Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

I'm afraid it's not that simple. other quality designated Means the feat in question can specify the nature of the requirement. Since it's only 40 feats, it isn't insurmountable, but one size won't fit all, as evident from the question, though you may find three groups (specific size, size or less, size or more) will fit three groups all of the feats ...


2

Charge doesn't work that way. On the 3.5 SRD the text for Charge states the following: Movement During a Charge You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. For the functions of Pounce or Snow Tiger Berserker, Your Charge ...


1

Dive attacks are almost identical to charges in all ways except those listed Dive attacks require more movement (30 ft. horizontal and 10 ft. vertical, instead of just 10 ft. horizontal for a charge), and only let you use claw or talon attacks, no others. Furthermore, those claw and talon attacks have their damage doubled. For every other conceivable ...


0

Caster Level 9th represents the absolute upper echelon of magical ability in Khorvairan society. The leaders of industry and nations top out at 10th-12th level. Thus, Bind Elemental basically amounts to “you are talented enough to have reverse-engineered Zilargo’s techniques based on the final products and based on whatever leaked information you have ...


6

Depends on the source. For example, Savage Species explicitly states at p. 30, that a feat prerequisite includes: minimum size or physical characteristic So, Blowhard is Huge at minimum, making it available to purple worms. OTOH, Scramble feat includes a specific prerequisite "Small or smaller" - overriding the general rule from the prerequisites ...


2

Magic of Eberron has a entire section dedicated to elemental binding. It says that while the gnomes of Zilargo keep most of the knowledge about elemental binding under their grasp, a part of that knowledge has leaked out to the world. Part of the leak was caused by the commercial partnership with house Cannith, which provide the items where the elementals ...


2

The answer is no (except in Savage Species). Quite simply because, as you pointed out, there are feats that have size ranges associated with them like "small size or smaller" and "large size or larger". Therefore, I would argue that the rules view size categories as distinct rather than inclusive; they wouldn't feel the need to include size ranges in those ...


-2

The answer is yes. This is very much a Rules as Intended answer rather than a RAW answer. I know the question came in as a rules as written request, but there's nothing written down that deals with inclusive sizes, so the closest you'll likely get (barring an official ruling in Sage Advice) is RAI. As a general rule, a prerequisite is a minimum requirement ...


11

Yes, your reach with the bonus attack is the same as your reach with the regular attack. The Reach weapon property states that: This weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for opportunity attacks with it (see chapter 9). So whenever you make an attack with a Reach weapon, your reach is 5 ...


0

To cover the aspect of how many attacks the fighter would get: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/sageadvice_feats Do the first and third benefits of Crossbow Expert turn a hand crossbow into a semiautomatic weapon? The short answer is no. The first benefit of the feat lets you ignore the loading property (PH, 147) of the hand crossbow if ...


4

As far as D&D 5E is concerned The errata'd rules prohibit it. You need a free hand to load a crossbow. In real life (yes, I know :-) It is possible to reload a hand crossbow with a shield. I've done it. It was in response to exactly this question when playing 1st edition AD&D - yes, this question is that old. The type of shield we had one with a ...


0

The errata added (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon) to the Ammunition weapon property (phb s. 146). Thus, you wont be able to carry a shield and load your weapon. As a DM myself, I would allow you to load your weapon if you posses the "war caster" feature [phb s. 170] [..] You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have ...


8

No, you can't load a hand crossbow while holding a shield. The errata added a new condition to the Ammunition property: Loading a one handed weapon requires a free hand. A hand holding a shield is not a free hand, so you can't load your hand crossbow while using a shield. And since you can't load your hand crossbow, you can't make multiple attacks.


4

RAW as a Neutral, Lawful or Chaotic Druid he can choose each time. Your ruling isn't entirely unreasonable though - it is a powerful feat. However, if you stick to that ruling, I would give him the opportunity to pick a different feat if he wishes. It's probably still worth him taking though.


6

Are there any mechanical requirements for playing an obese character in D&D 5e? If so, what are they? No, there are not. Your character is obese if you say he is. That’s it. Done. The description of a character is entirely up to the person playing that character.1 It is desired that mechanics “back up” description, so you should think about ...


3

Welcome to tabletop RPGs! First off, yes, you can have an obese character. (But you might not be able to have one at this table.) I'd point out a term of art that @RS Conley used that I recommend to your consideration: "mechanics." We use it as shorthand for "all of the rules, rolls, modifiers, agreed-upon by the group, typically defaulting to the core ...


1

Yes, you can. (Standard Disclaimer: work with your GM for how that influences game play). There are no mechanical requirements, but you can make it part of your character's state of being. The following provides some points of departure for your discussion with your DM on how to bring this into your campaign. This answer addresses "overweight/obese" as ...


-3

While there is no formal mechanics for Obese characters there is a mechanics that makes implementing conditions like Obesity a little easier than other D&D edition namely advantage/disadvantage. I for one would say that a obese character would have a disadvantage on certain rolls like Athletics. And attackers would have disadvantage if they are the same ...


-4

In a fantasy setting, obesity would be a flaw due to the lack of athletic prowess. If your character can do their thing without the need to move fast or fit into tight spaces (a full caster) why shouldn't it work. I would however make the dex score your dump stat to help reflect this "flaw" in the character. P.S. I don't think overweight people are bad but ...


14

Your first ambiguity isn't really ambiguous at all. The distinction between an Attack action and an attack is pretty clear. Heck, both of the quotes in your question make that distinction. For reference, the Attack action is defined as: The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow ...


0

Yes According to the Chokehold Combat Feat: While you have an opponent up to one size category larger than you grappled, you can attempt a grapple combat maneuver with a –5 penalty on the check. If you succeed, you have pinned your opponent and hold the opponent in a chokehold. The Pinned status states: Pinned is a more severe version of ...


1

These rules change significantly if the mount isn't war-trained or if making ranged attacks instead of melee attacks. I figure as a paladin 12/wild plains outrider 3, you're probably mainly concerned with melee attacks while on a war-trained mount. Both mount and rider can make full attacks in melee on the same initiative count The opponent's gotta be ...


1

It seems that you are equating number of ancestor feats per clan to number of ancestors per clan, which is not the case. The ancestor feats represent only a subset of all ancestors of a clan that are, in a individual basis, more active in their dealing with the living than the rest. I cannot get a cite regarding the number of ancestors in existence, but if ...


3

So at level 8 the brawlers bab is 8/3. When using twf it becomes 6/6/1 (using light weapons) When using itwf it becomes 6/6/1/1 (using light weapons) You are exactly right. Two Weapon Fighting reduces the off-hand penalty to zero and reduces the penalty to each hand to -2 (when using a light weapon in the off-hand), and Improved Two Weapon Fighting ...


40

There is nothing in Alert that prevents you from being pickpocketed. Surprised is a very specific state which refers to the beginning of a combat. Surprise is a state where a creature is unaware of another creature when combat begins, in this case the surprised creature a) cannot take an action on its first turn and b) cannot take reactions until after its ...


8

Adjacency or square-sharing remains necessary when using the feat Improved Spell-sharing even if the caster has the feat Distant Spell Link The feat Distant Spell Link affects how the special ability share spells (e.g. here) works, but the feat Improved Spell-sharing does not, failing to mention the special ability share spells in its mechanics at all, the ...


0

Retrain existing, useless feats into useful ones. Party with the animal in question. Speak with Animals will be useful here. Involve it in combats and stuff so it gets XP. If necessary (e.g. you are a high level) find (or create) artificially low levelled opposition and Power Level it up to speed. Reccomend it take PC class levels instead of Racial HD ...


2

Yes, it's perfectly fine. Both by RAW, and Rules As Interpreted, it makes logical sense: RAW: Defensive Duelist Prerequisite: Dexterity 13 or higher When you are wielding a finesse weapon with which you are proficient and another creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to add your proficiency bonus to your AC for that ...


17

Follow the steps when creating a character The steps listed on page 6 of the Player's Handbook are the steps in order for creating a character ("[T]hen follow these steps to create a 1st-level character"). Choose Your Class and Race is third on that list. Select a Feat is eighth. A creature with an inherited template like the template proto-creature ...


-3

As a dissenting view also by RAW. No You must "wield" the dart; the definition (Oxford English Dictionary) of wield is "hold and use". Common sense dictates that it must be wielded as a weapon to use the feat, that is the weapon must be used in some way to increase your armor class. A dart is a Simple Ranged Weapon - it is not a melee weapon; the ...


0

I would also say, that yes, given the R.A.W. that's an accurate assumption. Personally, I would say that you should be allowed, and regardless of future changes, I would always allow my players to so so, because what a lot of GM's forget is that the rules as written are more guidelines to give balance, since there is no way they can conceivably cover every ...


9

By RAW: you can use a dart with Defensive Duelist. It just asks for a finesse weapon, not necessarily a melee weapon. However, personally I would rule that it would require a finesse melee weapon, and I imagine it would probably be changed in a future version of the Errata to specify finesse melee weapons. Darts just aren't something you'd expect someone to ...


2

As the other answer points out correctly - generally feats are only gained when you gain hit dice. However arguably the Cavalier ability Tactician could grant Teamwork feats to a mount, though a GM might rule against it. More usefully however the feat Animal Ally would allow you to gain an Animal Companion, which will gain hit dice as you level and thus ...


1

Tecnically, you could Retrain them just like you can retrain your character, as the retraining rules don't specify who can or cannot do it. So they are allowed to everyone, PC, NPC or monsters. The Handle Animal rules won't cover feats, just tricks. How do animals (not familiars or animal companions) gain feats, if they do at all? They only gain ...


3

Yes, you and your mount can both attack at the same time. A simple DC10 ride check allows you and your mount to both make 'normal' attacks. If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action. Since it says you can still make your own attack or attacks, you ...


4

The DR from the feat doesn't stack but is in addition The feat Roll with It (Savage Species 39) says Benefit: You gain damage reduction 2/—. This applies in addition to any damage reduction you have from other sources. Damage reduction cannot reduce damage you take to less than 0. Special: You may take this feat multiple times. Thus the damage ...


0

Tome of Battle includes maneuvers that may help fighting against high AC, especially in the Diamond Mind school: the Emerald Razor (2) strike targets Touch AC instead of AC, making it effective against highly armored targets the Nightmare Blade strikes: Sapphire Nightmare Blade (1), Ruby Nightmare Blade (4), Diamond Nightmare Blade (8), hits using a ...


1

It stacks I agree with the interpretation from Tim C: As per the text Roll With It applies in addition to any other source of Damage Reduction, so if you have pre-existing DR/- (such as a high-level Barbarian), your first applies the regular DR, then you apply the DR from Roll With It Since it would be meaningless to be able to take the feat multiple ...


4

D&D 3.0 SRD has no mention of whether damage reduction stacks or not. Given that they specifically tell you that enhancements etc don't stack, and given the Savage Species rules you have quoted, it appears that in 3.0, DR always stacked. As 3.5 changed this, Roll With It is outside 3.5 RAW, and the result is down to house rules.


2

If you're playing 3e, it stacks In 3e, there are no rules regarding how Damage Reduction stacks. The Barbarian's DR doesn't say that it doesn't stack, and Roll With It specifically says that it does. There is no ambiguity in the rules here. Mineral Warrior and Roll With It don't exist in the same game Mineral Warrior comes from 3.5e, which is a different ...


2

Spellcasters could have some fun with this, I believe. It wouldn't be "optimal" but could be some vulgar displays of power, manipulation, and crowd controlling. The following list is some of the ways I could foresee my mischevious spellcasters in toying around with my enemeies: There is a spell that specifically mentions tokens, but it is a 5th level ...


-2

In short IMHO your question doesn't seem to be answerable based on the context you've given as there isn't a shield pin in Viking tactics (as such) and the question doesn't seem to be about individual combat but in the context of a hird. A shield wall is not the same as an individual using a shield. That technique has been around since the Greeks and can't ...


13

Rapid Reload feat says: If you have selected this feat for hand crossbow or light crossbow, you may fire that weapon as many times in a full attack action as you could attack if you were using a bow. Rapid Shot feat says: You can get one extra attack per round with a ranged weapon. [...] You must use the full attack action to use this feat. ...


6

Bows fire arrows, crossbows fire bolts. You can't use manyshot with a crossbow, though rapid shot works just fine.


7

1. Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Yes, you can use a shield as an off hand weapon for purposes of the Pin Shield feat. Like with an ordinary shield bash attack, you lose any AC bonus provided by your shield until your next action. You would also suffer any other penalties for fighting ...


4

This combination of those four factors has completely changed the flow of combat. This is just a function of level in 3.5. The game changes massively from 1st level to 20th level, and you are much closer to the latter than you are to the former. It is normal and expected that the flow of combat has completely changed at this point. In particular, ...


1

Many high-level creatures are immune to precision damage or are able to locate invisible foes; if they aren't, make it so they are The rogue's tactics are totally legit. (Frankly, I'm amazed that the rogue's still making standard attack rolls instead of touch attaks!) This isn't the problem. The problem is the foes he's fighting. At level 15, the rogue ...


3

Have Your Opponent Cower Before You Scaring the bejesus out of someone doesn't consider their Armor Class as a means of defense. Getting a way to make them frozen solid from fear would render many armor classes much lower. A half-orc with half-orc paragon is really good with intimidation. They get Rage without having to be a barbarian, and get a +4 to ...



Top 50 recent answers are included