Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

14

If you cast the spell while in melee combat you will have to cast defensibly, or take an attack of opportunity. One work around for this is casting the spell, then moving and touching the opponent when you get in range. OR 5 foot step and cast it safely. Remember casting a touch spell keeps it in charge until you discharge it manually or touch a valid ...


9

One way of making use of this ability is to be equipped with a gauntlet, or to have a natural attack of some sort - this way you always count as armed, and always threaten, and could then make AoOs when not holding any other weapon. However, yes, the second part of the ability appears to be poorly worded. As a GM, I would likely go with the intent, and ...


9

Yes, free actions may be made during other actions Free Action Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. (emphasis mine) That includes during Spell Combat, so yes, you may receive this minor benefit on your Magus.


8

Everything I've read seems to suggest this, then I saw this FAQ from Paizo: Can a magus use spellstrike (Ultimate Magic, page 10) to cast a touch spell, move, and make a melee attack with a weapon to deliver the touch spell, all in the same round? Yes. Other than deploying the spell with a melee weapon attack instead of a melee touch attack, the ...


7

Touch attacks are independent of what weapon you're using. It only affects the target's AC for the purpose of the attack. It's otherwise like a normal attack, so you get your attack bonuses. These attacks bypass solid objects, such as armor and shields, by passing through them.


7

You retain the casting mechanics of both classes separately. If you were a multiclassed* 4th-level character, for example, a Magus 2/Sorcerer 2, you would have all the class abilities of the level you reached in each class, for instance a 2nd-level Magus and a 2nd-level Sorcerer. Their spell lists do not mix; you will have to prepare your Magus spells as ...


6

To "deliver the spell through a ranged weapon attack", you have to actually make a ranged weapon attack. Making a ranged weapon attack expends ammunition appropriate to the weapon in use. You also get any other effects of the weapon attack, most notably the weapon's basic damage. The spell's effect is an add-on to that weapon attack, not a replacement.


6

No, he can try again with his weapon melee attack. Per spellstrike, At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free ...


5

Your GM is correct. Spellstrike doesn't give you a free cast, what it allows you to do is turn your melee touch attack from casting a spell into a normal attack, allowing you to deal your weapon damage in addition to the spell. At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through ...


5

Ambiguous. You'd at least be able to copy it over pretty easily (though that'd cost a bit of gold), thus having it in both formats. You could also prepare it via the borrowed-spellbook rules, and deciphering the writing would be automatic since you're the author, so you'd be able to do it with a spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level, one check per ...


5

After reading this question here about maneuvers within attacks of opportunity and its chosen answer, as well as this rule from the prd: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or ...


5

The pathfinder rules aren't perfectly clear on this. but there are two abilities we have to look at to make this clear. Spell Combat (Ex) At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must ...


5

An alternate interpretation perhaps, I have been told multiple times that while free actions can interrupt full-round actions, since the requirement for spell combat is having a free hand (not specifically for the casting but for the entire action ), changing your grip on the sword will immediately cause spell combat to end because you are no longer meeting ...


5

No. You have to explicitly cast the spell into a spell storing weapon in order to store the spell. (much like what happens if you cast a spell while still holding one as a caster) Simply holding the weapon while you cast a spell does not automatically fill an empty spell storing weapon, not even for normal casters. You can choose not to activate the ...


4

You probably need to read the action type and concentration rules. Most of this isn't "magus rules" it's "general Pathfinder combat rules." You get one full action, or one move and one standard action, a round, plus a free action. You can 5' step at any point before/after/during any action if you didn't move otherwise with your move action. One attack is a ...


4

Yes, cast then move then spellstrike is legal, just like a normal wizard casting a touch spell, moving, and then using a free action to deliver it is legal. In fact, this exact scenario is addressed in the FAQ/Errata sidebar on the Magus page on d20pfsrd and is derived from a Paizo blog FAQ posting on the subject. And sure, just like any other situation, if ...


4

According to the rules as written in the Spellstrike description ... Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. ... I would say you can't try another Spellstrike attack with the same held charge. ...


4

I don't think so Though you can substitute a maneuver for a melee attack, it's not a melee attack and may notably lack many features thereof (such as, say, weapon damage). But... You might have some ways to combine this anyway. The Felling Smash feat, for example, which causes your Trip to trigger after you Power Attack. If you have an option that lets ...


4

This has been discussed on the Paizo fora. What I read from it is that, while the spellbook could be unique, the spells are still recorded separately. So if you know a certain spell as a Wizard spell but not its Magus variant, you shouldn't be able to prepare it as such. There doesn't seem to be consensus on the question, though, and no official answer has ...


4

It sounds like the foe is always going to succeed on all his saving throws. That means developing another method of Getting a Target to Fail a Willpower Saving Throw The ioun stone (flawed mulberry pentacle) (8,700 gp; 0 lbs.) causes its possessor to take a -2 penalty to Willpower saving throws. According to the glossary penalties are numerical values ...


4

TL;DR: Yes. That is exactly how it works. Spellstrike doesn't make any mention of caring what type of action the spell originally took to cast. It simply allows you, whenever you cast a touch spell, to make a free weapon attack as a part of the action to cast that spell. As a part of whatever action it took to cast that spell. It makes no difference to the ...


4

It was most likely an oversight on the part of the designers. James Jacobs has commented on this situation and mentioned that the problems stemming from the modified spell strike and spell combat ruins the existing synergy between the two abilities. I wasn't directly involved in the Harrow Handbook or the card caster archetype, but it does feel like ...


3

Yes you can, but there are some things to point out here. Quicken costs +4 spell levels. So just to use this once per day you have to be 13th level and you need the Quicken feat and you have memorize the first level spell in the Quickened format. You can't do this with the metamgic Rod because you already have both hands occupied for casting and holding ...


3

Kind of an old question, but came up when googling a question of my own. Spellstrike does NOT say anything about overriding the standard attack of opportunity/casting defensively rules, so they DO still apply: if you cast a spell in a threatened area, you must either cast defensively, or provoke an attack of opportunity. The fact that you're delivering it ...


3

The INT bonus is definitely preferable from an optimization standpoint. INT benefits your spellcasting and, especially as you get up to higher levels, spellcasting is king. Moreover, because of your build 1 INT mod is preferable to 1 DEX mod in nearly all circumstances: it gives you initiative, attacks of opportunity, and armor class (3 things you would ...


2

The FAQ answer is regarding spellstrike only. So, by the FAQ, you can cast a touch spell, take a move action to move up, and then you use the free action granted by the touch spell to attack with your sword and deliver the spell. However, what you want to do is also possible, provided you can take a 5' step. You can cast, 5' step up, take your free action ...


2

I believe that in this case, whatever the card hits, if the spell can target that, the spell will discharge on it, otherwise the spell will be lost. Your second paragraph has it; the spell is no longer a touch spell and therefore the charge cannot be held. It's now effectively a ranged (non-touch) spell, relying on your attack roll. The energy of the ...


2

Harrowed Spellstrike specifies that the range of the spell is changed to the range increment of the thrown weapon. Because 'Touch' is unfortunately a range increment, this means according to the book rules you need to make a ranged attack (not a ranged touch attack) with your cards for the spell to work. That sucks. This is also true of the regular ...


1

This Appears Correct I'm going to put the sequence you're describing into firmer game terms so it's a bit easier to follow. All this assumes a magus with only two hands. Turn 1: The magus takes a full action to use the extraordinary ability spell combat. The magus makes with his 1-handed or light weapon 1 or more attacks, suffering a -2 penalty on these ...


1

I can see three main ways a magus can increase the damage of his spells. SpellStrike You can use SpellStrike to give yourself a change to get a critical strike on a touch range spell. Since the attack uses the weapon's critical range, you can give yourself a significant change of doubling the damage of your spell. Metamagic feats As far as I can tell the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible