Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

10

The general rule is that A is moved away without B, and if the movement takes B out of A's melee reach, the grab ends. References can be found in the definition of the grabDDI action at page 290 of the Player's Handbook and after the definition of the grabbed condition on the Essentials Rules Compendium (page 231). As a minor side note, grapple is a term ...


9

Teleportation ends grabs. According to PHB page 286: If you were immobilized because of a physical effect, such as a creature grabbing you, you can teleport away and are no longer immobilized or restrained, if applicable. I guess you could say they didn't teleport "away" since they were still in the burst. However I'd say "away" means "out of the ...


8

Yes. The grabbedDDI condition doesn't prevent you from attacking the grabber, so you can flank it if your ally is in the right position. Grabbed. While a creature is grabbed, it is immobilized. Maintaining this condition on the creature occupies whatever appendage, object, or effect the grabber used to initiate the grab. This condition ends immediately ...


8

Teleportation doesn't always end the grab Under Teleportaion in the compendium: Immobilized or Restrained: Being immobilized or restrained doesn’t prevent a target from teleporting. If a target teleports away from a physical restraint, a monster’s grasp, or some other immobilizing effect that is located in a specific space, the target is no longer ...


8

Teleportation does not automatically end a grab. The Grabbed condition on DDI currently reads (in full): While a creature is grabbed, it is immobilized. Maintaining this condition on the creature occupies whatever appendage, object, or effect the grabber used to initiate the grab. This condition ends immediately on the creature if the ...


7

Grabbing someone does NOT stop them from standing up from prone. From PHB1, pg290, describing the grab action: Hit: The enemy is immobilized until it escapes or you end the grab. Grab inflicts immobilize, nothing else (barring some brawler fighter feats). From PHB1, pg277: Immobilized: You can't move from your space, although you can teleport and ...


6

Both the creature doing the GrabDDI, and the target who is GrabbedDDI can be effected by forced movement (push/pull/slide) as normal. Forced movement on one combatant does not move another due to a grab by default. The definition of Grab contains: If a pull, a push, or a slide moves you or the creature you’re grabbing out of your reach, the grab ends. ...


5

Yes. It would be same two people holding/restraining you as long as both creatures want to cooperate. If they are into cooperating then the character is going to have a tougher job breaking the grab of both. If they are not into cooperating then if both grabs succeed there may be a check for the first 'grabber' resisting having it's 'grabee' stolen ...


5

Nothing would happen. The grabbed condition ends when The attacker and the target are separated by more squares than the grabber has reach (usually by forced movement) The target succeeds on an escape check The attacker is subject to an effect that prevents free actions. The attacker (or the target) going prone does not meet any of these clauses and ...


2

Use the suggested moderate DCs from the most recent skill update We have three classes of characters who grab: The Normal Character, The Weaponmaster Brawler, and the Red Scales Assassin. The normal character grabs to satisfy rare tactical objectives of capturing an enemy without knocking them unconscious. It would be reasonable to assume that the rest of ...


2

Pushing an grabber away from a target he has grabbed usually breaks the grab. There are a few exceptions, where the grab is not broken and the grabbed target gets brought along for the ride, in some cases of special enemies like the Gelatinous Cube [ddi]. Engulf (acid) At-Will Requirement: The cube must have no more than two creatures grabbed ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible