Tag Info

New answers tagged

-5

The option to copy an spell is described on page 114 of the PHB in the wizard class chapter. Copying a Spell into the Book in an option if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it. More information is given but due to copyright I wont post more.


6

The Rules are right there in the book: Spell scrolls are Magic Items, rarity values are on page 200. Crafting a Magic Item are on Page 128. Creating a magic item that will produce a spell effect requires daily expenditure of a spell slot of the right level - knowing the spell is not required by RAW. You must also expend the material components once. Once ...


-6

Research is for creating new spells that don't exist, or making other class spells work for your class, so the title isn't exactly correct, though you do clarify it in your question very very well. You can write as many spells in your spellbooks as you want. That doesn't mean you have them memorized, they are simply available to you when it comes time to ...


4

From page 93 of the PHB: though the beast does not take any actions unless you command it to. I'd say it depends on what you tell it to do before you get incapacitated. A command of "fight these attackers" or "protect me" wouldn't stop just because you are unconscious. If you told it to "bite that guy", that is another story.


11

In 5th edition, it is as you have said. The animal will only act when commanded. If you're not conscious to give a command, it won't act to defend you. Since you asked about previous editions... In 3.5e, you command your Animal Companion by using the Animal Handling skill as a free action. Some of the Tricks that a trained Companion can perform are: ...


22

By RAW, no. From page 93 of the PHB: though the beast does not take any actions unless you command it to. That much is pretty clear-cut. By RAI, were it my game, I'd probably allow the beast to stand guard and engage with anyone who tries to harm the unconscious body of its master, but it would be under DM control and if I were using morale, that ...


3

It depends on which OD&D you mean. If you are playing with the Greyhawk supplement, which expanded the ability bonus values and added the Intelligence table for magic-users, or with Swords & Wizardry Complete, ability scores mean about as much as they do in AD&D, so there would be a visible effect. If you are playing without the Greyhawk ...


0

Apology Now that the character that originally prompted the question has actually reached level 7, and that I've had about 9 months of DM experience, I've revisited this question to see what we came up with. I think that the answer I originally gave is pretty decent, it has some upvotes, and I don't want to remove it, but I don't think that it's what I'm ...


2

When your quoted source says they're doing "the same thing" to lock a lock as to unlock it, they mean it's exactly the same thing. Literally the only thing that changes is the direction you push on the "wrench" (one of the picks), which is clockwise in one case and counterclockwise in the other, but is likewise reversed if you go to another lock that's ...



Top 50 recent answers are included