Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

11

Teleporting away is a method of escaping. Though it is not taking the escape action. A grabbed creature can take the escape action to try to get away. Other common tactics for escaping a grab are to teleport away or to be pulled, pushed, or slid out of the grabber’s reach. Using forced movement on the grabber can also end a grab, as long as the movement ...


9

Technically the DM is not required to tell players whether an immediate interrupt will cause a triggering attack to miss unless the interrupt explicitly says so. Players may be able to figure it out on their own if they're allowed to see the DM's die rolls (some groups do this, some don't) and they've had a couple example attacks to estimate the monster's ...


5

You are correct, the immediate interrupt gets priority here, the Barbarian did not go to 0 and thus does not trigger the free action. The key is when various kinds of actions occur. Immediate interrupts happen before their trigger. Whereas triggered free actions happen after their trigger completes. Since the Barbarian is technically never at 0 HP, the ...


5

Immediate Interrupts occur before the triggering action. Interrupts: An immediate interrupt jumps in when its trigger occurs, taking place before the trigger finishes. If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, the triggering action is lost. Example: An enemy makes a melee attack against Keira the rogue, but Keira uses a power that lets her ...


5

It depends on the trigger of the immediate interrupt power. When exactly in the process you can use the power depends on what triggers it. The most common triggers for powers of that type are 1) "you are targeted by an attack" and 2) "you are hit by an attack", and you'll occasionally see 3) "you take damage". If it says "you are targeted by an attack" ...


5

As long as the enemy is a valid target of the MBA you can. The feat Repel Charge does not have an adjacency requirement so the character repelling the charge merely needs melee range on the person charging them. This is not an Opportunity Attack which does require adjacency, it's a set Opportunity Action. It's part of the same super set (Opportunity ...


3

No. The enemy is not adjacent to you while it's making the attack that the charge action tells him to make. Luckily, opponents also provoke attacks of opportunity when moving away from you and those happen right before they make that step, so you get one attack anyway.


3

No. You can take the opportunity attack when they leave the space adjacent to you, but the attack does not happen until they arrive. Charge, while one action, is two separate components, the move and the attack.


2

You made the right call. Immediate interrupts are often designed to invalidate their own triggering actions. If a character used an immediate interrupt upon reaching 0hp to heal, they never reached 0hp. An example of this mechanic occurs in the rules for immediate interrupts in the PHB (p268): Interrupt: An immediate interrupt lets you jump in when a ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible