Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

18

Here's what detect magic itself says: Outsiders and elementals are not magical in themselves, but if they are summoned, the conjuration spell registers. So as long as the summoning spell lasts, the elemental (or the pool in which it hides) will appear to have conjuration magic in it. If the elemental had originated here, or walked through the portal, ...


8

Your confusion seems to originate in how you create characters that are above level 1 when starting. The players' handbook doesn't have a way to create characters that start above level 1, other than creating a level 1 character, and then leveling him up to the appropriate level. Let's take the level 3 bard as an example. When you create your level 3 ...


7

Jeremy Crawford has tweeted on this and according to him it is added to each bolt no matter how many targets. This is because you don't roll damage for each missile separately but only once for all the missiles and the sum total of that roll is then applied to each missile (as also explained on page 196 of the PHB). So regardless of what spell level you ...


4

An elemental on its own would not show any aura. A summoned elemental would show the residue of its summoning, as a Conjuration aura, but if you went to the appropriate elemental plane (or otherwise encountered an elemental that had not been summoned), it has no aura because it is not a magical effect and it has no magical effects on it (or, if it does have ...


3

When making a new charachter that starts at a higher level, you must create the character as if they started at level one and slowly leveled up along the way. So for your bard example, they must have at least 3 level 1 spells. Most classes do allow you to switch spells as you raise in level and you can change a level 1 spell into a level 2 spell, but be ...


1

Yes, but with a limit The PHB says: The spells known column of the Bard table shows when you learn more bard spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. and: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the bard spells you know and replace it with another spell from ...


1

Rules Compendium updated the antimagic rules; incorporeal creatures disappear in AMF. (RC, p.11) Additionally, the original RAW does indeed only mention incorporeal versus corporeal undead, but the difference is the incorporeality. That difference could show rules intent that it's the incorporeal nature of the creature that causes its disappearance. In the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible