New answers tagged

13

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


8

RAI, I would say the grapple is broken. The rules specifically say that the condition ends when a creature is moved by Thunderwave, but also in-universe, I'd imagine that Gary is focusing more on staying upright and not being affected by the spell than maintaining his grapple on Victor. However, as a DM I would get Gary to roll a check (likely Strength) ...


22

There are two different things happening here: your movement speed being halved, and spending half your movement speed. These work differently, and the order matters. The end result is that the grappler can't move-drag after standing up from prone. Here's how it works: You start with your full movement speed. Let's use 60′ for the sake of example. ...


0

The entry for grapple quoted by OP seems to indicate that an attacker is allowed to use Extra Attack in conjunction with Grappling, but that a defender (creature escaping a grapple) "can use its action to escape", meaning its entire action, not an Extra Attack because Extra Attack is a separate "Action" from the Escaping a Grapple "Action". "Attack" and ...


1

Straight from a physics perspective, if the flight is winged in benefit, then it would be a straight physics fall. So in a straight physics argument, I'd say you get no extra falling damage benefit for your PC's flying on downward decent. That's just gravity and your PC's mass (dependent on how we interpret the body of wind discipline's no fall damage ...


4

The rules are unclear... There are two ways of looking at this, and I'll detail both for you. You escape the grapple, which Engulf is tied to Since the grapple condition appears to not happen without Engulf following instantly after, it appears that the two are linked. The lack of escape DC for the Engluf feature would suggest that you are meant to escape ...


13

Every version of DnD sacrifices simulation for simplicity. Escaping a Grapple usually lookes like this (Monster Manual 11): A creature grappled by the monster can use its action to try to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check against the escape DC in the monster's stat block. Neither the Blinded nor ...


10

A grappled creature can use its action to escape. It says an action, so it requires an action. If it could be done as one of several attacks, it would say so, just like it says for making a grapple. If you're the DM, you can houserule this, of course, but think carefully before doing so, because allowing one attack of Extra Attack to escape grapples ...


2

Can you retrieve a potion while grappling? No. However, drawing a light weapon requires a successful grapple check and retrieving a spell component require a full round action. Even if you retrieve it using an interpolation of the spell component retrieval, you still can't use it, since drinking it is not in the "if you're grappling" actions. Escaping ...


9

Yes Contests and saving throws do not require an action by themselves, so a surprise round does not take that ability away from a target. Unfortunately, there really is no mechanical advantage given to you when you sneak-grapple, other than getting one extra turn to attempt the grapple. Given the circumstances, your DM could allow some sort of advantage ...


4

No A potion is neither a weapon* nor a spell component** so drawing it during a grapple is not possible. Well, sort of *Pretty much anything can be used as an improvised weapon, but that's going to be a tough sell to your DM since a potion bottle is very small: A typical potion or oil consists of 1 ounce of liquid held in a ceramic or glass vial ...


6

Your DM was wrong by Rules as Written The text of what Improved Grab actually does is: If a creature with this special attack hits with a melee weapon (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. ... If the creature does not constrict, each ...


4

Yes. Combining Reach with Grapple is very effective. But the barbarian has plenty of options. He can seek to escape the Grapple. He can attempt a ranged attack or perhaps an ally can toss him a reach weapon. The DM might allow him to attack the Otyugh's tentacles, which would be reasonable but not RAW and I wouldn't allow it myself. Remember that the ...


14

Is the barbarian too far away to melee attack the otyugh? Rules as written, yes, the barbarian is too far away. A barbarian's melee attack range is 5 feet (Melee Attacks, PHB pg 195), and the Otyugh's tentacle attack range is 10 feet (MM pg 248). If you are grappled, your speed is 0 and you cannot move (PHB pg 290). The Otyugh has a special grapple ...


4

From appendix A of the PHB, under Grappled: The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. If the spell moves the grappled creature out of reach, they're no longer grappled. In your case, you mention 15 ft, ...


12

The rules on Grappled condition seem to answer the first part of your question : Grappled [...] The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. (Player's Handbook, p. 290) So that's what happens to the ...



Top 50 recent answers are included