Hot answers tagged

14

Yes, you can generally shove your way out of a grapple If a grappler can't reach their target, the grapple ends. If you shove someone 5' away, they won't be able to reach you anymore and the grapple will end. However, if their reach is larger than 5' they may be able to maintain the grapple on you (e.g. larger creatures). I'm not aware of any rules RAW ...


9

Opposed Strength/Dexterity Checks: does a Shove give you two for one? From a game mechanics perspective, the question asks whether a creature can get a "two for one" outcome from the same opposed Strength/Dexterity check (a single die roll): does that one roll both accomplish the Shove and Escape from the Grapple action? This might run afoul of the action ...


4

Default play: gridless. Nothing stops a grappled creature from shoving. "Grappled" zeroes out your speed, and that's it. (PHB p.290, "Appendix A: Conditions") However, this may not break the grapple. As you've quoted, the effect ends if the grappler's reach is exceeded. On a successful shove you can either knock your target prone or push them 5' away ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible