New answers tagged

1

1) The creature will be pushed into the wall, and its movement is stopped. Depending on the construction of the wall, it could be determined that subsequent attacks with Eldritch Blast will push the creature through the wall. 2) Is the creature friendly or hostile? Has the creature used their reaction yet? At the start, a medium or smaller creature is able ...


4

Repelling blast say "may" and "up to" if there something that would stop them from moving the full distance, it does. That means wall or character in the way would prevent movement. They will move until either they hit something they cannot pass, you can't push any more, or you chose to stop pushing. Grapple, RAW, does not stop the movement. A pit, RAW, ...


13

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


8

RAI, I would say the grapple is broken. The rules specifically say that the condition ends when a creature is moved by Thunderwave, but also in-universe, I'd imagine that Gary is focusing more on staying upright and not being affected by the spell than maintaining his grapple on Victor. However, as a DM I would get Gary to roll a check (likely Strength) ...


9

Does lightning lure pull a creature toward you regardless of other circumstances? No. The key words here "up to 10 feet" If something prevents it from being pulled, that would pull it 0 feet, which is included in up to 10 feet. Likewise, if there is suddenly a wall 5 feet away from the creature between you and it, it would stop when it hits the stone wall. ...


2

Yes, this is a DM call. Personally, I would rule that a creature who is securely restrained cannot fail the Strength saving throw. Alternatively if it was grappled by another creature, they would both need to fail the saving throw.



Top 50 recent answers are included