Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

28

Yes, a horse may grapple. Monster Manual p273: Horses have a grappling score, there aren't any special requirements excluding them from being able to grapple, and there's nothing saying horses can only react to grappling. The grapple rules, even employed literally, require a grappler to grab and then be capable of holding their opponent - the horse can ...


18

Usually, yes. The various rules of the grapple maneuver repeatedly refer to whether or not you are grappling, not who grappled who: If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling [...] While you’re grappling, [...] [...] while grappling Perhaps most tellingly: When you are grappling (regardless of who started the grapple), [...] ...


16

Yes, if the grapplee is light enough The rules for moving a grappled creature (grapplee) state (PHB 195, emphasis mine): When you move, you can drag or carry the grapplee with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you. Moving over to where "drag" and "carry" are defined (PHB 176). Dragging loads in excess ...


16

As Miniman points out, you cannot grapple as an attack of opportunity because an AoO does not give you an attack action. However, your situation doesn't actually call for an attack of opportunity. Instead, it sounds like you had readied an action. From Basic Rules page 72: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular ...


15

Yes you can use them, but you would have to make a concentration check or lose the usage. According to the SRD on SLA: A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane ...


14

Grappling and pinning an opponent makes it much easier to hit them; but, a grappled opponent is not considered helpless. You can not coup de grace an opponent who is grappled or pinned. (See the Condition Summary, DMG pp. 300-301). Note the penalties that each of these conditions apply: Grappling: Engaged in wrestling or some other form of hand-to-hand ...


13

Yes, a horse can start a grapple. There isn't such a rule because it's possible. The word "grapple" may imply having arms and wrestling around, but the linguistic nuances of the word are irrelevant to the mechanics it describes--just like you can have your Fighter call himself a samurai without taking the Samurai class. Similarly a "cantrip" is ...


13

Channeling energy is a supernatural ability, which means it cannot be disrupted by enemies, and it has one physical requirement: A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability. Then checking the grappling section of the CRB: Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two ...


13

The rules are pretty clear. The T-Rex can't bite another target, but there's certainly nothing stopping the T-Rex from biting the target it has in its mouth. Unlike, for example, the Stirge, the T-Rex doesn't have an auto-hit on a creature it is grappling, so it still has to roll to hit (with advantage, because of the restrained condition). As far as what I ...


12

By default, D&D 3.5 does not cover the "neck snapping" situation very well. It simply runs counter to how the system was designed... Hit points are explicitely in place to prevent instant kills, and there are very few abilities which circumvent that. In general, there are two mechanics that sort of represent what you're looking for: Damage during ...


12

First off, if you want advice on being a cleric, the Cleric Handbook is the best place for it. Most of the guides on that site are actually pretty good, if a little in depth. In 3.5, the default martial arts character is usually the Monk. They tend to come from monasteries, and the typical image of them is guy who spends several hours a day meditating, and ...


10

Oriental Adventures book has a feat that does exactly what you want: CHOKE HOLD [GENERAL] You have learned the correct way to apply pressure to render an opponent unconscious. Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Improved Grapple, Stunning Fist. Benefit: If you pin your opponent while grappling and maintain the pin for 1 full round, at the end of ...


10

Yes, you can use spell-like abilities in a grapple. Spell-like abilities, amongst other things, have no somatic, verbal or material components, making them suitable even in situations, such as grapple, where you're prevented from acting freely. Mechaniclly, my deductions work on three levels: The list of possible actions that is given for grappling is ...


9

You are correct, however there is one extra benefit you gain from having someone grappled and that is to forcefully move someone. You mainly want to grapple someone when their movement is giving you problems or you want them to be elsewhere, and shoving them is not good enough. In addition to normal grappling, there is a feat in the player's handbook ...


9

Well, as you noted, on page 195 of the Player's Handbook it states that a grapple check is a melee attack. But it doesn't state unarmed melee attack. On the same page, under the heading "Melee Attacks" it states that if you're unarmed, you can fight in melee by making an unarmed strike. It seems clear to me, from these rules, that unarmed strikes are their ...


8

While the grappled-condition does not make the character vulnerable to Sneak attacks, the pinned-condition states, that the character is flatflooted (Core Rulebook page 568). If you are grappling another character and take a standard action to maintain the grapple (and succeed), you can pin your opponent (CRB pg. 200). So your party will need another round ...


8

Well, I think the "Grappled" condition covers it. The grappling and grappled creatures are both at a -4 to Dex, and are considered to be engaged in melee. So that would put you at a -4 to ranged attacks (unless you have Precise Shot), and would make it easier to hit the creature with a melee attack (because of the -4 to Dex). Otherwise I don't believe ...


8

It can, or the cutting part wouldn't work. The Pathfinder rules are based on a list of things characters can normally do, such as using skills, or attacking. This list is not absolute. A spellcaster can also cast spells, or you can't use diplomacy on someone trying to kill you at the same time. However, any deviation from the general set of possibilities ...


8

It's a winning strategy but dirty and difficult The asabi commander must... Identify the wizard. He's probably the one not wearing armor with the raven on his shoulder, but that's no guarantee given the proliferation of base and prestige classes that function optimally in light or no armor. Make the initial touch attack. This means either beating the ...


7

There is no concept of grappling in 4e. The concept is replaced with the grab action which inflicts the grabbed condition. Which is defined thusly: The creature is immobilized. Maintaining this condition on the creature occupies whatever appendage, object, or effect the grabber used to initiate the grab. This condition ends immediately on the ...


7

Couple of things: It's perfectly acceptable to stand up while prone and grabbed (grabbing immobilizes, but immobilization does not prevent standing from prone). Yes, he can absolutely use acrobatics/athletics to escape, but he'll be prone and as such will not be able to use the free shift. This makes grabbing and proning an effective strategy as it ...


7

That sounds like an entirely legal (and evil) strategy. I like it. The kobold wizard, buried 10 feet underground, would begin suffocating, though the chamber would plausibly have a minute's worth of air. Since the Asabi wouldn't leave behind a tunnel, the wizard would have a great deal of difficulty in casting any spells with a somatic component. A ...


6

If the creature were willing, you might be able to use him as an improvised two handed weapon (there is no weight max on two handed improvised weapons, if you can lift it, you can hit with it). Presumably a character attempting this would have enough strength to do so. Even so, no matter what, this should require an athletics check to life the creature into ...


6

You've already quoted the important distinction. A grapple requires you to use the Attack action, which an opportunity attack does not give you. Your DM is free to rule that you can do this, but they have already ruled that you can't, so that seems unlikely. As far as RAI are concerned, we can only speculate, but the writers of 5e have been extremely ...


5

Oddly enough, horses grappling isn't actually that much, if any, a suspension of disbelief. Anyone who has been grabbed by a horse can tell you how: they use their teeth. The grappling rules are also pretty sensible about what can and can't grapple, giving a nice fiction-based rule: To start a grapple, you need to grab and hold your target. Can an ...


5

From pg.76 "Complete Warrior" Prestige class Reaping Mauler has a tailored solution on how to make a grapple more Lethal. Provides options for both choking to unconsciousness and for choking victim to death as you see fit. Sleeper Lock (Ex): At 3rd level, a reaping mauler learns how to render an opponent unconscious with pressure. If the character pins his ...


5

You can't use Lunge with a grapple maneuver because initiating a grapple is a standard action (not usable as part of an attack action). A trip attempt, instead, can replace a melee attack. In this case is not clear if it benefits from the same feats of a regular melee attack. If so, then Lunge can apply, but you still provoke an attack of opportunity unless ...


5

A grapple is just a Block. A Block is a way of preventing certain actions from being taken. In the case of a grapple, the actions being Blocked are things requiring physical freedom: Movement Attack Defense Casting If I were GMing that game, I'd say that the grappled defender gets a defense roll (you always get a defense roll), but that if he doesn't ...


5

The Rake ability allows you to make special attacks called rake attacks that are performed as part of a Pounce attack, or sometimes (see below) as part of an Improved Grab attack, or in addition to a natural attack as an Attack Your Opponent grapple action, only if you were grappling at the start of your turn. (Intermezzo: Not all monsters with Improved ...


5

Grappling in previous editions was... troublesome. The rule is considerably simplified in 5th edition, and is both easier to apply and less cumbersome in its effects. You are correct that the only effect of the Grappled condition is an inability to move, but that alone is enough to allow the rogue in your party to utilize their sneak attack ability each ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible