New answers tagged

7

No. Crawford answered this question back in March, with: Nope, that invisibility works on the fiend and its gear. http://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/03/24/invisible-master-warlock/


6

No Creatures aren't things, they're creatures. It's pretty clear to me that invisibility's description (same as the spell in PHB) is meant to cover whatever equipment/knickknacks/clothing a creature is carrying around with it so that a pedant couldn't argue that you had to be naked for it to work. Sadly by saying, "anything", we've got a RAW argument that ...


2

anything pronoun used to refer to a thing, no matter what. Go for it!


2

Scent Although powders are easier, my favorite solution is the Scent ability. Relevant quotes below. The creature can detect opponents within 30 feet by sense of smell... The creature can take a move action to note the direction of the scent. When the creature is within 5 feet of the source, it pinpoints the source’s location. This isn't an ...


1

I have used that flour trick alluded by Anne Aunyme in 2nd edition and although flour is not as easy to get off of you in real life it is a game obviously so follow rules as posted if they make sense for a given situation. One idea is to use the flour to find out which square they are in and use what would be the equivalent of a paint "flask". Essentially, ...


-1

First of all your scout can pinpoint the position of an invisible enemy with a percepition check, the invisible creature have a +20 to their stealth check (on the bright side ususally an inviaible creature don't try to hide, so the dc is just 20). Once you know the square you can try to hit it. Sticking an arrow or any way to make your enemy dirty would ...


7

You can use any kind of powder (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/goods-and-services/herbs-oils-other-substances#TOC-Powder-Normal): Powdered chalk, flour, and similar materials are popular with adventurers for their utility in pinpointing invisible creatures. Throwing a bag of powder into a square is an attack against AC 5, and momentarily ...


-1

failing the reflex save simply means that the square the character is in is revealed. not the character themself.


14

Your GM was correct - nothing in the text of grease suggests that it coats the creatures in its area of effect, merely that it makes them fall. However, coating the wizard with something would reveal him - invisibility has a specific clause for dealing with "picked up" items: items picked up disappear if tucked into the clothing or pouches worn by the ...


6

So, short answer, he would still be invisible. Even after failing his save to the grease and falling prone, as invisibility only ends when: the spell's duration ends (for vanish its just a round/caster level), the creature made invisible makes an attack or uses an effect that includes an enemy (unless its as the spell 'greater invisibility'), or the ...


1

Sorry it took so long, I had a hard time finding the rule I was looking for. From the DMG P24: Variant: Striking the cover instead of a missed target In ranged combat against a target that has cover, it may be important to know whether the cover was actually struck by an incoming attack that misses the intended target. First, determine if the ...


7

According to the rules for invisible creatures and the invisibility spell itself, objects the creature picks up while invisible would remain visible unless they were tucked into a pouch or pocket (where you wouldn't normally be able to see them even if the creature were visible), so the arrow should at least mark the creature's square for you (you'll still ...



Top 50 recent answers are included