Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

8

For Revenants, no, but you've got to work for it. Revenants start off both living and undead: Undead: You are considered an undead creature for the purpose of effects that relate to the undead keyword. You are also considered a living creature. This means that for a Revenant the Aura is neutralised at best, until you take the Death's Blessing feat ...


7

The best way to learn the meanings of RPG terminology is from the introduction to the specific gaming book you're reading at the time However, there are some useful glossaries on the web that cover industry-wide terms. Be advised that there are few standards and some games play fast and lose with established practice: ...


6

We gain our first clue from this post which notes: "If the damage types in a power change, the power both loses the keywords for any damage types that are removed and gains the keywords for any damage types that are added (the poison keyword is removed from a power only if that power neither deals poison damage nor has any nondamaging effects)." PHB ...


6

Here are some good resources I have used. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Role-playing_game_terms - Wikipedia RPG Game Terms http://rpgtalk.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Terms - RPG Talk wiki - Terms http://wiki.rpg.net/index.php/RPG_Lexica:Main_Page - RPG Lexica - Probably the best of the 3


5

Keywords are put on a power, based upon the damages and effects that can be caused by the power, and the general nature of the power. The damage types within the power define the keywords, not the other way around. Blazing Starfall does not on its own cause fire damage. However, a Sorcerer with the Cosmic Magic class feature can use the additional text ...


4

Blazing Starfall does not cause fire damage as part of it's Hit line. That damage is only radiant. The Cosmic Magic zone does the fire damage. The Rules Compendium clarifies how the two interact. from p110 - "A power's keywords summarize important aspects of the power." This tells us that the keywords do not define the power, they only serve as a ...


3

By the rules? No. So far, there haven't been many ways to consider something that you do being from another power source. Using the game systems flavor, a power source is how you do what you do. It's irrelevant what happens with the power, as I've seen martial and arcane powers both do the same thing, effectively. What you're trying to do is have a ...


3

In the Player's Handbook volume 3, it says that fear is an effect type: fear (keywordJ: An effect type . See also page 217 Therefore, I would argue that Fear can only apply when it comes into play as an effect, such as the power, or the crit, but not on normal damage; or some text in the power explicitly states it. This is different from fire, ...


3

The original comprehensive list was the venerable RPG Glossary that was hosted at the now-defunct Treasure Tables blog. Fortunately, it's been archived in the Wayback Machine: RPG Glossary Several other sites have roleplaying glossaries that might eventually usurp the RPG Glossary: Gnome Stew's Gnomenclature: A (Not So) Diminutive Glossary (note that ...


2

I've created Community Wikis here for both system-agnostic RPG terms and terms specific to Dungeons & Dragons. Hopefully these will grow soon, to help our users with this issue. Meanwhile, the websites referenced in the other answers here are also great resources.


2

Although you might like to imagine visually that a warrior battles using both of his weapons, rules-wise each attack uses either one weapon or the other. Most attacks will just get the benefit(and damage type) of the weapon in your primary hand. You can tell which attacks use the other weapon because the power you use will specify 'off-hand'. The same ...


2

You only apply the abilities of the weapon making the attack... In both the implement and weapon example that you gave you would only be able to apply the damage type from the weapon used in the attack The only exception to this is that weapons that have properties that are work simply when equipped or held would still apply to an attack made with another ...


1

The only other weapons that convert damage to psychic is the Mindiron Weapon (bow/crossbow only), and Sorrowsong Blade (Heavy Blade only). These come with an always on 1/2 damage psychic property. There are no implements that change the damage to psychic. The better choice would be to take a healthy slate of psychic keyword powers. Wizards usually have a ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible