Tag Info

New answers tagged

6

Simply put, the victor gets what the conceder offers. They can haggle a bit but if it drags out or they disagree outright, just continue the conflict. Just like a game of Go, the conflict ends when everybody (still standing) agrees that it ends.


4

No, you can't force new things into a concession. Concession details are always offered by the conceder, not dictated by the victor. Keep in mind that "Concession gives the other person what they wanted from you," depends on that goal being pursued during the conflict. If the conflict was "kill the demon" vs "not get killed by the PCs", then naming the ...


6

Short version: When PCs concede, the opponent should get "what they wanted from you", though the details should be negotiated with the PCs. However, the concession should not amount to being taken out. Long version: The Fate Core book limits what concession can and should not mean. All from "Conceding the Conflict" (Fate Core 167): Concession gives ...


16

Lenny Balsera, one of the main system developers for Fate Core, has given an official answer as follows: So, first, the incongruity only comes up when you're talking about a Create Advantage action that piles invokes on an existing aspect. Making one from scratch, it all tracks: Creator succeeds with style, Defender fails, creator gets an aspect ...


3

Your incongruences stems from the facts that there are 2 tables for creating an advantage: one for creating a new aspect, and one for an aspect already present. If you’re using create an advantage to make a new aspect… When you fail, you either don’t create the aspect, or you create it but someone else gets the free invoke—whatever you end up ...


13

When one is invested in failure, one takes the position that the goals of the player and the goals of the character are not always the same. Your character wants to succeed at everything they try, while you as a player want them to fail now and again -- not just because it makes things more interesting, but because doing so earns you Fate Points to guarantee ...


12

"Investing in failure," used in this passage, is not about the rolls discussed earlier in the passage. It's about how failing to invest in failure has a negative impact on other parts of the game's rules. The passage is warning that, if failed rolls aren't a positive play experience, players will not invest in failure as a story-telling feature and will ...



Top 50 recent answers are included