Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

You've already stated the key point: 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell. So what you need to understand here is that the Shield spell involves time travel. No, really, it does. You can cast Shield when you're hit by an attack. Not when you're targeted, or when someone tries to attack you, but ...


17

Depending on the context of the encounter, the following might be relevant: Surprise If surprised, you lose your turn for the first round of combat. This includes loosing use of any reaction for one round, measured from the beginning of combat until the start of your turn on round two. Which I got from this quick reference: ...


10

There is one part of the question that isn't clear and is not addressed by SevenSidedDie: Can you choose to not activate an immediate reaction on the first occurrence of a trigger? Immediate Actions are Choices Since Immediate Actions are a choice, you can always choose to not activate a power on a trigger. If you choose not to, then you cannot use that ...


8

Just once per round Each here is a once per round effect, unless you have a way to provide yourself with more than one immediate action in a round (I'm not aware of any right off hand). The each allows the trigger to be valid for the rest of the encounter. The problem is that the action is described as an immediate reaction. immediate actions are defined ...


8

It depends on the trigger of the readied actionDDI. As already cleared out on the Player's Handbook page 291... Interrupting an Enemy: If you want to use a readied action to attack before an enemy attacks, you should ready your action in response to the enemy’s movement. That way your attack will be triggered by a portion of the enemy’s move, and you ...


7

The mechanics: Yes, your goblins need to roll stealth, they need to beat the PCs' passive perception scores to actually be hidden, that said, don't tell the PCs what is in the barrel, just that there is something in the barrel. The difference between them noticing and them not, is likely a surprise round. No, they can't ready actions before combat starts. ...


7

Yes, An Immediate action can be used once between your turns. As long as it isn't your turn, your Immediate Action can be used whenever its trigger condition is met.


5

Yes, it has to be used right away. Not because it's an immediate action, but because it comes from a power that has just triggered. You don't get to choose when triggered powers take effect, even if going through with them is optional – they apply when, and only when their trigger condition happens.


4

Your players were right. Your move action is over when you say it is over Immediate reactions occur after the trigger: An immediate reaction waits for its trigger to finish, not necessarily for the action that contains the trigger to finish. - Published in Player's Handbook, page(s) 268, Rules Compendium, page(s) 195. Movement is considered ...


3

Ok, I think I've got enough to answer this. If the scenario is before any combat has started the wizard failed his Perception check or otherwise didn't notice the Rogue in stealth, and was Surprised by the attack. The Wizard does not have a reaction to cast Shield with, due to the Surprise effects debuf. However, if it's mid-combat and the same failed ...


1

The Monk AW "Fallen Needle" has a movement technique that goes "Immediate Interrupt, Trigger: an enemy ends its movement adjacent to you, Effect: you shift 1 or move 3." And since the Repulsion Armour is a reaction to push someone for moving into an adjacent square rather than to someone ending their move action, I'd rule that the repulsed creature ...


1

Under the right circumstances Repulsion Armour could be quite handy. Whilst I would consider you correct in that they can continue moving after the push if they have movement left, some consideration and tactful positioning can be of use. The Armour is meant to help prevent enemies from shifting adjacent to you, so if you they are already adjacent to one of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible