Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

12

If you cast the spell while in melee combat you will have to cast defensibly, or take an attack of opportunity. One work around for this is casting the spell, then moving and touching the opponent when you get in range. OR 5 foot step and cast it safely. Remember casting a touch spell keeps it in charge until you discharge it manually or touch a valid ...


8

Yes, free actions may be made during other actions Free Action Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. (emphasis mine) That includes during Spell Combat, so yes, you may receive this minor benefit on your Magus.


6

You retain the casting mechanics of both classes separately. If you were a multiclassed* level four, such as 2 Magus / 2 Sorcerer, you would have all the abilities of each. Their spell lists do not mix, you will have to prepare your Magus spells, and your Sorcerer castings will depend on castings per day. *(See Multiclassing header)


6

Everything I've read seems to suggest this, then I saw this FAQ from Paizo: Can a magus use spellstrike (Ultimate Magic, page 10) to cast a touch spell, move, and make a melee attack with a weapon to deliver the touch spell, all in the same round? Yes. Other than deploying the spell with a melee weapon attack instead of a melee touch attack, the ...


5

The pathfinder rules aren't perfectly clear on this. but there are two abilities we have to look at to make this clear. Spell Combat (Ex) At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must ...


5

Ambiguous. You'd at least be able to copy it over pretty easily (though that'd cost a bit of gold), thus having it in both formats. You could also prepare it via the borrowed-spellbook rules, and deciphering the writing would be automatic since you're the author, so you'd be able to do it with a spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level, one check per ...


5

To "deliver the spell through a ranged weapon attack", you have to actually make a ranged weapon attack. Making a ranged weapon attack expends ammunition appropriate to the weapon in use. You also get any other effects of the weapon attack, most notably the weapon's basic damage. The spell's effect is an add-on to that weapon attack, not a replacement.


4

I don't think so Though you can substitute a maneuver for a melee attack, it's not a melee attack and may notably lack many features thereof (such as, say, weapon damage). But... You might have some ways to combine this anyway. The Felling Smash feat, for example, which causes your Trip to trigger after you Power Attack. If you have an option that lets ...


4

This has been discussed on the Paizo fora. What I read from it is that, while the spellbook could be unique, the spells are still recorded separately. So if you know a certain spell as a Wizard spell but not its Magus variant, you shouldn't be able to prepare it as such. There doesn't seem to be consensus on the question, though, and no official answer has ...


3

Kind of an old question, but came up when googling a question of my own. Spellstrike does NOT say anything about overriding the standard attack of opportunity/casting defensively rules, so they DO still apply: if you cast a spell in a threatened area, you must either cast defensively, or provoke an attack of opportunity. The fact that you're delivering it ...


3

Yes, cast then move then spellstrike is legal, just like a normal wizard casting a touch spell, moving, and then using a free action to deliver it is legal. In fact, this exact scenario is addressed in the FAQ/Errata sidebar on the Magus page on d20pfsrd and is derived from a Paizo blog FAQ posting on the subject. And sure, just like any other situation, if ...


2

The FAQ answer is regarding spellstrike only. So, by the FAQ, you can cast a touch spell, take a move action to move up, and then you use the free action granted by the touch spell to attack with your sword and deliver the spell. However, what you want to do is also possible, provided you can take a 5' step. You can cast, 5' step up, take your free action ...


1

No If you want to deliver a touch spell you need to spend one attack to make a touch attack. Any attack that happens to involve touching your opponent is not enough to deliver the spell. This is proven by the rules explicitly talking about using natural attacks or unarmed strikes to deliver spells, but never talking about combat maneuvers being able to do ...


1

After reading this question here about maneuvers within attacks of opportunity and its chosen answer, as well as this rule from the prd: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or ...


1

The answer is neither, that is, unless your GM decides on adding it to a group (see below). From the PRD (Core Rulebook): Weapon groups are defined as follows (GMs may add other weapons to these groups, or add entirely new groups): Axes: battleaxe, dwarven waraxe, greataxe, handaxe, heavy pick, light pick, orc double axe, and throwing axe. ...


1

As an adjunct to KRyans answer - yes, you can do all you describe. In addition, you could have started the turn with the longsword gripped in both hands, and let go with your off-hand to cast the touch spell. The only real difference it all makes is if something causes you to make use of the longsword prior to re-gripping it. So, for instance, if you were ...


1

Spell Combat treats the spell being cast as an off-hand weapon, and so generally is a full attack and uses those rules, which state The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks. Touch spells use this rule: You may take your move before casting the spell, after ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible