Hot answers tagged

13

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


12

The rules on Grappled condition seem to answer the first part of your question : Grappled [...] The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. (Player's Handbook, p. 290) So that's what happens to the ...


11

The Constrict ability happens as soon as the yuan-ti hits, and the cleric is grappled by the yuan-ti. Constrict. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 13). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the yuan-ti can’t constrict another ...


10

The is no general rule (that I can find) regarding involuntary movement. However, Jeremy Crawford - one of the lead designers for 5e and official go-to-guy for rules clarification - has said: When a spell's description uses "enter" in relation to an AoE, the entering has to be voluntary only if the text says so.


9

Your best option is probably to grapple them. First replace an attack with a grapple (if you have "multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.") then carry/drag your enemy to the edge then replace another attack with the shove action to shove them 5 feet away from you (off the edge). If you have 2 attacks you can do this in one ...


9

Does lightning lure pull a creature toward you regardless of other circumstances? No. The key words here "up to 10 feet" If something prevents it from being pulled, that would pull it 0 feet, which is included in up to 10 feet. Likewise, if there is suddenly a wall 5 feet away from the creature between you and it, it would stop when it hits the stone wall. ...


9

It sounds to me like you're asking if you should use the grapple movement rules or the encumbrance rules. The grappling rules say you can move someone with you at half your speed when you have them grappled. But you must first succeed on the grapple. If I were the DM, I'd use grapple rules for prone and restrained enemies since the ability to escape would ...


8

RAI, I would say the grapple is broken. The rules specifically say that the condition ends when a creature is moved by Thunderwave, but also in-universe, I'd imagine that Gary is focusing more on staying upright and not being affected by the spell than maintaining his grapple on Victor. However, as a DM I would get Gary to roll a check (likely Strength) ...


5

Yes, they can continue moving if they have any movement left. An opportunity action takes place before the target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. [DDI] In order to stop moving you need something like a Fighter's Combat Superiority that specifically stops them from moving farther with that action. ...


4

From appendix A of the PHB, under Grappled: The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. If the spell moves the grappled creature out of reach, they're no longer grappled. In your case, you mention 15 ft, ...


4

Repelling blast say "may" and "up to" if there something that would stop them from moving the full distance, it does. That means wall or character in the way would prevent movement. They will move until either they hit something they cannot pass, you can't push any more, or you chose to stop pushing. Grapple, RAW, does not stop the movement. A pit, RAW, ...


3

You have a lot of ways to accomplish this: To those with high Athletics: Grapple the opponent, move 10' forward (requiring 20' movement), release grapple To those with Extra Attack: Shove the opponent 5' back, move in their square, shove them again To Fighters: Attack, hit, expend one Superiority Die on a Pushing Attack Maneuver. The target makes a ...


2

What Happens if the Rider undergoes forced movement? PHB pg 198 also has a partially relevant sentence: If you’re knocked prone while mounted, you must make the same saving throw. While none of your above examples involve the 'Prone' status affliction, we can reason that under normal circumstances, if something were about to try and force move you ...


2

By RAW, grabbing someone in any of the listed conditions would still be grappling, and, theoretically, each condition would just have an effect on the creature's ability to avoid and/or escape being grappled and moved. Interestingly enough, none of these conditions can prevent a creature from resisting the grapple. The grapple check is neither an action, a ...


2

Yes, this is a DM call. Personally, I would rule that a creature who is securely restrained cannot fail the Strength saving throw. Alternatively if it was grappled by another creature, they would both need to fail the saving throw.


1

1) The creature will be pushed into the wall, and its movement is stopped. Depending on the construction of the wall, it could be determined that subsequent attacks with Eldritch Blast will push the creature through the wall. 2) Is the creature friendly or hostile? Has the creature used their reaction yet? At the start, a medium or smaller creature is able ...


1

The rules for lifting and carrying are on p.176 of the PHB. In a nutshell you can lift 15x your strength score and drag 30x. If your total load is less than your lifting capacity you can pick it up and carry it around. If is greater than that up to your dragging capacity you can push or drag it or lift it over your head but not move with it. If it is ...


1

You can do this with 1 attack and 20 feet of available movement. Grapple, move 10 feet (costing 20 feet of movement) so you are standing on the edge and they are hanging in space, let go and wave bye-bye.


1

Direct Answers a. Yes, Directed Bull Rush allows a direction of left or right during the bull rush as part of a charge. b. No, Directed Bull Rush doesn't allow changing a charge to normal movement rate after intiating a bull rush. Your movement rate - is your movement rate - which would be increased by charging. c. Yes and No, Directed Bull Rush allows ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible