Tag Info

New answers tagged

-2

They gain cover against attacks from outside the aqueous orb but are considered entangled by its churning currents, takes 2d6 points of nonlethal damage at the beginning of their turn each round they remain trapped. Creatures within the orb may attempt a new Reflex save each round to escape into a random square adjacent to the aqueous orb. The orb may ...


3

An aqueous orb can move into black tentacles fine, as it can move over obstacles less than 10' high. A creature caught in the orb would also be subject to the tentacles (or any other area effect they move into). You can't choose to expel someone from the orb, but I would tend to rule that if both the orb and tentacles both grab someone the tentacles would ...


6

Nystul's Magic Aura only affects spells and magic effects that detect creature types or alignments. Therefore, spells such as Dominate Person or effects such as Turn Undead are unaffected by Magic Aura. In 5th edition, specific always beats general, even if the specific exception exists in the same spell as the general wording. In the description for ...


3

This is an odd case of specific beats general within the same spell itself, along with a varied interpretation of the word other. The first part specifically states: You change the way the target appears to spells and magical effects that detect creature types, such as a paladin's Divine Sense or the trigger of a symbol spell. The more general part: ...


14

No, it would not. The first part of the description clearly says "so that divination spells reveal false information about it." This then applies to both of the more specific uses (false aura and mask). Of course, a symbol spell is not a divination, but as you point out it still fits the "passive detection" pattern. This is indeed a RAW loophole that ...


7

Existing answers resolve the core question regarding the mechanics of creating an animated puppet. However, a bit of GM-magic could handle it also. Hand-Wave or Invent the Arcane Details You could scour every Pathfinder book ever to find the perfect match, but why? You don't need to justify magical puppets or a villain's powers using the game's ...


2

The simplest approach would be to make the puppeteer a summoner unchained with an inevitable eidolon. While the eidolon is technically an outsider, the inevitable subtype makes it “construct-like.” You could also pretty easily use the summoner’s summon monster ability refluffed as puppets. This is an easy solution, but the summons are not actually constructs ...


8

Was someone watching the same doll-serial-killer episode of Miami Vice that I was this weekend? The traditional Pathfinder creepy-doll is the Soulbound Doll originally from the Curse of the Crimson Throne Adventure Path (Edge of Anarchy) but now in the Bestiary 2, which can be created for 4300 gp and is CR2. Or its CR7 buddy the Soulbound Mannequin. ...


7

Strictly speaking, yes, but it involves intense shenanigans. First, the Magical Training feat from Player’s Guide to Faerûn gets you in the door with three cantrips from the Sor/Wiz list, cast as sorcerer or wizard would (your choice). You count as a spellcaster with caster level 1st (minimum). You must be an elf or human, and must be from a specific ...


2

Yes, because the system makes no distinction between jumping and any other form of movement in combat. See page 190 in the Combat section of the Player's Handbook. On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn, following the rules here. Your movement can include jumping, ...


-1

Contingency cannot disrupt a dispel magic spell. Contingency occurs after the condition is met - "In all cases, the contingency immediately brings into effect the companion spell, the latter being “cast” instantaneously when the prescribed circumstances occur. The benefit of the contingency spell is that as soon as the condition is met the contingency is ...


1

Since Thunderwave includes somatic components, I would be careful about that. Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. If you go with the rule that the cast must ...


9

Contingency can almost-certainly interrupt dispel magic. The description of the casting includes words like “immediately” and “‘cast’ instantaneously” – and while 3.5’s rules are notoriously vague on the subject of timing, many so-called Immediate Actions must interrupt things in order to be meaningful. Attacks of opportunity also explicitly occur prior to ...


1

I believe there are no specific rules that mention moving at the same time you do something, normally it considered in move/act/move again basis. With that said, I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with your logic, so it shouldn't be a stretch to be able to cast a spell on the apex of your jump. Now, I am a little lost in the sense that the ...


1

This is the closest I could find: Eldritch Knight: War Magic Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action. There's also an Improved War Magic version at level 18. You state in your comments: ... I was hoping I could incorporate my weapon's reach.. For which you should note the ...


12

It means what it says: Once you gain a domain spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can prepare each day. You always have it prepared. It doesn't count against spells you prepare. It says nothing about not using slots to cast, so it does. A cleric can prepare a given number of spells plus their ...


1

You get: 1 move, 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction (but not on your turn). That's it, that's all, there ain't no more! (Exc: the fighter's action surge) Attacking always requires the Attack action. Two weapon fighting uses the bonus action but requires the Attack action to be used first. Most spells need the Cast Spell action; there are some ...


0

It depends upon the caster's class and the spell. In general, if the casting time is "Action", you use your action. If the casting time is "Bonus Action", you use a bonus action to cast it. If the casting time is "reaction", you can use your reaction to cast it if the triggering condition is met. (EG: Shield - you need to be being attacked to cast it.) Any ...


8

...does casting spells require any kind of test before they can be successfully cast? No: you always cast the spell as long as you have an appropriate slot to spend (if the spell is a leveled spell), take the required time, and provide the necessary components. To what I think is your intent: does casting the spell require any kind of test before I see ...


5

The rules don't say that any check is required to make a spell work, which is how we know that spells happen automatically: casting requires no rolls to be successful in general. However, many spells (like cause fear) do require rolls against your spell save DC at the other end, to see if particular targeted creatures are affected by the spell as it ...



Top 50 recent answers are included