question: The pocket dimension will be unique to your familiar. While it's difficult to prove this, a dimension that potentially contains the familiars of every spellcaster with the Find Familiar spell in the entire universe at the same time really doesn't sound like a "pocket" dimension. Also, what would happen if a Wizard sent his ...


16

I see no reason why an Int 6 familiar with which you share an empathic link that lets you directly communicate emotions would be less able to be instructed than an Int 2 dog which doesn't even have a link. Yet nobody seems to think that it's impossible to direct an animal companion, and the idea of a guard dog doesn't surprise anyone. You might not share a ...


14

The Meta Magic option, Distant Spell, if used, changes the range of the spell from touch to 30 ft (PHB 102). Conversely, Find Familiar (PHB 240) gives you the option when you cast a spell with the range of touch to cast it through the familiar, using its reaction to cast the spell. The two effects are mutually exclusive. If you spend the sorcery point, it ...


13

By the rules, no. The Pact of the Chain says: You learn the find familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn't count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. And the find ...


13

Two points suggesting that the Sprite isn't a poison factory The language you cited is general enough to suggest that this ingredient collection, and subsequent poison fabrication, is a collective activity undertaken by Sprite communities in the areas where they live. "In their forest domains" or "they venture" .. is the third person plural which can be ...


12

No, a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain feature does not receive Magic Resistance if they choose a Quasit, Imp, or Pseudodragon. In the first place, a variant rule is only in play if the DM chooses. However, even if the DM decides that pseudodragon familiars (for example) are a thing, it still doesn't benefit the Warlock. Some pseudodragons are willing ...


11

No they cannot learn tricks, and they don't need to. Familiars' Int scores start at 6, and go up from there. A familiar doesn't learn tricks, and it doesn't need them. Tricks represent training an animal to do something that its instincts would not cover it knowing to do, or knowing how to do, but a familiar isn't a dumb animal operating on instinct. It has ...


11

No — since it doesn't explicitly override them, the normal rules on page 204 of the Player's Handbook for choosing the target space into which you summon your familiar in the first place still apply when re-summoning it: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover. You have to pick a location that you can ...


9

Your first question is a classic example of the kind of thing GMs made different rulings on, back in the day, and those different rulings led to different campaign worlds. The second question is similar to the first one, but I expect most GMs will be okay with the familiar carrying a small amount of stuff (a signature hat, for example) into the pocket ...


9

So to start with, it's worth pointing out that you can cast Warding Bond on yourself. Touch range spells are described as: Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Further, under the Targeting Yourself section, it says: If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be ...


9

A drow can't use a panther as a mount because mounts must be one size category larger than you (PHB p. 198), and drow and panthers are both Medium creatures. A panther could drag you while you're paralyzed, but you're too big/heavy for it to pick you up in its mouth.


9

It is safe to say, "Yes, they have hands." According to the PFSRD: Imps vary widely in appearance, ranging through a spectrum of bestial traits and grotesque body shapes, though most take the forms of red-skinned, winged humanoids with bulbous features. Such a typical imp stands a mere 2 feet tall, has a 3-foot wingspan, and weighs 10 pounds. ...


9

No, you cannot normally apply any templates to a familiar. A familiar is an animal chosen by a spellcaster to aid him in his study of magic. It retains the appearance, Hit Dice, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, skills, and feats of the normal animal it once was, but is now a magical beast for the purpose of effects that depend on its type. Only a ...


9

It's almost correct, but not quite. There are two separate, unrelated ways to get a familiar in D&D 5e, and you're trying to combine them. The first method is by use of the Find Familiar spell, which allows you to summon a celestial, fey, or fiendish spirit that takes the form of any of a list of creatures. This list is expanded by the warlock pact of ...


8

Firstly, yes, if a spell requires an attack, that attack still counts as an attack. So, what you have to remember is the "specific beats general" rule. This is detailed on page 7 of the PHB. The core of the rule is: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins. So the general rule here is that familiars can't attack. There are ...


8

No, you can't do verbal spellcasting through your familiar. From Find Familiar's last paragraph (PHB p240) we see you're granted permission only to "deliver" touch spells through your familiar, but you're not granted permission to do any other spellcasting through them (nor does the familiar itself cast the touch spell): Finally, when you cast a spell ...


8

I can find no mention of such in Pathfinder, but for what it’s worth, imps had hands in 3.5, as can be seen in this Monster Manual illustration: The imp is the small red one sitting on the end of the gelugon’s spear, which it is clearly holding onto with its hands.


8

First, as Derek Stucki mentioned in the comments, the errata for the Ranger's companion animal clear up some of this: Ranger’s Companion (p. 93). Like any creature, the beast can spend Hit Dice during a short rest. If you are incapacitated or absent, the beast acts on its own, focusing on protecting you and itself. It never requires your ...


8

If you only want the feat Improved Familiar to make your current familiar celestial, you don't need a feat Doing so, however, is complicated. This obscure Dungeons and Dragons, Third Edition-era Web-only spell makes this happen: The 3rd-level Clr spell planar familiar [trans] (Spellbook Web column "Planar Familiar") instantaneously causes 1 willing ...


7

Yes. There is such an example in the Player's Handbook on page 54, as part of the description of the sorcerer's familiar class feature: For example, suppose that Hennet is a 3rd-level sorcerer with 3,230 XP when his owl familiar is killed by a bugbear. Hennet makes a successful saving throw, so he loses 300 XP, dropping him below 3,000 XP and back to 2nd ...


7

From Find Familiar (PHB p. 294) the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast. They have the same Intelligence (and Wisdom, and Strength etc.) as the chosen form. The spell is explicit about what they can and cannot do. Specifically: It acts independently It obeys ...


7

They are not detectable with detect magic Detect magic can only detect creatures — even highly magical creatures such as outsiders and elementals — if they are the result of an ongoing spell, such as summon monster. No creature type detects as magical in itself*, not even undead. Specifically, the spell has listings for magic items and for ...


7

No. If you have enough Fighter levels, you get more than one attack from your Attack Action, so could forfeit one to let your Familiar attack, and use the rest yourself. Fighter's Extra Attack feature: (PBR 25) Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. But, two-weapon fighting ...


7

The table for creature size contains a a footnote at the typical height/length column, saying: These values are typical for creatures of the indicated size. Some exceptions exist. As the spell Long Arm does not say anything about creature size, I would assume that your Blue Russian is one of those exceptions and would therefore count as a tiny creature ...


7

Can a familiar hold an object? Most can somehow. This will rely on the DM's generosity to some degree, but a familiar's ability to manipulate items physically should be on par with a similar real-life animal. This means, for example, having creatures carry items and drop them is well within most creatures' abilities if their Strengths allow. (Although I ...


7

The section on attunement is quite long, so I won't reproduce it here, but it refers exclusively to a "creature". It doesn't say anything about a player, a player character, a humanoid, or anything else that would exclude familiars from being able to attune to magic items. The ring of spell storing itself likewise has no restriction beyond requiring ...


7

No, not with just this feat. From the Explosive Missile feat: As a standard action, the alchemist can infuse a single arrow, crossbow bolt, or one-handed firearm bullet with the power of his bomb, load the ammunition, and shoot the ranged weapon. He must be proficient with the weapon in order to accomplish this. All three 'actions' (infusing, loading, ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible