Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

23

No. An arcane focus is made specifically to be an arcane focus. DMs can houserule this differently, but by default an item must be explicitly constructed to be an arcane focus (PHB, p. 151; emphasis mine): An arcane focus is a special item — an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item — ...


18

No magic items above +3 exist in 5th edition By design magic weapons and items can only add up to +3 at maximum within the system's bounded accuracy. I've searched through the whole of the DMG treasure section and even legendary weapons only have a +3. Wizards can use Arcane Focus items as an Arcane Focus They are defined as: Arcane Focus. An arcane ...


15

On page 200 of DMG under Spell Scroll it says: A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to provide any of the spell's components. Otherwise, the spell is unintelligible. If the spell is on your ...


15

It doesn't handle enhanced magical foci. In order: No, a normal dagger doesn't count as a spellcasting focus. (In theory a "dagger" specifically created to be a spellcasting focus could be made, but then it probably wouldn't function well as a dagger.) Spellcasting foci only remove the need to use material components. They don't enhance spellcasting. In ...


12

Only [...] the various prerequisites required of the new ability to be added to the magic item restrict the type of additional powers one can place. You are not creating a vorpal sword; the vorpal property is already on the sword. The relevant rule, quoted above, indicates that only the prerequisites of the new ability are relevant in this case. Thus ...


12

Officially the only events in 5e's storyline with the Thay have involved some necromantic debacles... Two sundering related adventures happened between 4e's official end of publication and the release of the PHB. Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle kicked off the Sundering event which is a reboot of the Forgotten Realms lore and The Red Wizards were the ...


8

Well, anything that can talk to someone can influence them. Just like any character, Hazirawn can influence its wielder by the simple expedient of giving them advice, or suggestions, or even just by chatting to them. This method relies solely on your creativity and powers of persuasion to roleplay Hazirawn well and manipulate your player into doing things. ...


7

It depends It could, in theory, be done. But there are two DM judgement hurdles built into the rules as written that you must clear before you can proceed. Is it the same task? The Eldritch Knight and the Cleric both have what it takes to cast the spell each on their own. The spell is on each of their spell lists, and that's all the spell scroll item ...


7

It definitely doesn’t get added to the wand Healing Hands applies to casting a spell; creating a wand is not casting a spell (though it does expend the spell slot, the spell isn’t cast when you do so, the slot just goes away for the day). It therefore does nothing to affect the wand directly; a cleric who uses a wand made by a healer definitely would not ...


7

The rules don't cover this explicitly; ask the DM Many magic items—including weapons—require the items to be possessed (as in acquired not, like, The Exorcist) by a creature to supply their bonus or activate their effects (cf. cloak of charisma, luck blade, orb of storms, pearl of power). Usually this is taken to mean attended by the item's owner—a term ...


6

Either a +44 or a +30, depending on the type of bonus. Magic Item Basics Grants an enhancement bonus on a skill check greater than +30. Has a market price above 200,000 gp, not including material costs for armor or weapons, material component- or experience point-based costs, or additional value for intelligent items. Creating Magic Items with ...


6

You need to be wielding a magic weapon or implement to gain the effects of its property. This is more explicitly explained in the Rules Compendium, on page 280: Unless otherwise noted, a magic item's property remains active for a creature only while it wears the item (in the case of a wearable item such as a suit of armour) or wields the item.


5

I concur with Joshua in that for an individual making magic items is more expensive in terms of time and resource than previous editions. That for organizations it definitely within their means to produce magic item. On page 129 we have this rule for crafting magic items. Multiple characters can combine their efforts to create a magic item if each of ...


5

Spreading out bonuses over time is better Strength is a key ability for most warriors so they are likely to want to increase it as they level up. If the sword you're making sets strength to a high value later on this could make their earlier resources put into strength feel meaningless. Obviously being strong without magic has its own advantages but if the ...


5

You can, but it may cost you What you’re doing is combining two separate magic items (unless you find a weapon property that explicitly grants fireball 1/day), since the guidelines are for a separate magic item. Combining a second magic item into a magic item costs what the second item costs, plus 50% the cost of the lower-value item. In your case, your ...


5

The Sleeves can be reused, just by removing them and re-donning them. However, they can't duplicate the effects of the swarm suit, only it's appearance, as the transformation is illusory, only changing the clothes' appearance and feel with glamor: Sleeves of Many Garments: Are the effects of sleeves of many garments illusion or transmutation? The ...


5

"Sentient magic items function as NPCs under the DM's control," says the DMG (214). They have their own personalities; they have Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. If they weren't trapped inside swords and boots, they'd be out living their lives and making decisions just like everybody else. The PHB (122) says celestials and fiends are locked into ...


3

No official rule lists a dagger as a spellcasting focus. The various spellcasting foci are listed in the "Adventuring Gear" table (PH p.150): Arcane focus: crystal, orb, rod, staff, wand Druidic focus: sprig of mistletoe, totem, wooden staff, yew wand Holy symbol: amulet, emblem, reliquery In addition, a Bard can use a musical instrument as a focus. ...


3

This is probably not definitively answerable The numbers that you quote are all correct, and you haven't overlooked anything. There is no overarching design principle at work for precisely how the designers came up with that number. We can make guesses, but I would be very surprised if the justification for that price was ever made public. My best guess ...


3

You seem to have two related but separate questions, so I'll tackle them somewhat independently. Can I add Vanishing to an already-magic weapon; if so, what is the cost and what are the later options available? Yes, you can add new abilities to a magic item. The cost to do so is the cost of the "new" item minus the cost of the "old" item. So, adding the ...


2

Since your question specifically asks what I would do as GM, not for a rules-as-written quote: Ask your player to determine how many square feet their own cloak is. They can describe it to you as they do, to give the entire table a solid visual of the style and shape of the cloak - they're spending the money to give their character a cosmetic effect, after ...


2

Items aren't going to make a huge difference in your offensive capabilities. Boosting Astral Constructs through items isn't very easy. There is the Amulet of Advanced Construction, which can grant additional options to your Constructs, but it overlaps somewhat with the Constructor abilities. Aside from that, the best I can think of is a Torc of Power ...


2

NOT according to SRD/DMG SRD/DMG explicitly states (in tables) that these 2 properties are "Melee Weapon Special Abilities". There is another table right below it that has a list of "Ranged Weapon Special Abilities". That said, one of D&Ds greatest attributes is that there are tons of Splat books & magazines available, any of which could possibly ...


2

While it's not RAW, I would argue that Abe cannot use a domain ceremony unless he emulates one with a Use Magic Device check. If Abe chooses to emulate a domain, he can pick any domain he meets the requirements for (or can emulate the requirements for), but must continue to emulate the domain throughout the entire casting of the ceremony spell. From the text ...


2

Because the feat explicitly says that no two tattoos may be put in the same slot, and because Altering Existing Magic Items explicitly mentions changing slots in its list of RAW-impossible alterations that may not be good even to houserule, yes, you must leave the slots the same, and you probably shouldn't try to change this either. The double cost of ...


2

The feat Inscribe Magic Tattoo allows creation of magic tattoos; the feat isn't a wholesale replacement for other item creation feats When designing custom magic items, first compare what you want to create with extant magic items. In addition to those tattoos listed in the callout box alongside the feat, tattoos that require the feat Inscribe Magic Tattoo ...


1

The 5e Magic Item System on Pages 128 to 129 of the DMG is pretty coarse grained. You figure out the rarity of the item you want to create and that tells you the cost and time. There is no RAW way of modifying a Magic Item. However there is a cost for legendary items of 500,000 gp. Your referee would have to decide what percentage of the item's cost is ...


1

Disclaimer: I am answering with a very general response, due to the unspecified nature of the question. Your question is a bit difficult to answer without context or specific curse description, but the general answer is "every attack." Curses (usually) inflict a negative magical state on the wielder, not on the item itself. If a weapon only affected its own ...


1

No. Confusion is probably arisen from: The act of working on the wand triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting during each day devoted to the wand’s creation. (That is, that spell slot is expended from her currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.) It wouldn't apply since you are expending it into the wand itself ...


1

Unless a magic weapon special ability says so, a weapon special ability isn't bestowed upon a weapon's ammunition Magic items—like feats, spells, and other effects—do only what they say they do unless the DM says otherwise. Thus if a weapon special ability does not say that the weapon special ability is bestowed upon its ammunition, the weapon with that ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible