Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

50

So, this question has both a specific example, and a general question. I address both the specific case (the first two headings) and the general case (the rest of the answer). Unfortunately, the answer to the general case is there is no answer that applies generally. There is no one-size-fits-all, this-is-what-a-GM-should-always-do-for-every-situation answer ...


28

When I DM and a player does something like this, I celebrate it. Creative application of character skills is awesome to watch, and if it's something I haven't thought of, it means it's another tool for the more intelligent NPCs to use later (or for ones who've heard about the PCs using it). Characters who fight by dropping whales on things are probably ...


26

While the rules seem fairly clear that this should not be possible, consider slightly changing the order of execution to simulate the requested effect without messing up the game: "Sure, you can try to summon the sword inside him. If you make the attack roll we'll say the weapon materializes already buried in his body and if you don't beat the attack roll, ...


24

No*. Considering concentration, and limiting casters to one concentration spell at a time is considered a core balancing mechanic by 5e's designers. I don't believe they've published anything that allows for the casting of two concentration spells at a time. If concentration is interrupted, the spell dissipates and cannot be resumed. At this time there ...


24

The Rules-side The spell description says that the caster can make a melee attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon. This would indicate that the weapon has not YET hit the target until the roll is successfully made - which, if you could simply manifest it within someone's chest or head or neck, would be a successful hit without a roll. The ...


22

There is currently no equivalent spell in 5e. The Stone Shape spell allows you to, well, shape stone, but only a 5-foot cube at a time. (So I suppose this is an option, just a very slow one.) The Disintegrate spell can disintegrate stone, but only a 10-foot cube at a time. The Move Earth spell allows you to alter terrain in up to 40-foot cubes, but only ...


21

First of all let me just say that there's no right or wrong in here, neither a "good-GM-should-do-this-or-that" kind of answer. It is pretty much group and situation specific. What I can do, though, is to give a few examples of ways to "cope" with this situation or a similar one that I've seen in the past. The 10,000 staffs I participated in a game once, a ...


20

Yes, it can be done! But you need assistance. Use the spell Glyph of Warding: Glyph of Warding You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or area. ... When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it ...


19

Yes, by making a caster level check and meeting some requirements The relevant rules are all in the Magic Items - Scrolls section of the DMG. Here's a copy from the SRD. There are two steps: Decipher the Writing The writing on a scroll must be deciphered before a character can use it or know exactly what spell it contains. This requires a read ...


19

Yes, you can summon a Spiritual Weapon inside an enemy's body. It doesn't have a target, so the usual rules about having a clear path don't apply here. You summon the weapon anywhere within 60 feet of yourself. However, summoning a Spiritual Weapon inside someone won't affect them in any way. Spiritual Weapon does damage when you make a melee spell attack ...


16

This is one of the most annoying and awkward pieces of 3.x rules You don’t get enhancement bonuses to AC, you get enhancement bonuses to armor bonuses So, armors grant an armor bonus to AC. Seems simple enough. Then we have enhancement bonuses. You could, in theory, have an enhancement bonus to AC; if you did, it would stack with an armor bonus, since ...


16

Sorcery points are not restricted in which spells they can affect. Considering that in addition, Spell Slots are universal, it doesn't appear to be game-breaking since multi-classing also limits the ability to get more sorcery points.


15

Middle Earth is a setting where magic is diminishing. The mighty feats of the past ages are no longer possible in the current age. So, when you look at TA3019 (the year of the War of the Ring) magic is mostly gone. However, we know that magic was much more prevalent beforehand. In the first it was ever present. In the second age, it was less powerful but ...


15

Yes. From the 3.5 d20srd: Divine spellcasters prepare their spells in largely the same manner as wizards do, but with a few differences. […] Spell Selection and Preparation A divine spellcaster selects and prepares spells ahead of time through prayer and meditation at a particular time of day. The time required to prepare spells is the same as ...


14

Only with a Lot of Planning The description of the vampire reads, "Each round of immersion in running water inflicts damage on a vampire equal to one-third of its maximum hit points—a vampire reduced to 0 hit points in this manner is destroyed." Emphasis mine. I'll admit 12 gallons per person per round is a lot, but immersing--that is, submerging or ...


14

For the duration, you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. If you sense magic in this way, you can use your action to see a faint aura around any visible creature or object in the area that bears magic, and you learn its school of magic, if any. Detect Magic detects the presence of magical objects, magical creatures, and anything ...


14

4th-level and higher spells are beyond the reach of mortal spellcasters Stuff like angels, demons, and dragons might be able to manage such feats of magical prowess, but your humans, dwarves, and elves cannot. Eliminating 4th-level and higher spells from the game is actually the point of E6 – while all spell levels tend to have fantastically efficient ...


13

Transforming yourself is entirely possible and there are no especial restrictions on it compared to performing it on someone else, and yes, it makes sense (both fictionally and mechanically) for it to be slightly easier—though it's not nearly as much easier as you might hope. It's actually remarkably straightforward to work up a generic template for these ...


13

There is no way by the rules to make a spell cast longer than normal. None of the rules in the PHB mention extending casting time like that, and I'm unaware of any other source that does either. The one exception is that spontaneous casters casting spells affected by metamagic feats turn a standard action spell into a full-round action spell. However, ...


13

No, it can't. Animate dead and similar spells typically have a duration of instantaneous. This means the magic is only present at their creation (and for more powerful spells/spellcasters, an aura may linger for a time). After that, the negative energy has already infused the creature and made it undead - this is a "natural" (stretching the term quite a ...


13

Keep it low-level and keep magic uncommon My experience from running Rolemaster in a MERP game (two campaigns) is that the feel of the world can be maintained if the magic is kept to a minimum and consider some of the abilities (especially the semispellcasters) as 'exceptional' abilities rather than magical abilities. Yes Rolemaster and MERP have a lot of ...


13

The standard monsters that I could find in the Monster Manual with the ability to cast dispel magic are: Death Knight (pg. 47) Glabrezu (pg. 58) Drider with the spellcasting variant (pg. 120) Drow Priestess (pg. 129) Lich (pg. 202) Mummy Lord (pg. 229) Pixie (pg. 253) Androsphinx (pg. 281) Gynosphinx (pg. 282) Mezzoloth (pg. 313) Nycaloth (pg. 314) ...


12

In D&D 3.5, it's just a spell. The spell has a really cool name, but it's just a spell. It isn't referencing a concept that exists outside the spell description the way, say, touch of Juiblex (Book of Vile Darkness) and slime wave (Spell Compendium) reference Green Slime or the black sand spell (Sandstorm) references the Black Sand environmental hazard ...


12

There's no way to tell what kind of magic a spellcaster has, or even if someone is a spellcaster. But! Crafting a setting isn't just throwing some cultures in a pot, it also involves creating the tools of the world. Magic is a tool, so creating a setting also covers creating new spells or forms of magic that the setting demands. In such a setting as you ...


12

The only component of Command is a verbal component. From the spellcasting rules on verbal components: Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. From the Command spell: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. So the question is whether the spell requires verbal spellcasting in addition to the one-word command. ...


11

Possibly, but most of the time it won't cause an additional effect Even if you inferred or house ruled that the rules for touching willing creatures for the purposes of spell targeting also applied to touching inanimate objects, none of them would be affected unless the spell already allowed multiple target objects. The key limitation is the spell targeting ...


11

In addition to the Glyph of Warding as briddums mentioned: With a sorcerer, you can use metamagic to do a Twinned Spell for a single target concentration spell (like Witch Bolt). It's still technically only a single spell that you're concentrating on (which may mean you don't consider this an answer that quite meets your question), but with two targets ...


11

While there's nothing that specifically calls out the Summoner's Eidolon ritual, I'm going to use the rules for casting time: A spell that takes 1 minute to cast comes into effect just before your turn 1 minute later (and for each of those 10 rounds, you are casting a spell as a full-round action, just as noted above for 1-round casting times). These ...


11

The rules you've quoted on combining magical effects are unambiguous - these two effects stack, since they're not from the same source. As for how they stack, the answer is your fourth choice. While in previous editions the rule was that multipliers stacked additively, not multiplicatively, 5e has no such rule. Likewise, 5e has no concept of "base value". ...


10

The answer is the level of the spell slot you use to cast the spell. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 78: Casting a Spell at a Higher Level When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible