Tag Info

New answers tagged

-3

Yes, because the monk class feature allows you to substitute your monk's martial art damage in place of your unarmed strike or monk weapon damage. PHB pg. 78 You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table. What this ...


8

No, there is no Fighting Style that benefits an unarmed strike. Archery: Only applies to ranged weapons. Defense: Only benefits AC. Dueling: Specifically requires you to be wielding a melee weapon in one hand, and only benefits that weapon. Great Weapon Fighting: Specifically requires you to be wielding a melee weapon in both hands, and only benefits that ...


12

Martial Arts ...When you use the Attack action... you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. (PHB5e, 78) This unarmed strike is an attack: "If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack." (PHB5e, 194) The same page ...


6

Yes, it is possible but... The number of ways you can go about it is limited to somehow seeing through magical darkness like by getting Truesight. Or by picking up 2 levels of Warlock for the Devil's Sight Eldritch Invocation, in order for you to see through magical darkness up to 120 feet. Or by any means like the 6th-level Divination Spell True ...


9

Things in D&D 5e do exactly what they say; no more no less: Shadow Step When you are in dim light or darkness, as a bonus action you can teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is also in dim light or darkness. This does not grant you any ability to see into darkness, therefore, if you can't see into darkness you ...


21

So, first up - anyone can use any weapon. Proficiency merely determines whether you can add your proficiency bonus to your attack rolls. Proficiency with a weapon allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with that weapon. If you make an attack roll using a weapon with which you lack proficiency, you do not ...


21

I see no more reason to consider this armor anymore as I would a set of Bracers of Armor or a casting of the Mage Armor spell. Just because it grants an Armor bonus to AC, doesn't make it Armor. Only things in the Equipment section under Armor are armor. This item doesn't mention anything about what Proficiency you need to wear it, it's called a "Wondrous ...


2

There are no thrown 2-handed weapons, so anything thrown is considered one handed, meaning you can catch it one handed.


4

Monk, PHB. pg. 78 under Deflect Missiles If you're asking about the Monk's ability with respect to catching and throwing it back at them, it uses the weapon's own damage dice OR the monk's damage dice. It can do this since the caught weapon becomes a "monk weapon" for the return attack, and regardless of what it is, you can substitute the damage out with ...


5

He only has proficiency if he caught the Missile with Deflect Missile and immediately throws it afterwards As per the PHB page 78: Deflect Missile ... If you reduce the damage to 0, you can catch the missile if it is small enough for you to hold in one hand and you have at least one hand free. If you catch a missile in this way, you can spend 1 ...



Top 50 recent answers are included