Hot answers tagged

29

Yes, a horse may grapple. Monster Manual p273: Horses have a grappling score, there aren't any special requirements excluding them from being able to grapple, and there's nothing saying horses can only react to grappling. The grapple rules, even employed literally, require a grappler to grab and then be capable of holding their opponent - the horse can ...


27

No. But you've read the stat blocks correctly. The Monster Manual errata provide that "every swarm is immune to being grappled" as a condition immunity.


24

As Miniman points out, you cannot grapple as an attack of opportunity because an AoO does not give you an attack action. However, your situation doesn't actually call for an attack of opportunity. Instead, it sounds like you had readied an action. From Basic Rules page 72: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular ...


23

There are two different things happening here: your movement speed being halved, and spending half your movement speed. These work differently, and the order matters. The end result is that the grappler can't move-drag after standing up from prone. Here's how it works: You start with your full movement speed. Let's use 60′ for the sake of example. ...


19

There's no "DC" for either of those, any more than there's a DC for killing an enemy in combat with a sword. Instead, there's grapple checks (like AC) and damage rolls that progress toward death or unconsciousness (depending on non-lethal vs lethal damage). If your players are asking for a homebrew save-or-die in grappling, tell them there is absolutely no ...


18

Usually, yes. The various rules of the grapple maneuver repeatedly refer to whether or not you are grappling, not who grappled who: If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling [...] While you’re grappling, [...] [...] while grappling Perhaps most tellingly: When you are grappling (regardless of who started the grapple), [...] ...


17

Yes, a horse can start a grapple. There isn't such a rule because it's possible. The word "grapple" may imply having arms and wrestling around, but the linguistic nuances of the word are irrelevant to the mechanics it describes--just like you can have your Fighter call himself a samurai without taking the Samurai class. Similarly a "cantrip" is ...


17

Yes, if the grapplee is light enough The rules for moving a grappled creature (grapplee) state (PHB 195, emphasis mine): When you move, you can drag or carry the grapplee with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you. Moving over to where "drag" and "carry" are defined (PHB 176). Dragging loads in excess ...


16

Yes you can use them, but you would have to make a concentration check or lose the usage. According to the SRD on SLA: A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane ...


16

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


15

You are correct, however there is one extra benefit you gain from having someone grappled and that is to forcefully move someone. You mainly want to grapple someone when their movement is giving you problems or you want them to be elsewhere, and shoving them is not good enough. In addition to normal grappling, there is a feat in the player's handbook ...


15

The rules are pretty clear. The T-Rex can't bite another target, but there's certainly nothing stopping the T-Rex from biting the target it has in its mouth. Unlike, for example, the Stirge, the T-Rex doesn't have an auto-hit on a creature it is grappling, so it still has to roll to hit (with advantage, because of the restrained condition). As far as what I ...


14

Grappling and pinning an opponent makes it much easier to hit them; but, a grappled opponent is not considered helpless. You can not coup de grace an opponent who is grappled or pinned. (See the Condition Summary, DMG pp. 300-301). Note the penalties that each of these conditions apply: Grappling: Engaged in wrestling or some other form of hand-to-hand ...


14

Excellent question. What we are looking at here is: How do areas of effect work, and How moving someone in a grapple works. Area of Effect The general rules for area of effects are detailed on p. 204 of the PHB. Now an area of effect is defined very precisely. What is not stated of how much of a target is required to be in the area of effect for it to ...


14

No. When lifting the other character you are either taking an action, or you interacting with an object -- depending on your DM's rulings. If the DM rules that the pile driver is an attack (which I'd argue it is), that would cost you an action, and you can only repeat it if you have movement and an action to spend on it. This assumes you've grappled them, ...


14

Is the barbarian too far away to melee attack the otyugh? Rules as written, yes, the barbarian is too far away. A barbarian's melee attack range is 5 feet (Melee Attacks, PHB pg 195), and the Otyugh's tentacle attack range is 10 feet (MM pg 248). If you are grappled, your speed is 0 and you cannot move (PHB pg 290). The Otyugh has a special grapple ...


14

Yes, you can generally shove your way out of a grapple If a grappler can't reach their target, the grapple ends. If you shove someone 5' away, they won't be able to reach you anymore and the grapple will end. However, if their reach is larger than 5' they may be able to maintain the grapple on you (e.g. larger creatures). I'm not aware of any rules RAW ...


13

Channeling energy is a supernatural ability, which means it cannot be disrupted by enemies, and it has one physical requirement: A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability. Then checking the grappling section of the CRB: Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two ...


13

From the Grappled condition in Appendix A of the Player's Handbook or Player's Basic Rules: The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. So if you use Blink and vanish into the Ethereal Plane, the grapple ...


13

Every version of DnD sacrifices simulation for simplicity. Escaping a Grapple usually lookes like this (Monster Manual 11): A creature grappled by the monster can use its action to try to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check against the escape DC in the monster's stat block. Neither the Blinded nor ...


13

Attacking a grappled enemy by slamming it into a wall is a "similar forceful blow" under the unarmed strike rule: Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow... The ability to attack two targets during one turn is represented by features such as Action ...


12

Oriental Adventures book has a feat that does exactly what you want: CHOKE HOLD [GENERAL] You have learned the correct way to apply pressure to render an opponent unconscious. Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Improved Grapple, Stunning Fist. Benefit: If you pin your opponent while grappling and maintain the pin for 1 full round, at the end of ...


12

By default, D&D 3.5 does not cover the "neck snapping" situation very well. It simply runs counter to how the system was designed... Hit points are explicitely in place to prevent instant kills, and there are very few abilities which circumvent that. In general, there are two mechanics that sort of represent what you're looking for: Damage during ...


12

First off, if you want advice on being a cleric, the Cleric Handbook is the best place for it. Most of the guides on that site are actually pretty good, if a little in depth. In 3.5, the default martial arts character is usually the Monk. They tend to come from monasteries, and the typical image of them is guy who spends several hours a day meditating, and ...


12

The rules on Grappled condition seem to answer the first part of your question : Grappled [...] The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. (Player's Handbook, p. 290) So that's what happens to the ...


11

Yes, you can use spell-like abilities in a grapple. Spell-like abilities, amongst other things, have no somatic, verbal or material components, making them suitable even in situations, such as grapple, where you're prevented from acting freely. Mechaniclly, my deductions work on three levels: The list of possible actions that is given for grappling is ...


11

The Constrict ability happens as soon as the yuan-ti hits, and the cleric is grappled by the yuan-ti. Constrict. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 13). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the yuan-ti can’t constrict another ...


11

Your character can do things not covered by the actions in this chapter […] The only limits to the actions you can attempt are your imagination and your character's ability scores. (PHB, p. 193) Melee isn't limited to or defined by a list of mechanical actions. Creative maneuvers in combat are not only possible, they're expected by the game and it provides ...


11

Yes it breaks grapples, no you can not take somebody with you. Pertinent part of the Blink spell that pertains to your question: You can only affect and be affected by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane. Creatures that aren’t there can’t perceive you or interact with you, unless they have the ability to do so. The spell doesn't say you can ...


11

A grappled creature can use its action to escape. It says an action, so it requires an action. If it could be done as one of several attacks, it would say so, just like it says for making a grapple. If you're the DM, you can houserule this, of course, but think carefully before doing so, because allowing one attack of Extra Attack to escape grapples ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible