Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

No. From the compendium: Forced Movement Movement that a creature is compelled to do, specifically a pull, a push, or a slide. A creature can be moved in other ways, such as through teleportation, but only pulls, pushes, and slides are technically forced movement.


14

All of it. But it may end up squeezing if they are partially over the pit. If only part of a creature's space is over a pit or precipice, the creature doesn't fall (Normally a creature ends up in such a position as a result of forced movement.) On the creature's next turn, it must either move to an unoccupied space that is at least as large as it is or ...


13

No, there's no strength limit to forced movement. Pull 2 means pull 2, regardless of the size or weight of the target. This means your players could also use that forced movement on a gargantuan dragon - it's up to you to work out how that works, and really, if they're up against a gargantuan dragon, they need all the help they can get. A lot of sources of ...


12

Yes, both those pushes are valid. When you push a creature, each square you move it must place it farther away from you. [RC 211) Now, 4e measurements use taxicab geometry, or Chebyshev distance, so the effect is... often nonintuitive. I'm pretty sure 4e floors are constantly shifting hyperplanes. My players have developed the mantra, "Circles are ...


12

The Bull Rush is the first thing that comes to mind when you ask this question. (I think Brian Ballsun-Stanton's comment is foreshadowing this), which requires a charge attack. BULL RUSH: STANDARD ACTION (PHB1, p287) Target: You can bull rush a target adjacent to you that is smaller than you, the same size category as you, or one category larger ...


11

No, forced movement is not required to take place. It is also allowable to cause the creature to move less than the indicated number of squares, so long as a destination is not specified. Pg 212 of the Rules Compendium reads as follows: When a distance is specified, it is a maximum; the creature or effect producing the forced movement can move its ...


11

PC makes a save... Unconscious states: The creature is helpless. The creature can’t take actions. The creature takes a -5 penalty to all defenses. The creature is unaware of its surroundings. The creature falls prone, if possible. The creature can’t flank. -Rules Compendium p. 234. However, saving throws are not actions. You still make ...


10

Essentially no, they both move together even if you only target one of them. From the Compendium Also pg254 in the Rules Compendium Forced Movement: If the mount is pulled, pushed, or slid, the rider moves with it. If the rider is pulled, pushed, or slid and the mount isn’t, the rider can have the two of them move together. Otherwise, the rider is ...


10

No Traps are not hindering terrain. Here is how it plays out: A creature is forced into an unrevealed trap. The trap is triggered and attacks Follow the traps hit/miss/effect lines as appropriate Continue the forced movement if applicable (Line of Effect might be broken) Using a Level 1 False-Floor PitDDI as an example: The Goblin is pulled onto the ...


10

From the DMG/Compendium, the important part for your question: Forced Movement and Terrain Difficult Terrain: Forced movement isn’t hindered by difficult terrain. Blocking Terrain: Forced movement can’t move a creature through blocking terrain (page 61). Every square along the path must be a space the creature could normally occupy. ...


10

Typically in any roleplaying game whatsoever, if the action moves off the map (a Out Of Character construct to help players visualize the area), you add more to the map, either re-drawing it to show the new area or getting out a bunch more graph paper. Unless of course there is a terrain feature in the way (like a wall, or a ravine), in which case you ...


9

Maybe Argument for yes: Polearm Gamble: Benefit: When a nonadjacent enemy enters a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack with a polearm against that enemy, but you grant combat advantage to that enemy until the end of the enemy’s turn. It does not, like other powers, indicate "on their turn." Furthermore, the natural ...


9

As printed they would not. The spell explicitly states that damage is dealt under one of the following conditions: A creature starts its turn adjacent to the wall. A creature moves into the wall's space. A creature starts its turn within the wall's space. None of those three things has occurred if the creature is pushed/pulled/slid out of the fire before ...


9

The general rule is that A is moved away without B, and if the movement takes B out of A's melee reach, the grab ends. References can be found in the definition of the grabDDI action at page 290 of the Player's Handbook and after the definition of the grabbed condition on the Essentials Rules Compendium (page 231). As a minor side note, grapple is a term ...


9

Any forced movement reduction is applied normally. Note that the text says "if it can end the pull adjacent to you". It doesn't have to actually end there, it just needs to be able to end there. The power also says "if the target is adjacent to you after the pull", implying that it may not actually end there. EDIT: Regarding your edit, I can see merit in ...


8

Why not use just ranged monsters? I don't see forced movement as a problem for the most part. Typically its used to either move monsters away from ranged characters or towards melee characters (or away from the weak or injured). However, if you use monsters that are effective at range, or effective in both close quarters and at range then you will solve ...


8

This is apparently an oldie, but a recent comment by Wax Eagle brought me here. How about a revival? Here's how I read it: Dwarf Stand Your Ground: When an effect forces you to move — through a pull, a push, or a slide — you can move 1 square less than the effect specifies. This means an effect that normally pulls, pushes, or slides a target 1 ...


8

No Polearm Gamble could be expanded into a power card that would look like this: Opportunity Action Trigger: A nonadjacent enemy enters a square adjacent to you Effect: You take an opportunity attack against that enemy and grant that enemy combat advantage until the end of its turn. Rules Compendium p.200 states: enter a square: Move into a square on ...


8

No, but not for the reason you think: creatures cannot take interrupts on their own turns. An interrupt action has been explicitly defined as something which must occur on some other creature's turn (PHB, 268) (much to the chagrin of the Juggernaut in my party who can't use her "on bloodied" interrupt when she's bloodied from ongoing damage or auras or any ...


8

Yes, but beware of thrown dice, hurled pizza, and no-one being willing to give you a ride. While forced movement is forced movement, beware inflicting it on PCs. Instead, establish game-plans in advance and explain what you're doing. By explaining and allowing them to veto, you will promote party cohesion and actually perform better tactically (by not ...


7

The exact same (in fact more detailed) question came up on the WotC boards. Here is the answer to your question: Hitting with Thundering Armor while having the Feat Mark of Storm result in a Push 1 and a Slide 1 because Mark of Storm doesn't increase any Forced Movement, it produces one on its own. Where someone else explains how this sort of rule is ...


7

The character gets one (and only one) saving throw. The two sections you noted are referring to the same saving throw. On page 207, the Hindering Terrain -> Saving Throw section ends with See "Forced Movement" and "Teleportation" discussed later in this section Page 212 is within the Forced Movement section and contains the details about how to ...


6

Both the creature doing the GrabDDI, and the target who is GrabbedDDI can be effected by forced movement (push/pull/slide) as normal. Forced movement on one combatant does not move another due to a grab by default. The definition of Grab contains: If a pull, a push, or a slide moves you or the creature you’re grabbing out of your reach, the grab ends. ...


6

No As Brian states, this is not 100% cut and dried. However I believe we can reason our way to the likely true answer. The Rules Compendium, page 29 gives us Two Principles to Keep in Mind and number 1 is Specific Beats General. Therefore it would be easy to stop there and decide that Polearm Gamble is clearly allowing an exception to the general rule of ...


6

There's no overall limit on how far you can push someone. Bear in mind that you could have used other powers dealing more damage or imposing status effects instead, and your attack powers aren't guaranteed to hit, so it's fair what you did. Find out what your avenger used, and check that it works on forced movement, and on forced movement imposed by his ...


6

By the spirit of the arcanist playtest, no. Formally, yes, depending on power text. While this answer covers wall of fire specifically, the intent as stated was to reduce forced movement abuse. However, given that the PHB FAQ hasn't been updated nor has the compendium been updated with any formal errata... ask your DM. This is clearly a situation where ...


6

No. Forced Movement does not provoke. Plain and simple. willing movement Movement of any sort that a creature does of its own free will. Any other sort of movement, such as forced movement, is unwilling. Since the creature is not moving of its own accord, but compelled to, it won't count. If the enemy MOVES on ITS turn, then ya, the trigger can ...


6

Re: Falling: Does a falling creature provoke Opportunity Attacks on the way down? Based on this, and the lack of OoAs on forced movement, I would assume that other terrain-based forced movement would not provoke OoAs either.


6

Based on current RAW, the answers aren't quite as simple as the questions - in fact, part of them brings up another question which I'll be shortly sending to WotC support. First, let's break up your first question a bit: 1a. Are a rider and mount considered different targets? Yes. For the purposes of targeting, the rider and mount are separate ...


6

Yes, you can change the direction of a pull in mid-movement - the target does not have to move in a straight line. The target cannot be pulled past you so that it starts moving away again - that would be a slide. Pulling has a pretty simple definition: Pulling a target means that each square of the forced movement must bring the target closer to the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible