Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

11

Range: Personal or targeted at yourself Cast normally Has a Target entry You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. When blind, your only solution is to touch the target. If you are the target, this is automatic. Otherwise, the Invisibility entry of the Glossary provides an option when the location of ...


11

No, Bursts DDI do not go through walls. Because: A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin square to the target. A line of effect DDI is A clear line from one point to another point in an encounter that doesn’t pass through or touch blocking terrain. Walls are the first example given for Blocking ...


10

You need Line of Effect to "effect" creatures. This is true for Aura's The aura fills the creature’s space and each square that is both within a specified distance of the creature and within line of effect of it. Blasts A blast affects a target only if the target is in the blast’s area and if there is line of effect from the origin square to the ...


8

No Area attacks are governed by their own rules: Origin Square: You choose a square within an area attack’s range as the attack’s origin square, which is where you center or start the area of effect. You need line of effect from a square in your space to the origin square. For a target to be affected by an area attack, there needs to be line of effect ...


8

From the compendium entry on the area keyword (used in Scorching Burst) You choose a square within an area attack’s range as the attack’s origin square, which is where you center or start the area of effect. You need line of effect from a square in your space to the origin square. For a target to be affected by an area attack, there needs ...


7

From my reading of the PHB, both require line of effect from their origin square, and neither require line of sight (p272): A blast affects a target only if the target is in the blast’s area and if there is line of effect from the origin square to the target. and A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin ...


5

Apart from RAW, I'd say it's much more climactic if effects such as you describe are discovered during combat, and not in the previous DM narration: "You shoot an eldritch blast against the kobolds on the other side of the room. The blast reaches half the distance, and suddenly stops against a glimmering wall" against "You can see a glimmering ...


4

Line of Sight is self-apparent: if the PCs can see the enemy, they have it. In most other cases, cover should also be obvious, e.g. the enemy is hiding behind a rock. As for your hypothetical invisible wall of force, I assume you have a specific encounter in mind. For a specific encounter, pretty much anything goes. A special, magical (duh) wall of force ...


4

In the diagram shown, a blast 3 power would not effect either of the targets there is nowhere to start a blast that would reach them. However, were the character to move up one square they would be able to use the top right corner as the start of the blast and actually effect both targets with no penalty. There are two reason for this. The blast would not ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible