Hot answers tagged

47

First of all: Welcome to DMing! It can be super fun and rewarding, and I hope you enjoy it. One of the things that most DMs learn when they're playing a game that works like 5e is that you don't always have to follow the rules. If it would improve your game, you can totally rewrite or ignore parts of the rules. This is usually referred to as Rule 0, and ...


29

Once it has come into effect, an antimagic field can't be dispelled using dispel magic, per its own rules. Those rules don't apply to counterspelling though, as counterspells aren't targetting an existing field, they're preventing the spell from ever coming into effect. So, when used as a counterspell, dispel magic can counter antimagic field. The field ...


27

No, not according to the Rules as Written. As noted in the Player's Basic Rules: Cantrips—simple but powerful spells that characters can cast almost by rote—are level 0. The idea behind a cantrip is that it is so simple that you can cast it essentially without thinking about it. In this sense, casting a cantrip is like walking: you don't really think ...


27

No. A spell ends when you lose concentration: Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. Phb 203, emphasis mine. So if you lose concentration the spell ends, no conditional time given. And we can also see what breaks concentration on the same page: You ...


23

Spells that require concentration end when you die. Aside from that, a spell has to specify that it ends when you die for this to be the case. First up, we have the base duration rules: A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their ...


21

NO Page 203 of PHB Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren’t the source of the spell’s power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. Thus, a character who is gagged or in an area of silence, such as one created by the silence spell, can’t ...


18

No Critical successes and failures only apply when the rules say they do. Notably, you cannot crit on a skill check, caster level check, dispel check, or initiative roll, among other cases. This is part of the level-based bounded accuracy of 3.x D&D, ensuring that characters cannot achieve results above their capabilities early merely by means of ...


18

"Magical Effects" and "multiverse" are keywords / themes to resolve this. Short Answer: Ki is magic and subject to Antimagic Field's effects by RAW and RAI. Discussion In the boxed section covering the Weave (PHB p. 205) Ki is left out. Since that PHB chapter is about "spells and spell casting" that makes organizational sense. There is a clue in the ...


18

Although this has an answer for the Forgotten Realms, the “normal setting” in the PHB is not the Forgotten Realms and there is no canonical answer for just D&D 5e by itself. The DMG goes into more detail about setting, but the basic concept is that the “default” setting of D&D 5e is mostly unwritten so that the DM can build it up from various pieces ...


18

This is a hack in the crafting rules, not in the fabricate spell. That said, in the absence of a hard rule I could not find, there are two contradictory implications at various points in the rules: 1) It is at least strongly implied that 3.5e coins are pure metal. The PHB, on p. 112, notes that a gold piece weighs about 1/50 lbs, and also that 1 lb of ...


17

Yes, Ant Haul increases the amount that a character can drag. Under the Lifting and Dragging section of Carrying Capacity: A character can lift as much as his maximum load over his head. ... A character can lift as much as double his maximum load off the ground, but he or she can only stagger around with it. ... A character can generally push ...


17

In later D&D editions, the term eldritch is associated with the warlock class, whose signature class feature is eldritch blast. The warlock was introduced in 3.5e’s Complete Arcane, and was a core class in both 4e and 5e. All three of these warlocks tended to revolve around the use of eldritch blast, and as a result, feats and items specifically tailored ...


16

Yes. The sorcerer's Flexible Casting class feature allows the sorcerer to expend 6 points to create a level 4 spell slot and the sorcerer can use that slot to cast a lower-level spell that he knows. There is no restriction on creating or using spell slots of a higher level -- the only restriction is that you don't get those slots back on a long rest. On ...


14

It means what it says: Once you gain a domain spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can prepare each day. You always have it prepared. It doesn't count against spells you prepare. It says nothing about not using slots to cast, so it does. A cleric can prepare a given number of spells plus their ...


14

Sorry, no, you can't re-use them. A prepared spell in Vancian systems like D&D's is a one-and-done deal: it's impossible* to retain the full form of it after casting it once, and it's similarly impossible** to keep the full forms in memory in any way. The closest you can get is to avoid casting at least one copy of each spell until you can write it down ...


14

(Taking a bit of a stab here, but let's see if I can clear things up a bit.) The best definition of "Magic" i could find in a PF source is from the PathfinderWiki: Magic is a naturally-occurring force used by many of Golarion's inhabitants. It is practiced in many different forms, with different ends and abilities, but it is almost always characterized ...


14

The Fabricate spell can't produce anything that a craft skill can't. Pay one-third of the item’s price for the cost of raw materials. (from craft skill description here) So, (if it is possible to use these rules for ingots) the raw materials used to produce 50gp gold ingot cost 17gp. As gold costs 1gp per 10g the weight of the ingot will probably be ...


14

Yes. When a monster has resistance to "mundane weapons", the statblock will usually specify "Resistance to non-magical bludgeoning, piercing and slashing." This means that the monster has resistance to any non-magical sources of those damage types, such as slashing from a sword or bludgeoning from a club. Spells such as magic missile and witch bolt are ...


13

No, it would not. The first part of the description clearly says "so that divination spells reveal false information about it." This then applies to both of the more specific uses (false aura and mask). Of course, a symbol spell is not a divination, but as you point out it still fits the "passive detection" pattern. This is indeed a RAW loophole that ...


13

Yes, sort of, but not how you want. Wizards get a feature at 18th level that lets them cast one first level and one second level spell at will. This doesn't actually make them cantrips, however. It also has nothing to do with how many times they have been cast. Allowing what you want would be ridiculously unbalanced. A 5th level wizard could just take a ...


12

I can't find a general rule, but most things that do force damage are visible based on flavor text. Most magic in general have descriptions of a visual appearance. Tenser's Disk is probably visible: In 4e art from the books, the disk is visible. How can you set things on it, if you don't know where it is. 5e even made Mage Hand visible -- even though the ...


12

There is a mirror listed in the DMG under Goods and Services; it has no listed mechanics, which is already a bad sign. Additionally, Dungeonscape does not consider a mirror to be useful dungeon-delving gear, since it fails to mention it. Rays and spells in general: No Line of sight does not say anything about mirrors. To determine line of sight, pick ...


12

Your understanding is correct The Magic Initiate feat, as you've correctly noted, lets you learn two Cantrips, and Cantrips scale with your character level, not your caster level. This means that your Initiate-Rogue can get the full, scaling power of their Cantrips for the rest of their life! You are also correct on how to calculate your spell attack bonus, ...


12

Maybe... As Artur Biesiadowski mentioned in a comment, it is questionable whether an elemental could be considered an object or surface for the Meld Into Stone spell to work. Elementals are usually referred to as creatures, but some are not considered very much different from the element they're made of. Consider this section from the Monster Manual (page 7,...


11

To address the problem of (unintentional) metagaming when you ask your players to roll perception. Before play starts, ask what their perception score is. Roll for them, perhaps before the game even starts if it is a predictable event like them visiting the main city. To protect from detect magic, you could have something obvious there for them to detect - ...


11

Okay, first off, do not have them roll perception to see through the illusion unless your players are actively trying to see through it. Players have a passive perception score, which was designed specifically for this purpose. Secondly, there is no way you can hide uses of Detect Magic without hand-waving it once your players question it. However, ...


11

No. Grim Harvest ...you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. (PHB p.118 , emphasis mine) In the case of Animate Dead, the spell that you cast "imbues your target with a foul mimicry of life," and then that target may go on to kill something. Likewise with Conjure Elemental with the spell "you call forth an ...


11

First and foremost: There are no rules that allow the researching of spells. The only way a wizard can expand their repertoire is via the 2 spells gained at each level or by finding spells (PHB p.114). This leads to the simple RAW answer: No However, you can always fall back on How to Play (PHB p.6) The DM describes the environment "Wizards do not get ...


11

The number of spells you can prepare is the number of spells you can cast per day. You can only prepare spells for which you have slots available. You may gain bonus spells per day based on your wisdom modifier. You are correct that this is severely limiting, at least early on. Keep in mind that you do not need to fill all your slots in the morning when ...


11

The disconnect here is that you're thinking that the Hide action can hide your position, where “position” is in the modern tactical combat sense and means your general location. It can't. Hide only hides your person. So this is how your best-case example runs down: Cast Scorching Ray at distance Take hide action Become hidden enemies know exactly where ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible