Hot answers tagged flaming-sphere
I would say that your ranged attack merely generates the sphere (it's Effect line), and then the sphere attacks (which I'd treat as a melee attack, since the target has to be adjacent.)
Even the last reviewDDI of this spell didn't make this point clearer. My reading is that - even if the attack listed in the spell block is not defined as a secondary attack - it complies to the same rules. Under this hypothesis, the attack inherits all the attributes of the encompassing power that are not explicitly overridden (see Rules Compendium, page 96 ...
Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible