New answers tagged

0

It's neither of those. Here's the key phrase: For each square you move, you slide a creature grabbed by you 1 square to a square adjacent to you. At each square along your route, you slide any one of the creatures you have grabbed 1 square to a square adjacent to you. If you can keep both the creatures you have grabbed in range of you in this fashion, ...


9

Opposed Strength/Dexterity Checks: does a Shove give you two for one? From a game mechanics perspective, the question asks whether a creature can get a "two for one" outcome from the same opposed Strength/Dexterity check (a single die roll): does that one roll both accomplish the Shove and Escape from the Grapple action? This might run afoul of the action ...


14

Yes, you can generally shove your way out of a grapple If a grappler can't reach their target, the grapple ends. If you shove someone 5' away, they won't be able to reach you anymore and the grapple will end. However, if their reach is larger than 5' they may be able to maintain the grapple on you (e.g. larger creatures). I'm not aware of any rules RAW ...


-2

Question 1, Nothing is stopping them. Question 2, Yes but that won't end the grapple. There is no indication that the creature being grappled goes prone per RaW too but I'd probably call for some sort of contest to remain standing in my game. Implied question 3, "does shoving them 5 ft away break the grapple?" Yes but only as RaI, not necessarily RaW. ...


4

Default play: gridless. Nothing stops a grappled creature from shoving. "Grappled" zeroes out your speed, and that's it. (PHB p.290, "Appendix A: Conditions") However, this may not break the grapple. As you've quoted, the effect ends if the grappler's reach is exceeded. On a successful shove you can either knock your target prone or push them 5' away ...


2

1) The creature will be pushed into the wall, and its movement is stopped. Depending on the construction of the wall, it could be determined that subsequent attacks with Eldritch Blast will push the creature through the wall. 2) Is the creature friendly or hostile? Has the creature used their reaction yet? At the start, a medium or smaller creature is able ...



Top 50 recent answers are included