Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

A creature pushing themselves goes nowhere. Firstly, to move past concerns about whether this situation can happen: a monster can usually hit itself with its own attacks, by MM1 or 3 rules. They're inside their own range, and their powers usually target "one creature", which includes themselves. Let's assume a creature has successfully targeted itself with ...


15

Nothing special happens by RAW There are no official rules describing being on or off a map in 4E. Squares, and what might be in them, are defined as game elements, but maps are not. Technically, DMs that allow movement off map that looks like it should work (e.g. continuing along a forest path) are playing by RAW. If you can move to a location, and it ...


13

No, there's no strength limit to forced movement. Pull 2 means pull 2, regardless of the size or weight of the target. This means your players could also use that forced movement on a gargantuan dragon - it's up to you to work out how that works, and really, if they're up against a gargantuan dragon, they need all the help they can get. A lot of sources of ...


12

The Bull Rush is the first thing that comes to mind when you ask this question. (I think Brian Ballsun-Stanton's comment is foreshadowing this), which requires a charge attack. BULL RUSH: STANDARD ACTION (PHB1, p287) Target: You can bull rush a target adjacent to you that is smaller than you, the same size category as you, or one category larger ...


11

PC makes a save... Unconscious states: The creature is helpless. The creature can’t take actions. The creature takes a -5 penalty to all defenses. The creature is unaware of its surroundings. The creature falls prone, if possible. The creature can’t flank. -Rules Compendium p. 234. However, saving throws are not actions. You still make ...


10

Typically in any roleplaying game whatsoever, if the action moves off the map (a Out Of Character construct to help players visualize the area), you add more to the map, either re-drawing it to show the new area or getting out a bunch more graph paper. Unless of course there is a terrain feature in the way (like a wall, or a ravine), in which case you ...


8

Under the PHB's version of Dominated, yes, since there's pretty much no restrictions. Some extra restrictions were added in PHB3, and the Rules Compendium fleshed out the Dominated condition quite completely. If you don't have the Rules Compendium, you should probably pick it up, since it has the final versions of the game's rules like this one. Under the ...


7

I ended up answering my own question when I looked up some rules references to add to my question above. It took me a while and I looked at a couple of books before I found it though, so I figured I'd ask it anyway in case anybody else wondered about this, or in case someone has a different interpretation: Eventually, I found this in the Rules Compendium on ...


5

Yes and no Yes, you gain combat advantage until the end of your next turn with Deadly Draw, no matter where he ends up. Everything else, you got completely wrong: Gauntlets of the Ram adds to pushes, but Centered Breath slides. Push and slide is different. You can not push "one field to the right", it would be a slide. Luckily it can be done with ...


5

In the end, the grid is just a tool to assist in representation and should not limit the actions of the participants. Limits like this are common in video games or software map aids, but that's just due to the nature of the medium. Some spells and ranged attacks can reach much farther than even the largest maps can accommodate. I've been in games where ...


4

"Page 42" D&D4E's pg. 42 of the DMG has guidelines for stunts. The general gist is that as players come up with random stunts, the GM can assign a stat to attack with, a defense stat for it to go against, an amount of damage, and conditions. "I roll a barrel down the stairs at the goblins" - could/should easily result in forced movement (down the ...


4

This isn't a problem, currently, because you're using two different keywords - Push and Slide. A Push allows you to move a target away from you, while a Slide allows you to move it in any direction. The Gauntlets of the Ram item won't affect your Flurry of Blows power. If you were using an item that increased Slide distance instead, such as the Rushing ...


3

There aren't any rules for handling characters leaving the already-defined grid. It's quite reasonable for a DM to wish to keep combat on the defined grid. 4e is a game of tactical grid-based combat, and things like positioning and taking advantage of terrain features are of utmost importance. Gridless D&D 4e doesn't work very well - unless you do a ...


3

"Is there a rule I am missing here?" Something that is firmly attached to a wall would generally be counted as "restrained" meaning that it can't move, but also can't be subject to forced movement. As such, Thorn Whip wouldn't be able to pull such a turret. Obviously, in this case, the turret wasn't particularly firmly attached. With large creatures ...


2

I skimmed my DMG and have found no explicit rules for this so it depends on a GM ruling I guess, of course the ruling should take into account the PC's opinions. Generally the grid is like a HUD GM needs to pause the game and extend the battlemap to cover the terrain which always existed there, so in my opinion the DM's who rule to add to the map are the ...


2

Rules Compendium, Page 230: Dominated: The Creature can't take actions voluntarily. Instead, the dominator chooses a single action for the creature to take on the creature's turn: a Standard, a Move, a minor, or a Free action. the only powers and other game features that the dominator can make the creature use are ones that can be used at will, such as ...


1

No. A quick search on the online compendium suggests there are no hard and fast rules about leaving the grid. Whether or not it's feasible, well... I'd say this depends heavily yon the locale of the encounter. If, say, you are in a dungeon, going off the map might mean you would be "in a wall" and therefore not possible. On the other hand, you could be in a ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible