Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

40

There is nothing in Alert that prevents you from being pickpocketed. Surprised is a very specific state which refers to the beginning of a combat. Surprise is a state where a creature is unaware of another creature when combat begins, in this case the surprised creature a) cannot take an action on its first turn and b) cannot take reactions until after its ...


33

Officially, you have the feat twice and they do not stack You cannot generally select a feat that you already have, but if you are granted a feat you already have, you end up with two. Unless the feat has a Special section saying that it stacks with itself, it does not. Weapon Finesse does not say this, so the two copies of Weapon Finesse are redundant. ...


26

Your total bonus column is your total bonus column, and it's comprised of your Ranks, your Ability Modifier, and any other modifiers you might have. So your first option is the right one - Ranks describes the number of skill points you explicitly put into that skill. Anything else is your "total skill modifier", not the number of Ranks.


24

No, a character does not need a feat to eat meat raw. There's no rule for that in D&D, and if there were, it would be laughable if anyone didn't disregard it. "Good thing I'm third level, I can go to sushi bars now!" You mentioned in the other question that you're not even necessarily playing a human character, but some Unseelie Fey right? Different ...


24

No, with a caveat. No, because Mage Slayer doesn't name this reaction an opportunity attack, so it doesn't count for triggering Sentinel. The caveat is that, well it sure looks like an opportunity attack, RAW aside, so your DM may very reasonably say that it is. So bet on "no", but this is likely an easy house rule to get out of your DM if you bring it to ...


24

No, you can't provoke opportunity attacks this way. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 74: You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or ...


22

The general rule is that you can only take each feat once Page 165 Player's Handbook. You can take each feat only once, unless the feat's description says otherwise. The Magic Initiate feat does not list an exception to that rule which means you can only take it once. Except that the Magic Initiate feat encapsulates a choice of options. You have to ...


21

You're looking for this handbook, aptly titled: "Ways to Expand a Spell List". With the requirements you stated above: Magic Item Compendium - Runestaves - Item - allows an arcane caster to expend a slot to cast the spell in the staff Explorers Handbook - Drake Helm - Item - Can attune spells to the helm; act as if they are on your known-spells ...


20

It is broken for the reasons you note (way, way awesome results from a first level spell for having one feat - better than any other summoning augmentation available). There's a good reason for this - the author intended it to be a +2 level metamagic feat but that was omitted when it appeared in print.


19

Yes, the push can be before the attack. The first bullet of the Shield Master feat is: • If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield. Jeremy Crawford (the rules expert for D&D 5E) was asked about this on twitter. He responded with the following. As with ...


18

It depends on your GM, but if you're playing in a book-specific setting, probably not Which books allowed in the game are strictly a DM's call. While many GMs play with "all books allowed" there are a number that choose to restrict books. One of the more common restrictions are on setting specific material, though it is fairly trivial to file off ...


18

I’m going to answer “how do I combine Dervish with Lightning Maces,” rather than specifically how to get a slashing mace. Aptitude Special Ability The aptitude special ability from Tome of Battle can be applied to a weapon to cause feats that are specifically for another weapon to apply to the weapon with aptitude. It is likely that the ...


18

Yes. An unarmed strike is a one handed, simple, melee weapon, as such it counts as a weapon for TWF. So for both of your cases, it would be valid. It's even valid for a non-monk as that strike is available to anyone who is proficient in Simple Weapons. The key is that it's not available to someone wielding a shield, an item or a non-weapon implement in ...


18

While it's not entirely clear, I would assume that the 10 feet is added to her speed, then her speed is halved. Points to consider: Both the Monk bonus and the bonus from Mobility are permanent bonuses, whereas the Lingering Injury is meant to be a temporary penalty (lasts until you get a regenerate spell cast on you). If she already had the bonus to her ...


17

I don't have the sourcebook in front of me, but looking at the online d20pfsrd here, Finesse Rogue is a basic level Rogue Talent, which become available for taking at 2nd level. The 'Feat' Rogue Talent is listed as an 'Advanced Talent', which isn't available until 10th level. So when a rogue is 10th level, yes, the 'Feat' talent makes the 'Finesse Rogue' ...


17

Follow the steps when creating a character The steps listed on page 6 of the Player's Handbook are the steps in order for creating a character ("[T]hen follow these steps to create a 1st-level character"). Choose Your Class and Race is third on that list. Select a Feat is eighth. A creature with an inherited template like the template proto-creature ...


16

Yes D&D Essentials is part of D&D 4th edition, and makes no differentiation as to source of feats. As essentials is entirely compatible, any character may take feats, utility powers (if appropriate), and items from the essentials books. Check out this question. However, it is important to note that the inclusion of any book or suppliment in an RPG ...


16

Monk Multiclassing If your group actually enforces the Monk multiclassing restriction, and you want to go back to Monk for some reason, Monastic Training from Eberron Campaign Setting allows you to multiclass Monk with any one other class. The only good use of this feat is Tashalatora (see Psionics below), since it’s very rare for anyone to leave Monk ...


16

Yes: curses, ability damage, and ability drain causes loss of the ability to use the feat. You don't actually lose the feat, however - you just don't gain it's benefits until you meet the prerequisite again. From the Players Handbook 3.5 page 87. Prerequisites A character cannot use a feat if he or she has lost the prerequisite. For example, if ...


16

I want rid of the constraints of virtually costless material components So basically, you want to get rid of the metagamey excel calculations of how many chicken feathers and sulfur is still left. That's great and a very common houserule. Most of the rounds I know don't even give a feat for this. It's simply ruled that non-costly materials do not have ...


16

4e authors' policy is that fluff, i.e. the small snippets of descriptive texts you often encounter, are fully separated from the rules' text. This means that when the rules say "you cannot be surprised", it's not descriptive: it's prescriptive. So, whenever you would be surprised, you aren't instead. Even if the character didn't notice an ambush, he still ...


16

Here's what you're trading for the alertness feat if you don't take the abil score upgrade and instead take the feat: +1 to damage +1 to hit +1 to AC +1 to Dex saves +1 to Dex checks +1 to init The question then, ultimately, becomes, is +5 init (net +4), no surprise and no advantage on attacks against from hidden opponents worth it. The latter two ...


16

Well, if it is a dragon dragon (not some goofball wannabe), a powerful, intelligent being that doesn't tend to be friendly to humanoids and other pests, a more important factor than the amount of gold would be simply respect. For a dragon to be feel treated with respect, providing a massive hoard and a comfy lair is a good start. If the dragon is treated ...


16

It's the number of hit dice the receiving creature has. For each hit die it gets a single hit point more. An Orc having one hit die would get 1d6+4+1, while a human fighter level 6 would get 1d6+4+6.


16

Your DM is wrong SRD > Magic Overview > Spell Descriptions > School: Beneath the spell name is a line giving the school of magic (and the subschool, if appropriate) that the spell belongs to. Almost every spell belongs to one of eight schools of magic. A school of magic is a group of related spells that work in similar ways. A small number of ...


16

Generally speaking, if you receive the same feature twice (whether it's because you invested a Feat and then picked a class granting the same thing, or simply because you have two classes that grant you the same proficiency) it simply means that one of the two copies is wasted. However, Pathfinder features a set of Retraining Rules that allow you to retrain ...


15

There's a thread on the WotC boards from Nov '11 discussing a very similar question. The rules themselves are apparently a bit unclear about the issue, and there is a PHB FAQ (see here, #33) stating that you don't gain the other class's role by taking a MC feat: 33. Does taking a fighter multiclass feat qualify you for feats and paragon paths that ...


15

No, Versatile Spellcaster does not "chain" in this way. There is not much in the way of rules text for this feat, but part of it is that the character uses two spell slots to cast a spell. The thing that makes chaining impossible is that there is a difference between having a spell slot and casting a spell. Versatile Spellcaster only grants the latter, not ...


15

Since you are doing away with a feat because you feel like the benefit of the feat should be the default, you can look at "mundane" feats that you feel should be the default behavior. Some feats that that in my opinion fit the criteria: Improved Unarmed Strike. You really need a feat to effectively punch someone in the face? What kind of a Barbarian can't ...


15

I would say the answer is no, you can't apply the same feat twice. I don't have a strictly RAW basis for this, but these are my reasons: Wording If the wording was "You can apply two effects of a critical feat", then the answer would be yes - the thing that is doubled is the effect, and that can be the effect of any critical feat. But here the text reads ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible