Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

No*. Considering concentration, and limiting casters to one concentration spell at a time is considered a core balancing mechanic by 5e's designers. I don't believe they've published anything that allows for the casting of two concentration spells at a time. If concentration is interrupted, the spell dissipates and cannot be resumed. At this time there ...


17

Yes, it can be done! But you need assistance. Use the spell Glyph of Warding: Glyph of Warding You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or area. ... When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it ...


12

This is one of the most annoying and awkward pieces of 3.x rules You don’t get enhancement bonuses to AC, you get enhancement bonuses to armor bonuses So, armors grant an armor bonus to AC. Seems simple enough. Then we have enhancement bonuses. You could, in theory, have an enhancement bonus to AC; if you did, it would stack with an armor bonus, since ...


8

In addition to the Glyph of Warding as briddums mentioned: With a sorcerer, you can use metamagic to do a Twinned Spell for a single target concentration spell (like Witch Bolt). It's still technically only a single spell that you're concentrating on (which may mean you don't consider this an answer that quite meets your question), but with two targets ...


7

Merls have answered this, you add the bonus once per target. So if you target all missiles at the same creature you add the bonus just once, if you target them at different creatures you get the bonus on each target hit. https://twitter.com/mikemearls/status/487995399899074560


5

The easiest way to do this is with Feats The spelltouched feat Omniscient Whispers (Unearthed Arcana 94) grants the creature the extraordinary ability to use 1/week an effect like the spell commune [div] (Player's Handbook 211) for 1 question that leaves the creature exhausted. Note: A generous DM may permit a character with an appropriately ridiculous ...


5

There is no longer such a thing as a 'touch attack'. From the linked question: Touch only indicates the range, the target has to be within your natural reach (5' for a medium or small character). If the spell says it requires an attack, that is a spell attack, not a 'touch' attack. Spell attacks are d20 + proficiency bonus + spell attack modifier, resolved ...


4

The way the bard is written, and what we know about spells in 5e. The answer to this question is either maybe, or probably not. Reading the Bard's intro/flavor text, it's clear that they are using normal music as an instrument of their power. It's their own innate ability that truly gives the music it's punch. We also know that spell casting is not ...


4

The spontaneous divination variant of the wizard from Complete Champion is the closest I can imagine for this. It allows you to swap a spell for any divination of the same (or lower) level, similar to how a cleric can swap a spell for a cure or inflict spell or a druid can swap a spell for a summon nature’s ally spell. This replaces your 5th-level bonus ...


4

Number 1 is the correct one. You only get the damage once (And in fact on a spell like, say magic missile, which it's targeting the same creature multiple times, you still only get it once. This is not exactly addressed directly in the rules, though Mike Mearls has tweeted about it several times). That said, which damage type it falls under is not ...


3

It's not "magic sight", it's a detect magic spell with infinite duration. You still have to follow the rules of the spell before you can see magic auras. In case (a) constant-duration detect magic only reveals magic auras after you study an area for at least a round, so it doesn't let you automatically notice someone sneaking up while carrying a magic item. ...


2

In your first scenario, the first circumstance is correct. In your second, the second is correct. The difference here (as supported by Mr. Mearls' tweet linked in Johan's answer) is in how "damage roll" is implicitly defined. In the first scenario, targeting 3 targets, there are 3 separate damage rolls (if you cast magic missile at higher levels against ...


1

I'm not a Forsaken expert, but from what I can tell you're limited to the use of Fetishes: The Spirit Wings Fetish (one dot, WtF Core) lets you fall slowly or float horizontally. The Shadow Wings Fetish (three dots, WtF Core) lets you fly for hours, but only in the Shadow. The Condor Idol Fetish (two dots, Lodges: The Splintered) lets you fly in the Shadow ...


1

No, they cannot. Bardic Inspiration is just that - inspiration. There is no mention in the text of it being magical or arcane. You simply are much better at inspiring others than a layman. Specifically, the text on PHB, Page 53, Bardic Inspiration reads You can inspire others through stirring words or music. In your example, I think it is fair to ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible