Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

6

Rules for casting in armour can be found on page 201 of the PHB and are as follows: Casting in Armour Because of the mental focus and precise gestures required for spellcasting, you must be proficient with the armour you are wearing to cast a spell. You are otherwise too distracted and physically hampered by your armour for spellcasting. Both ...


3

Yes. If you'll review the text of the Elemental Focus feat and the Elemental Spell feat you'll note that Elemental Focus applies to any spell that deals even 1 point of damage of the chosen type.


2

This is explained on page 203 of the PHB under the Components section: Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. Material (M) A spellcaster must have a hand free to ...


2

If you're referring to the Moderately Armored feat, which is the only feat to grant proficiency in shields, then yes, you can carry a shield and cast with your other free hand. But note that the Moderately Armored feat requires proficiency in light armor first, which wizards also do not have. If you don't have proficiency with the armor or shield you're ...


2

Page 201 of the PHB says that you must be proficient in the armor that you are wearing in order to cast the spell. That being said, there is no Medium Armor feat that you can take to upgrade from light armor. There is a Heavy armor feat, but it requires medium armor proficiency.


1

The only way, RAW, to get a feat at first level, is to be a Variant Human. If your DM is open to houserules, however, they could simply give all characters a feat if they choose.


1

The key line here is: " If you want to do a shield spell as a defense instead of a block, you’re more than welcome to, but remember that you have to pay all the associated costs for the spell and make a Discipline roll just like with any other spell." This is not a block, it's a defense roll. That means that the spell does not last beyond the attack. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible