Hot answers tagged

36

Everywhere that you can get a Fighting Style includes this important sentence: You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again. So it doesn't matter whether it stacks with itself, because you can never take it twice.


26

You are correct. Tunnel Fighter lets you make opportunity attacks for free, and Polearm Master lets you do so at a distance. An intelligent or reasonably aware force would have a good chance to figure this out after you skewer the first few. As for "too good," it's powerful but not unrealistic. Choke points are good strategy in the real world, too; see ...


20

Both of those modifiers do add to the attack roll; the combined modifier is then relevant ability mod (DEX, +3) + proficiency bonus (+2) + Archery bonus (+2), yielding the +7 you see in the "Attacks & Spellcasting" section of the pregen character sheet.


17

No! The shield is not a weapon, this is designed to be a sword and board feature. Shield is definitely not a weapon (no weapon stats), and there are currently no enchantments to make it a weapon. This is a feature designed for a brawler style (hand free for grappling) or a sword and board fighter.


16

Yes, if multiclassing is allowed. You can take 2 levels of Paladin to gain an additional fighting style, and/or 2 levels of Ranger to gain another.


14

Being possessed of the Dueling fighting style doesn't preclude the use of a two-handed weapon. You can still use a two-handed weapon as you normally would. However, when you do so you do not gain the bonus provided by Dueling as you no longer meet the prerequisite.


12

You should probably begin by focusing on maneuvers that are executed with a particular hand. Once you have those down, learn the same maneuvers, with your off-hand. At that point, start learning maneuvers that require both hands to be active. Then, just make sure to keep practicing. You don't need anyone else with you to practice, but sparring is important ...


9

You are reading the combination correctly. A Tunnel Fighter with Polearm Master can produce a formidable blockage. The opportunity attacks you're allowed to make against those entering your reach are not limited by the action-economy. It is really good, in a very specific situation. You need to be able to avoid their ranged attacks and any areas of effect, ...


8

I'll get the simple bit done first - you're right, nothing in the Thrown property turns a melee weapon into a ranged weapon. It's a melee weapon you can use to make ranged attacks, so the Archery Fighting Style, which says that You gain a +2 bonus to attack rolls you make with ranged weapons. can never apply to it. It can apply to darts, because they ...


8

There is only one rule of LRP fighting: be a safe fighter. You get the idea. A good LRP fighter is a safe one. So, make sure you follow the safety rules of your system and you will improve as a fighter. Do not think that Renaissance rapier and main gauche techniques will help you. They will hinder you; you cannot stab with a LRP sword. Rapiers are all about ...


8

Every historical manuscript we have today on medieval sword fighting techniques describes and depicts the shield being used in the left hand, which is the off hand for 70–90% of the modern population (which is reasonably extrapolated to historical populations). As Alex P notes in a comment, the sword is actually a tool of finesse and control, not a blunt ...


8

If you are using a versatile weapon, you can only gain the benefit of the Great Weapon Fighting Style if you you are using it in both hands. Similarly, you can only gain the benefit of the Dueling Fighting Style if you are using it in one hand. (And holding no other weapons.) So, let's take a look at how this breaks down with a longsword (or battleaxe, they'...


6

Yes The attack you get from Polearm mastery when the creature enters your range, as well as the one you get when it leaves your range are refered to as opportunity attacks, which use your reaction. The Tunnel Fighter fighting style from the Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark! says: While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks ...


6

Yes you can do this in theory; No you can't do it to kobolds. It says what it means and it means what it says. You use your bonus action to take up the defensive stance. A creature you can see entering your reach without taking the Disengage action is subject to an opportunity attack due to your Polearm Master feat; this does not use your reaction due to ...


6

For general "large weapon" tips, check out "Be Nasty with a Boffer Polearm". Though that article does not directly address how to fight in closed spaces, its general tips are still relevant in a crowded setting. Choose your battles There are likely some places in the forest where you have full use of your weapon. Make sure your teammates know where to ...


6

A character's Proficiency Bonus and the Fighter's Fighting Style class feature do stack. Proficiency with something in 5e allows you to add your Proficiency Bonus to the relevant rolls. This is a dynamic bonus that scales with character level (not class level) and caps at +6 at level 20. Archery is a static +2 bonus to attack rolls made with ranged weapons ...


6

All of the Fighting Styles available to the Paladin either require you to be wielding a weapon in one hand, wielding a weapon in both hands, wielding a shield, or wearing armour, so by default, you can't use any of them while Wild Shaped. A generous DM might let you use a weapon or shield while Wild Shaped into something like an Ape, but I wouldn't. However,...


5

If you actually want to learn to fight Florentine I suggest you find your local Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) group, and talk to the heavy fighters. They practice various fighting styles including Florentine (two weapon fighting) and since it actually hurts to be hit with a ratan sword, they tend to have practical advice. There are also some good ...


5

Step one: practice off-hand until it's comfortable. Step two: practice with both. The first step in learning florentine or case (the rapier term for two-weapons) is becoming capable with the off hand. The sequence of learning for SCA training, both light weapons and heavy, is often: footwork parries. basic attacks, including for heavy: a downswing, ...


4

Right because the character is now holding a melee weapon with two hands (ergo, in two hands). The character doesn't get a pass on this just because there is only one weapon entity. This is different from wielding a sword in one hand and a shield in another because only one of those counts as a weapon. This also means that when they use the versatile ...


4

Practice. Against a real person is best, but even just practicing your attacks, blocks, and parries can be helpful. Most martial arts have routines of these called 'katas' (in Japanese MAs, anyway) meant to reinforce the skills practiced as well as the need to flow from one movement into the next.


4

The main gauche is not detailed in the Mind's Eye Theatre rulebook, so any decisions made about its effectiveness are going to depend on the Storyteller's judgment. (For example, if the weapon comes from the Armory rulebooks, compatibility with MET is not assured.) However, presuming that it works in a manner analogous to the rapier (p.232), then the answer ...


4

While in the LARP I play in nothing that large is a legal weapon (polearms tap out at 72"), there are a few different things I can think of that might help: If your system/training allows for it, adapt your weapon so that it has a thrusting tip (morning stars–spiked maces–had spikes on them, this is simply simulating the effect). Thrusting weapons are ...


2

There are good reasons why historical treatises show the shield almost always in the left. One is practical - defenders in castles have an advantage by havin the shield on the left hand. One is religious - the left hand was considered to be inferior for religious reasons. The term for the left hand is the sinister hand... while the right is the dexter hand. ...


1

The first edition core book does not explicitly state that you cannot lose your Defense more than once. The text of the Merit in question (Fighting Style: Boxing) does say that, if you have used your Defense already this round, you cannot use that technique. Dropping Defense for an All-Out Attack could be ruled as using Defense. Additionally, pg. 112 of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible