Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

26

Your total bonus column is your total bonus column, and it's comprised of your Ranks, your Ability Modifier, and any other modifiers you might have. So your first option is the right one - Ranks describes the number of skill points you explicitly put into that skill. Anything else is your "total skill modifier", not the number of Ranks.


23

No, a character does not need a feat to eat meat raw. There's no rule for that in D&D, and if there were, it would be laughable if anyone didn't disregard it. "Good thing I'm third level, I can go to sushi bars now!" You mentioned in the other question that you're not even necessarily playing a human character, but some Unseelie Fey right? Different ...


21

You're looking for this handbook, aptly titled: "Ways to Expand a Spell List". With the requirements you stated above: Magic Item Compendium - Runestaves - Item - allows an arcane caster to expend a slot to cast the spell in the staff Explorers Handbook - Drake Helm - Item - Can attune spells to the helm; act as if they are on your known-spells ...


18

It depends on your GM, but if you're playing in a book-specific setting, probably not Which books allowed in the game are strictly a DM's call. While many GMs play with "all books allowed" there are a number that choose to restrict books. One of the more common restrictions are on setting specific material, though it is fairly trivial to file off ...


18

It is broken for the reasons you note (way, way awesome results from a first level spell for having one feat - better than any other summoning augmentation available). There's a good reason for this - the author intended it to be a +2 level metamagic feat but that was omitted when it appeared in print.


17

Yes. An unarmed strike is a one handed, simple, melee weapon, as such it counts as a weapon for TWF. So for both of your cases, it would be valid. It's even valid for a non-monk as that strike is available to anyone who is proficient in Simple Weapons. The key is that it's not available to someone wielding a shield, an item or a non-weapon implement in ...


16

Yes D&D Essentials is part of D&D 4th edition, and makes no differentiation as to source of feats. As essentials is entirely compatible, any character may take feats, utility powers (if appropriate), and items from the essentials books. Check out this question. However, it is important to note that the inclusion of any book or suppliment in an RPG ...


16

Monk Multiclassing If your group actually enforces the Monk multiclassing restriction, and you want to go back to Monk for some reason, Monastic Training from Eberron Campaign Setting allows you to multiclass Monk with any one other class. The only good use of this feat is Tashalatora (see Psionics below), since it’s very rare for anyone to leave Monk ...


16

Yes: curses, ability damage, and ability drain causes loss of the ability to use the feat. You don't actually lose the feat, however - you just don't gain it's benefits until you meet the prerequisite again. From the Players Handbook 3.5 page 87. Prerequisites A character cannot use a feat if he or she has lost the prerequisite. For example, if ...


16

4e authors' policy is that fluff, i.e. the small snippets of descriptive texts you often encounter, are fully separated from the rules' text. This means that when the rules say "you cannot be surprised", it's not descriptive: it's prescriptive. So, whenever you would be surprised, you aren't instead. Even if the character didn't notice an ambush, he still ...


15

I don't have the sourcebook in front of me, but looking at the online d20pfsrd here, Finesse Rogue is a basic level Rogue Talent, which become available for taking at 2nd level. The 'Feat' Rogue Talent is listed as an 'Advanced Talent', which isn't available until 10th level. So when a rogue is 10th level, yes, the 'Feat' talent makes the 'Finesse Rogue' ...


15

No, Versatile Spellcaster does not "chain" in this way. There is not much in the way of rules text for this feat, but part of it is that the character uses two spell slots to cast a spell. The thing that makes chaining impossible is that there is a difference between having a spell slot and casting a spell. Versatile Spellcaster only grants the latter, not ...


15

I want rid of the constraints of virtually costless material components So basically, you want to get rid of the metagamey excel calculations of how many chicken feathers and sulfur is still left. That's great and a very common houserule. Most of the rounds I know don't even give a feat for this. It's simply ruled that non-costly materials do not have ...


15

I would say the answer is no, you can't apply the same feat twice. I don't have a strictly RAW basis for this, but these are my reasons: Wording If the wording was "You can apply two effects of a critical feat", then the answer would be yes - the thing that is doubled is the effect, and that can be the effect of any critical feat. But here the text reads ...


15

It has no effect. The range is still "touch" The range of "touch" is not number, so doubling touch would be like "two hand touch" or something silly. Point being, touch is not a numerical range and as such cannot be doubled. if you had a feat or spell or other ability to increase your natural reach you would be able to cast touch spells at further ...


14

There's a thread on the WotC boards from Nov '11 discussing a very similar question. The rules themselves are apparently a bit unclear about the issue, and there is a PHB FAQ (see here, #33) stating that you don't gain the other class's role by taking a MC feat: 33. Does taking a fighter multiclass feat qualify you for feats and paragon paths that ...


14

The benefit to you is relatively minimal, since attacks of opportunity are the only way you're likely to be making additional attacks against the target before your next turn. Not the only way, but the most likely way, and not very likely at that. As C. Ross pointed out, while Hero points are few & far between, Greater Feint can really help them hit ...


14

Two weapon penalties are mitigated by use of the two weapon fighting feat and if the weapon is light. Rapiers are not light weapons, however you can use your dexterity for the attack modifier instead of strength if you have the weapon finesse feat, even though the weapon isn't light. Two weapon fighting gives you one extra attack per round with your ...


14

I don’t think you can Chain Spell says a spell that specifies a single target, and chain lightning specifies more than a single target. They don’t seem to work together. The most reasonable interpretation, assuming you wanted it to work, is just to have two separate chains: the chain lightning one, and the Chain Spell one. Strictly speaking, ...


14

Since you are doing away with a feat because you feel like the benefit of the feat should be the default, you can look at "mundane" feats that you feel should be the default behavior. Some feats that that in my opinion fit the criteria: Improved Unarmed Strike. You really need a feat to effectively punch someone in the face? What kind of a Barbarian can't ...


14

Benefit: Each time you take this feat, choose a number of spells that you already know equal to your Intelligence modifier. From that point on, you can prepare these spells without referring to a spellbook. Source (SRD) The only benefit Spell Mastery gives you is the ability to prepare a selected number of spells without access to your spellbook. You ...


14

Here's what you're trading for the alertness feat if you don't take the abil score upgrade and instead take the feat: +1 to damage +1 to hit +1 to AC +1 to Dex saves +1 to Dex checks +1 to init The question then, ultimately, becomes, is +5 init (net +4), no surprise and no advantage on attacks against from hidden opponents worth it. The latter two ...


13

My interpretation of the rules would be that the player can recruit more followers at the next opportunity, though they wouldn't magically appear. The rule only references the table for "acquire more followers" presumably in contrast with the number you previously had. As a DM I would say: Your leadership score is reduced by one for loss of previous ...


13

There's a feat called Open Minded in 3.5 that gives you five extra skill points, so it could be used together with this feat. It would stack with Skill Focus etc, and might help you meet the prereqs of some otherwise unavailable feat.


13

Yes, there is a good reason for feat prerequisites. Two reasons, in fact: To clarify by indicating what build a feat is intended for (a feat that boosts Lay on Hands usually requires that you have Lay on Hands) To balance by forcing players to dedicate more resources in order to take a more powerful feat. I suspect the reason you're surprised to ...


13

I’m going to answer “how do I combine Dervish with Lightning Maces,” rather than specifically how to get a slashing mace. Aptitude Special Ability The aptitude special ability from Tome of Battle can be applied to a weapon to cause feats that are specifically for another weapon to apply to the weapon with aptitude. It is likely that the ...


13

You're only casting the spell once, so the cost is not affected. Now, neither stoneskin nor wish actually meet the criteria for Chain Spell. To apply the feat, the spell must: "specify a single target" have "a range greater than touch" Stoneskin has a range of touch, and spells like wish or miracle don't specify a single target. (You can use them on a ...


13

There is no such feat in D&D 3.5. Spell Points are a variant rule (replacing most slot-based magic in the game world), not an option accessible to individual spellcasters via feats or similar customization options. To increase the flexibility of a Sorcerer via feats, I suggest the Versatile Spellcaster feat from Races of the Dragon. It allows you to use ...


13

You would cast a 4th-level Ray of Enfeeblement, and it would cost a 9th-level spell slot. Without Heighten Spell, it would be a 1st-level Ray of Enfeeblement costing a 6th-level spell slot. Metamagic does not increase the effective level of a spell. Instead, for powering up the spell with other effects (like chain and empowerment), you pay the price of a ...


13

In short, you are right and misinformed. The general rule is, when the situation fits the rule, and there is nothing in another rule to counter that, then you interpret the situation as in that rule. In your case, when your off-hand weapon is light, -2/-2 is applied with TWF, and -4/-8 without it. Nowhere in the rule calls for the kind of weapon in the main ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible