Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

14

Monk's +3 unarmed proficiency bonus is only added to weapon attacks, not monk "Implement" attacks. Monks are confusing. The difference is in the keyword of the power. Drunken Monkey has the following keywords: Full Discipline, Implement, Psionic The one we care about is "Implement" Because monk attacks are implement attacks, they do not use weapon ...


13

No, Mage Hand can do the following things: Minor Action: The hand picks up or manipulates an object weighing 20 pounds or less. It can hold only one object at a time. Move Action: The hand moves up to 5 squares in any direction, carrying the object it holds. Free Action: The hand drops the object it is holding. (Far Hand is similar) You would need ...


11

Player's Handbook 2 (released in March 2009) changed how implements work. Now you only have to be proficient with holy symbols, but need not belong to such a class. You can use any implement power with any implement you are proficient with. A multiclass feat is sufficient. From page 236 of the PHB: Unlike other implements, you need only to wear a holy ...


11

No A Ki Focus is a category of implement, like Staff, Holy Symbol and Rod. This would be like asking if a Wizard who multiclassed Cleric could use a Holy Symbol as a Staff. They're just different things. If you look on PHB3.p62 you'll see that the monk has "Ki focuses, weapons with which you are have proficiency" listed as the implements that they can use. ...


9

Yes Mostly, anyway. The main issue is interpretation of PHB1 pg221: Arcane Implement: ... A staff implement can also function as a quarterstaff. Obviously, if you have an accurate staff, you can use it as a quarterstaff. If you have a quarterstaff, can it be an accurate staff? Nearly every group will tell you that this passage means quarterstaves and ...


8

Improvised weapons are described as: Any small melee - DDI Improvised one-handed melee weapon Cost: — gp Damage: 1d4 Weight: 1–5 lb. Improvised weapons include anything you happen to pick up, from a rock to a chair. This would apply to any implement except a Staff and anything already a weapon. Staff's can be used as ...


8

Most of the musical instrument magic items are flutes, lutes, harps, horns, lyres, sitars, mandolins, bandores and drums. They are usually listed under wondrous items and will clearly say that a bard can use them as an implement and how they are used as such. You can find them in the PHB2.


8

Player's Handbook 2 (page 219): Some powers allow you to make secondary (or even tertiary) attacks. A “Hit,” a “Miss,” or an “Effect” entry tells you when to make a secondary attack. Unless otherwise noted, the attack type and the range of a secondary attack are the same as the power’s, and the secondary attack doesn’t require a separate action. Some ...


7

Unfortunately the 4e character builder is correct. The difference is between the implement and weapon keywords. Only those attacks with the weapon keyword add the proficiency bonus from your weapon. While a bow can be an excellent choice for the right kind of bard, it depends strongly on what you want to do with your bard. In this case, hyper-accuracy on ...


7

No, superior implement bonuses only apply to powers with the Implement keyword. From PHB3, page 195: A superior implement's properties apply only to attacks made with the implement. They affect only implement powers, even if an implement can be used to make weapon attacks.


7

Yes. The character should be able to treat light blades as implements (via the Swordmage feature or apposite feat). Then, simply inferring from the rules: Double WeaponsDDI [...] • Wielding a double weapon is like wielding a weapon in each hand. [...] The two ends of a double weapon can have different proficiency bonuses, damage, properties, and ...


7

No, dragonshards cannot augment implements. I can see why you might think so; from PG Eberron, pg111 (emphasis mine): ... When bound to an existing magic item, a properly attuned dragonshard can also augment or improve the item's capabilities. Unfortunately, every single dragonshard published explicitly has the Dragonshard Augment (Weapon) keyword, ...


6

Yes, assuming you're playing with the latest errata An implement proficiency now works with all powers that have the implement keyword, regardless of source. This was an important change in the errata and may be printed differently if you are relying on only the PHB. (Citation needed)


6

Of course you can equip the dagger; you just aren't proficient with it. I can hold a sword, that doesn't mean I know how to use it. That's what the proficiency bonus represents: training with a weapon. Now since you're not proficient with the dagger, you don't get the proficiency bonus to melee attack rolls or ranged attack rolls. When you become ...


6

The Frost weapon does not specify that it applies to only weapon attacks. It says: All damage dealt by this weapon is cold damage. Another free action returns the damage to normal. That means all, even implement damage. The contrast here is between damage dealt "by a weapon" (includes weapon and implement powers), and "by weapon attacks" (or similar) ...


5

This one is admittedly not very well phrased. From PHB1, p157-158: Staff of Defense: A staff of defense grants you a +1 bonus to AC. In addition, once per encounter as an immediate interrupt, you gain a bonus to defense against one attack equal to your Constitution modifier. ... You must wield your staff to benefit from these features. ... No, you do ...


5

You continue to get the benefit of superior implements even if they are enchanted, so long as you have the Superior Implement Training feat for the appropriate type. Considering it costs a feat to take advantage of, superior implements wouldn't be much use otherwise. From PHB3 Page 195: Formed of exotic materials and created using magical crafting ...


5

Extrapolating from here: Healing Strike wouldn't be affect by this because it doesn't have the healing and implement keywords; healing strike is a weapon keyword power. But, yes. In order for this implement to come into play, the power being used has to be used through the implement, so it has to have the implement and healing keyword. This ...


5

Yes, it's correct. Implements do not provides proficiency bonus the way weapons do. That's because Implement attacks usually target a non-AC defense (a.k.a NAD). Fortitude, Reflex, and Will defenses are usually, but not always, lower than the typical AC. Magical implements adds their enhancement bonus to the attack and damage rolls. Your +6 so includes a ...


5

I've investigated the issue and have found the problem. Holy Healer is a weapon enchantment, not an implement one. This means the Character builder does not support it's use as an "accurate" implement. Obviously because you are proficient in it as an implement it's enhancement bonuses are added in. As far as I'm concerned there should be no issue adding the ...


4

NO The rules compendium directly addresses this issue: Rules Compendium p.275: Weapons as Implements and Vice Versa Some adventurers have the ability to use a weapon as an implement or an implement as a weapon, and some magic items grant this ability. For example, the holy avenger weapon can be used as a holy symbol, which is a type of ...


4

No, they do not. Mundane thrown weapons do not return to your hand like magic ones do. A ki focus does not make the weapon you throw magic; it merely adds its enhancement bonus to your attack and damage rolls (and you get its critical hit effects, properties etc). You also technically need one dagger/hammer/javelin/etc. for each target of each attack for ...


3

No, they won't. You can only use the enhancement bonus of one implement - pick which one at the time of using your power. The default behaviour for wielding multiple implements is that you can gain the properties of each implement. When it comes to using a power, however, you can only use one of your implements to use that power. Choose one, and add its ...


3

You only receive an enhancement bonus the one time. Note that each item says it grants an "enhancement bonus"; same typed bonuses don't stack (in this case the type is "enhancement"). Note: you don't need a particular class' implement to use powers from that class. Any implement you are proficient with will do.


3

What I've Found Using only ki-focus implements has a very limiting effect. They are one of the smaller magic item groups and very few of them have properties or powers that add or change damage types. Since I was looking for being able to permanently deal one type of damage, I've ignored ki-focus implements that only have daily or encounter use damage type ...


3

No. Extra damage is part of the original damage instance, just like the Enhancement Bonus from the Ki focus. You do not add your Enhancement bonus to critical dice either. There are some powers however that do secondary damage, like Flame Spiral. They benefit from most feats and items effecting the primary damage, and can be recognised by the absence of ...


3

Sunblade has a similar type of magical attack on a melee weapon, but there are tradeoffs. SunbladeLevel 4+ Uncommon This heavy golden sword attacks with the power and intensity of the sun, burning nearby enemies. Lvl 4 +1 840 gp Lvl 19 +4 105,000 gp Lvl 9 +2 4,200 gp Lvl 24 +5 525,000 gp Lvl 14 +3 21,000 gp Lvl ...


2

Generally in 4e the best way to find something is to go to the compendium. Even if you don't have a DDI subscription you can still use it to search and it has very nice filtering tools. For instance, open the compendium, type "orb" into the search box, use the dropdown next to "Search" to select "Items" and then in the dropdown next to Category select ...


2

The only other weapons that convert damage to psychic is the Mindiron Weapon (bow/crossbow only), and Sorrowsong Blade (Heavy Blade only). These come with an always on 1/2 damage psychic property. There are no implements that change the damage to psychic. The better choice would be to take a healthy slate of psychic keyword powers. Wizards usually have a ...


2

Before we go on, I'd like to clarify a few things: Staff implements (artifacts or not) are always both weapon and implement, and some classes can use any blade as implement, so these "weapon implements" are quite common. Items commonly says you can make a ranged basic attack. You can use any that you have, and will use that attack's normal to hit and ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible