Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

21

Check out the Player's Handbook rules update. It provides the following clarification to the MarkedDDI condition: A mark ends immediately when its creator dies or falls unconscious. Of course, this makes sense. The idea of being marked is that the creature, for whatever reason, regards the originator of the mark as a threat. This might be because of a ...


16

An opportunity attack is not a forced attack. It is an option. If the Defender can use an immediate action (i.e., it is not his turn, hasn't already used an immediate action this round), he can use Aegis of Ensnarement. Regardless of whether an attack is forced or not, an attack by a marked target provokes defender punishment. An attack is an attack is an ...


13

Stealth isn't a defined condition in 4e. Using the stealth action, on a success, makes the character Invisible and Hidden. For details on the difference, see this question. These conditions inherently have no special effect on Marking. If you were marked when you become invisible or hidden or both, you are still marked and it ends however it normally ...


13

Only once. The key is "deals damage to your ally". Mind Spike will trigger once for each ally, however, the defender only has one Immediate Reaction to use. Technically, the defender can choose which ally getting damaged will trigger his Mind Spike. That won't make much of a difference most of the time.


13

The attacks granted by Deceptive Attack are considered individually for triggering the Paladin's Divine Challenge. The demon manipulator makes either two claw attacks or two ray of manipulation attacks Each of the attacks made possible by the Deceptive Attack is a separate attack. This power grants action economy - do a pair of things that ...


11

It depends on the trigger of the creature's immediate interrupt/reaction (or opportunity action). References: see Rules Compendium, page 214-215 - Making Attacks. An attack is a sequence of 6 steps that I have shortened here. Choosing an attack power Choosing target(s) Making an attack roll Compare result against defense to see if it is a hit or a miss ...


10

Marked is a condition in 4e. It can be applied by most Defender classes, and is how they're able to "defend". The definition for the Marked condition includes the following: The creature takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls for any attack that doesn’t include the marking creature as a target. (Player's Handbook, p. 277) This means that the Warden's ...


9

Divine sanction (and other status effects) aren't optional unless the phrasing clearly indicates they are. If the power says "... and the target is subject to your divine sanction," then your divine sanction gets applied whether you want it to or not. If the power says something more like "... and you may apply your divine sanction to the target" then you ...


9

The "correct" answer is that your assumptions are invalid. In my experience, a defender needing to enforce her mark more than once per round suggests both an over-zealous defender and an under-protected party. However, in practical terms, if you're even asking this question it means that the "correct" answer isn't particularly useful. A defender should, ...


9

There is no rule limiting the number of targets an individual can have marked at any given time. A number of abilities, including the Warden's basic mark ability Nature's Wrath, explicitly state the possibility of marking multiple targets: a warden can mark each adjacent enemy until the end of the warden's next turn. Marks from multiple sources are no ...


8

There are a few strategies to help with this, but essentially you can't keep a monster from attacking who it (the DM) wants. You can only give it stronger discouragement. The following methods should help with that. Positioning- Position yourself between the enemies and the squishier members of your party. This strategy relies on the cooperation of your ...


8

Yes absolutely. The penalty applies. In fact if that attack triggers the mark then the Defender can even make an attack on the PC in this case. Something important to note. The Language used in the entry for "Marked" says "-2 penalty to attack rolls for any attack that doesn't include the marking creature as the target." (RC 313, emph mine). This is a ...


8

Yes. From PHB1, pg76: Combat Challenge: ... Every time you attack an enemy, whether the attack hits or misses, you can choose to mark that target. ... Note that there are no restrictions on this. (Hybrid fighters are slightly different and require the use of a Fighter class power to mark a target.) If the grenade-like weapon requires an attack roll ...


8

The mark from a Battlemind's Demand is long lasting and has no range limit after it has been established. Your understanding is correct. There is no requirement for a Battlemind to attack or stay close to the marked target in order to maintain the mark. However, the Battlemind punishment options are only significant if you keep the marked enemy close. An ...


7

An attacker takes a -5 penalty to attacks against an invisible target. Invisibility has no special effect on marking, just that if the marking attack requires a hit it would be harder to achieve. Turning invisible while marked does not remove it from you. Marks last either until the specified duration on the effect or until the marked target dies or falls ...


7

You can do them in either order, both are effectively interrupts. The Combat Challenge is an Immediate Interrupt while the Opportunity attack is (obviously) an Opportunity Attack. After the first attack is done, the fighter will need to recheck to validate that the Opportunity Attack is still valid. For example, the Combat Challenge might push the enemy ...


7

Yes, An Immediate action can be used once between your turns. As long as it isn't your turn, your Immediate Action can be used whenever its trigger condition is met.


7

No, a creature can only be marked by one opponent at a time. From the Rules Compendium, p232 (emphasis mine): Marked - The creature takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls for any attack that doesn't include the marking creature as a target. - A creature can be subjected to only one mark at a time, and a new mark supersedes an old one. - A mark ends ...


6

Most marks are triggered by the marked creature making an attack that does not include its marker. Cleave damages an enemy adjacent to you if the attack hits, but you do not specifically attack that creature. In fact, the power's target is "one creature." That would definitely trigger a mark. You'd take your -2 penalty to the attack roll with cleave along ...


6

Yes Per the Rules Compendium, p89-90: Power Types: There are two types of powers. Attack Powers: These powers are used to damage or hinder others. ... Utility Powers: These powers have a variety of uses. ... A power's type is usually relevant only when a character uses a feat or some other game feature that works with powers of one type ...


6

Yes, you can have both effects apply to one enemy. Oath of Enmity does not mark the opponent. The only spells that mark an opponent are those that explicitly say they do so. For instance, Divine Challenge explicitly states "You mark the target." If it clears things up: marking is a condition, just like dazed, slowed and blinded are - not a kind of power. ...


5

I presume that the Yuan-Ti is using Double Attack in order to "make a slam attack against a defender and a non-defender as a single action" Double Attack (standard, at-will) Poison The yuan-ti anathema makes two slam attacks, each against a different target. Each of the attacks made possible is a separate attack. This power grants action economy - ...


5

Don't have the rules at the moment: it depends on the demon's Deceptive Attack wording. Bursts and Blast attacks (even those performed through a weapon) don't trigger Divine Challenge if they include the Paladin. Their single attack rolls are simultaneous. If a power says something like "repeat the attack against the same or a different target" or a ...


5

According to the compendium under the marked condition: "A mark ends immediately when its creator dies or falls unconscious."


4

Precognitive Eye - Daily 15 - Pg 43 Psionic Power Focus Bind - Daily 19 - Pg 45 Psionic Power Iron Presence - At Will 23 (w/Augment 6 in Close Burst 2) - Pg 46 Psionic Power Note: Luring Steel - Daily 13 - 51 PHB3 - lets you use Battlemind's demand against different numbers of targets depending on augmentation. Also Iron Presence without augmentation ...


4

Stances! There are a few themes and multiclassing that allow you to make opportunity attacks similar to your Combat Challenge. These stances come at the cos of a Daily though. The best OA stances come from being a ranger though, so that is a 2 feat swallow. Spike Chain multiclass at lv.10 gives you threatening reach close bust 2 Daily. Conditions! ...


4

Its mostly the penalty. As you can see there aren't many powers that allow you to affect an area not adjacent to you. However, you are talking about reducing to-hit by 10% this can be a sizable reduction in average damage taken by your party. Also, it allows you to effect an area larger than the standard burst 1-2 area that most defenders can hold sway ...


4

A battlemind doesn't have lots of options in that regard, but there are a few with which you may be able to get close to what you want. Note that other than your suggestion I haven't found a way to significantly increase the range at which a battlemind can mark, so most suggestions here are just workarounds or ideas which could help with increased mobility ...


4

The text seem to be self explanatory. Except it's specifically noted that it works like the fighter mark, it's supposed to mean literally what it says and apply even when the attack includes you as a target (we can see the combat challenge feature description here). I'll ellaborate each case: Monster at the top of the screen attacks character C with ...


4

You were right. Only an Interrupt can invalidate its trigger. The character that created the mark was unconscious for a split second. Had the power been a Interrupt, they would be right.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible