Hot answers tagged

29

Yes, a horse may grapple. Monster Manual p273: Horses have a grappling score, there aren't any special requirements excluding them from being able to grapple, and there's nothing saying horses can only react to grappling. The grapple rules, even employed literally, require a grappler to grab and then be capable of holding their opponent - the horse can ...


23

No. But you've read the stat blocks correctly. The Monster Manual errata provide that "every swarm is immune to being grappled"as a condition immunity.


18

Usually, yes. The various rules of the grapple maneuver repeatedly refer to whether or not you are grappling, not who grappled who: If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling [...] While you’re grappling, [...] [...] while grappling Perhaps most tellingly: When you are grappling (regardless of who started the grapple), [...] ...


18

As Miniman points out, you cannot grapple as an attack of opportunity because an AoO does not give you an attack action. However, your situation doesn't actually call for an attack of opportunity. Instead, it sounds like you had readied an action. From Basic Rules page 72: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular ...


17

Yes, if the grapplee is light enough The rules for moving a grappled creature (grapplee) state (PHB 195, emphasis mine): When you move, you can drag or carry the grapplee with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you. Moving over to where "drag" and "carry" are defined (PHB 176). Dragging loads in excess ...


16

Yes you can use them, but you would have to make a concentration check or lose the usage. According to the SRD on SLA: A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane ...


15

The rules are pretty clear. The T-Rex can't bite another target, but there's certainly nothing stopping the T-Rex from biting the target it has in its mouth. Unlike, for example, the Stirge, the T-Rex doesn't have an auto-hit on a creature it is grappling, so it still has to roll to hit (with advantage, because of the restrained condition). As far as what I ...


14

Yes, a horse can start a grapple. There isn't such a rule because it's possible. The word "grapple" may imply having arms and wrestling around, but the linguistic nuances of the word are irrelevant to the mechanics it describes--just like you can have your Fighter call himself a samurai without taking the Samurai class. Similarly a "cantrip" is ...


14

Grappling and pinning an opponent makes it much easier to hit them; but, a grappled opponent is not considered helpless. You can not coup de grace an opponent who is grappled or pinned. (See the Condition Summary, DMG pp. 300-301). Note the penalties that each of these conditions apply: Grappling: Engaged in wrestling or some other form of hand-to-hand ...


14

You are correct, however there is one extra benefit you gain from having someone grappled and that is to forcefully move someone. You mainly want to grapple someone when their movement is giving you problems or you want them to be elsewhere, and shoving them is not good enough. In addition to normal grappling, there is a feat in the player's handbook ...


14

Excellent question. What we are looking at here is: How do areas of effect work, and How moving someone in a grapple works. Area of Effect The general rules for area of effects are detailed on p. 204 of the PHB. Now an area of effect is defined very precisely. What is not stated of how much of a target is required to be in the area of effect for it to ...


13

Channeling energy is a supernatural ability, which means it cannot be disrupted by enemies, and it has one physical requirement: A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability. Then checking the grappling section of the CRB: Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two ...


12

By default, D&D 3.5 does not cover the "neck snapping" situation very well. It simply runs counter to how the system was designed... Hit points are explicitely in place to prevent instant kills, and there are very few abilities which circumvent that. In general, there are two mechanics that sort of represent what you're looking for: Damage during ...


12

Oriental Adventures book has a feat that does exactly what you want: CHOKE HOLD [GENERAL] You have learned the correct way to apply pressure to render an opponent unconscious. Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Improved Grapple, Stunning Fist. Benefit: If you pin your opponent while grappling and maintain the pin for 1 full round, at the end of ...


12

First off, if you want advice on being a cleric, the Cleric Handbook is the best place for it. Most of the guides on that site are actually pretty good, if a little in depth. In 3.5, the default martial arts character is usually the Monk. They tend to come from monasteries, and the typical image of them is guy who spends several hours a day meditating, and ...


11

Yes, you can use spell-like abilities in a grapple. Spell-like abilities, amongst other things, have no somatic, verbal or material components, making them suitable even in situations, such as grapple, where you're prevented from acting freely. Mechaniclly, my deductions work on three levels: The list of possible actions that is given for grappling is ...


11

The Constrict ability happens as soon as the yuan-ti hits, and the cleric is grappled by the yuan-ti. Constrict. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 13). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the yuan-ti can’t constrict another ...


11

Your character can do things not covered by the actions in this chapter […] The only limits to the actions you can attempt are your imagination and your character's ability scores. (PHB, p. 193) Melee isn't limited to or defined by a list of mechanical actions. Creative maneuvers in combat are not only possible, they're expected by the game and it ...


9

Well, as you noted, on page 195 of the Player's Handbook it states that a grapple check is a melee attack. But it doesn't state unarmed melee attack. On the same page, under the heading "Melee Attacks" it states that if you're unarmed, you can fight in melee by making an unarmed strike. It seems clear to me, from these rules, that unarmed strikes are their ...


9

Yes, of course. That's exactly what it's saying.


8

Well, I think the "Grappled" condition covers it. The grappling and grappled creatures are both at a -4 to Dex, and are considered to be engaged in melee. So that would put you at a -4 to ranged attacks (unless you have Precise Shot), and would make it easier to hit the creature with a melee attack (because of the -4 to Dex). Otherwise I don't believe ...


8

While the grappled-condition does not make the character vulnerable to Sneak attacks, the pinned-condition states, that the character is flatflooted (Core Rulebook page 568). If you are grappling another character and take a standard action to maintain the grapple (and succeed), you can pin your opponent (CRB pg. 200). So your party will need another round ...


8

It can, or the cutting part wouldn't work. The Pathfinder rules are based on a list of things characters can normally do, such as using skills, or attacking. This list is not absolute. A spellcaster can also cast spells, or you can't use diplomacy on someone trying to kill you at the same time. However, any deviation from the general set of possibilities ...


8

It's a winning strategy but dirty and difficult The asabi commander must... Identify the wizard. He's probably the one not wearing armor with the raven on his shoulder, but that's no guarantee given the proliferation of base and prestige classes that function optimally in light or no armor. Make the initial touch attack. This means either beating the ...


8

There is no general rule that grants the options that you've described. Unless that creature has flying, hover, or some other special feature, it's going to drop like a rock. That said, I'd treat this particular combat scenario as a trap, so the pushed creature gets to roll a Dex save (to grab the edge). If he is thrown farther than he can reach, however, ...


7

There is no concept of grappling in 4e. The concept is replaced with the grab action which inflicts the grabbed condition. Which is defined thusly: The creature is immobilized. Maintaining this condition on the creature occupies whatever appendage, object, or effect the grabber used to initiate the grab. This condition ends immediately on the ...


7

Couple of things: It's perfectly acceptable to stand up while prone and grabbed (grabbing immobilizes, but immobilization does not prevent standing from prone). Yes, he can absolutely use acrobatics/athletics to escape, but he'll be prone and as such will not be able to use the free shift. This makes grabbing and proning an effective strategy as it ...


7

To the first question. Yes, "If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them." (PHB 195) So yes you can attack again if you grapple with your first action. You are not limited to whom you attack, so anyone in reach including the grappled opponent is fine. Your opponent is only frozen in place. That is the ...


7

That sounds like an entirely legal (and evil) strategy. I like it. The kobold wizard, buried 10 feet underground, would begin suffocating, though the chamber would plausibly have a minute's worth of air. Since the Asabi wouldn't leave behind a tunnel, the wizard would have a great deal of difficulty in casting any spells with a somatic component. A ...


7

You've already quoted the important distinction. A grapple requires you to use the Attack action, which an opportunity attack does not give you. Your DM is free to rule that you can do this, but they have already ruled that you can't, so that seems unlikely. As far as RAI are concerned, we can only speculate, but the writers of 5e have been extremely ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible