Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

10

It's reasonable, so long as the rest of your group is building to the same level. The fluff, happily, is easy. Western monks militant, (to contrast with the eastern flavoured monk class) like the Knights Templar or other military orders. As a cleric|fighter, you're an ordained priest trained in the arts of war. Unlike the Crusdaer (Tome of Battle) you don't ...


8

The rules don’t really say; gestalt is a variant that’s pretty well fleshed-out, but it’s even less comprehensive than the usual rules. Generally speaking, there’s no reason it can’t work. Particularly for a non-player character, where LA doesn’t come into play, you can just gestalt it with Monstrous Humanoid RHD. It will ...


7

By default, the way you do this is with a level-by-level approach: Scout 1 (+0/+2/+0) // Ranger 1 (+2/+2/+0) = +2/+2/+0 Scout 2 (+0/+1/+0) // Swashbuckler 1 (+2/+0/+0) = +2/+1/+0 (total: +4/+3/+0) Scout 3 (+1/+0/+1) // Swashbuckler 2 (+1/+0/=0) = +1/+0/+1 (total: +5/+3/+1) Scout 4 (+0/+1/+0) // Rogue 1 (+0/+2/+0) = +0/+2/+0 (total: ...


7

Evasion doesn't stack Unless it specifically states otherwise (and some of them do), gaining duplicates of class abilities doesn't do anything special. You just get the ability to do... something you can already do. For things with effects based on level, like Turn Undead and Wildshape, whether or not they 'stack' with each other to determine what ...


6

This is going to vary massively from game to game, but in my own games, yes, absolutely. A gestalt game is already assuming a certain amount of changing to the classes that you are using, because you are not training discretely as one thing and then another, but rather as a homogenous whole. That is, you are not both a fighter and a cleric, you are a ...


6

Talking about RAW here isn’t particularly useful As an Unearthed Arcana variant, the gestalt rules are mostly just suggestions and ideas – fairly fleshed out, for the most part, but it’s a mistake to think of them as really complete rules. They don’t cover this situation directly. Taken literally, you would simply get the greater ...


5

I think you have answered your own question there. As a wraith, you are not a living creature, and thus, do not qualify for Lich/Dry Lich by the rules, no matter their source. In the same vein, the second Lich template would also not stack or overlap on the first. (After all, how can you store your soul in two phylacteries at once? Unless you went to ...


4

Gestalt exists to allow characters to have a broader range of skill, allowing a Wizard//Factotum to have the strong Will, full spellcasting progression and familiar-bond of a Wizard, while also picking up the Factotum's dabble-in-everything shtick, compensating for the squishy Wizard hit die, and picking up more skill points and Intelligence synergy while ...


4

Class features that two classes share (such as uncanny dodge) accrue at the rate of the faster class. Both rogue and swordsage grant swordsage initiator level, rogue at one every two levels, swordsage every level. You go with the faster one, i.e. swordsage, and end up with 6.


3

As it stands, the question cannot be answered on its face: “over-the-top, completely unrealistic cheese” is undefined and critical to try to do a comparison of the mechanical advantages of each class. This answer, however, is challenging the frame of the question, since it compares the two classes regardless of what each is or isn’t allowed to do. Artificer ...


2

The first thing when trying to do gestalt for 5th ed would be to realize that the following level dependent features would NOT change, regardless so what classes you gestalt into: Proficiency bonus Spell slots per day Attribute bonus (or feat) every 4 levels Also, several features can not be combined via multiclassing, thus can't be combined via gestalt: ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible