Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

The qualifying for feats part: Core rules each character can tart out with a Favored Class and you have to use a level up for each class you add. So you get Level 1 in your second class with a level up, if you are still level 1 in your favored class you are now character level 2. The same as you add any additional classes. Then with each level up you ...


2

To the first part of your question, you don't gain the bonus feat progression. This ability does not automatically grant feats normally granted to fighters and monks based on class level, namely Stunning Fist. As a 5th level Brawler, you'd add your Brawler level (5) to your effective monk level (0) and effective fighter level (0) for the purposes of ...


0

Extremely Ambiguous Unfortunately, the walker in the waste’s capstone is a notorious source of a great deal of confusion. This is a somewhat unusual case, but every walker in the waste wants to know the answer because it also affects Level Adjustment. Exception-based rules, or “specific-trumps-general” The d20 System is an “exception-based rules ...


4

I think you have answered your own question there. As a wraith, you are not a living creature, and thus, do not qualify for Lich/Dry Lich by the rules, no matter their source. In the same vein, the second Lich template would also not stack or overlap on the first. (After all, how can you store your soul in two phylacteries at once? Unless you went to ...


8

Class level. Pathfinder Core Rules, Page 31 Note that there are a number of effects and prerequisites that rely on the character's level or Hit Dice. Such effects are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class. The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total ...


1

That is class level, so at 5th level of Alchemist the bonus would increase to a +4. General rule of thumb is it is always class level unless it specifically says level (Even in that scenario I can't think of a single thing off the top of my head that uses actual level).


4

This is a pool of dice for you to spend at your leisure. You spend them in whatever order you want to. There's no rule to dictate which one you spend when or in what order. Thus, spend the dice that it makes sense to spend, if you're sitting there with 8 points of damage, roll the d8 (or, well, 2 of the d6s...). Some folks might feel like this is a bit ...


6

Generally, for things like this, if the book doesn't give you a suggested for enforced order, you can do it in any order. There is no rule that you have to use your 1st level HD die first, and your 2nd level hit point die second. There is no game balancing, or narrative reason to use one hit die over the other, it's all going to depend on what sort of ...


1

You get one hit dice per level of each class that you have. So if you are Wizard 3, Monk 1. you would get 1d8, 3d6 to spend how you want. Hassassin's answer has the pertinent rules quote. So while the number of Hit Dice you have is equal to your overall character level (4 in this case). The denominations of those HD are dependent on the classes you've ...


24

Number 3. From page 163 of the PHB: You add together the Hit Dice granted by all your classes to form your pool of Hit Dice. [...] If your classes give you Hit Dice of different types, keep track of them separately. If you are a paladin 5/cleric 5, for example, you have five d10 Hit Dice and five d8 Hit Dice.


0

I can see two options here, use the existing system or add a new system. Creating your own career paths The most obvious option is to create new career paths (Rogue Trader, p39) which represent the multi-class Astropath Navigator or Explorator Void Master careers etc, but this could be quite a lot of work. You would need to plan out the whole of their ...


3

First and foremost let me recommend the build guides for all classes on the WOTC forums found in the Character Optimization boards and collected in one thread. Artificer's make poor defenders... Artificers only start with leather armor proficiency, no shield proficiency and 1 less surge granted by the class than all other leader classes. You're already ...


1

It would not level like the multiclass advanced moves would Multiclass advanced moves give you a spell-casting level in that class that levels up everytime you levelup, increasing in power. However Anything you can do... has no text leading it in that direction at all. Thus you would always just be casting a spell at level 1. From a narrative perspective ...


0

On page 29 of the rulebook it is stated, that for the purpose of multiclass moves, any starting class moves that depend on each other count as one move. As your question regards a custom class, it is up to interpretation if the author intended such use. However, as some moves would be rendered useless then, I suppose that the same logic as to multiclass ...


5

Yes! When you take levels of a new class, you get all of the benefits of their class features. When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that level. A few features, however, have additional rules when you're multiclassing... While channel divinity is one of the things that is listed as having a special rule surrounding it, Cleric ...


10

The bonus proficiency is a domain feature. Domains are a class feature. The multiclassing rules state that you gain the class features when you get a new level in the new class. It then lists exceptions to this with channel divinity, extra attack, spell casting and unarmored defense. Domains are not listed, so it seems that the bonus proficiency is the ...


2

Quoting from PHB pg 59: As a cleric, you choose one aspect o f your deity’s portfolio to emphasize,and you are granted powers related to that domain. So, NO, you cannot multiclass into the your same class, and NO, you cannot take additional Domain


3

The DMG will have guidelines for creating your own classes and sub classes, as well as new domains such as the death domain. So this space is reserved for when the DMG is released. Until then, by the rules you can't mix sub classes (domains) The rules for a cleric is that you may only use one domain: As a cleric, you choose one aspect of your deity’s ...


4

RAW, it's not allowed and there's no real benefit besides gainin new domain spells and features. In any case, negotiate a Homebrew Cleric Domain with your player by mixing from the Domains he/she likes to tailer something that fits the character but isn't game breaking and makes sense. Think of it like Backgrounds. You can also try and come up with one of ...


33

No. PHB, Page 163, Multiclassing With this rule, you have the option of gaining a level in a new class whenever you advance in level, instead of gaining a level in your current class. This wording seems clear to me that you must choose either a different class, or gain a level in your current class. In the case of a cleric, this implies that you ...


0

Multi-classing in 3.5 and Pathfinder have some drawbacks, including Arcane Spell Failure, a lower caster level than your character level, lower spell levels available, et al. Some base classes from expansion books get around these limits, like Beguiler (3.5 PH2) or the somewhat awkward Spellthief (3.5 Complete Adventurer), but they trade them for other ...


6

Nonproficiency in armor means that you take the armor’s armor check penalty as a penalty to all sorts of things it wouldn’t normally affect, including attack rolls. By virtue of being a rogue, though, you have proficiency. Thus, you do not take these extra penalties, and the armor check penalty of the armor only applies to the usual skills. ...


3

If you have light armor proficiency, you are free to wear armor as a wizard. The big risk, however, is Arcane Spell Failure So, for example, if you were wearing leather armor, each time you cast a spell, you would roll a d10. On a 1, your spell fails. You can reduce this by 10% as a swift action with Arcane Armor Training, which for most light armors mean ...


16

You are able to cast the cleric spells at a higher level. While spells known / prepared are handled on a class basis, your spell slots are combined. PHB, page 164, Multiclassing, Spellcasting, Spell slots Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels ... Use this total to determine your spell slots by ...


11

Yes and No. You get both sorcerer spells and wizard spells, but you must keep track of them separately. Your sorcerer spells must come from the limited spells you have chosen to learn as a sorcerer, have their save DC set with Charisma, and use your sorcerer spells per day. Your wizard spells must be prepared from a spellbook, have their DC set with ...


2

Sorc 1/Cleric 1 should be pretty solid. You'd have 3 L1 spell slots per day, you'd get access to medium armor and Shields, which is a nice boost to your AC. You'd also pick up the first domain feature for your cleric, which can be quite good. A S1/C1 would be a solid combination, it's a bit MAD as you'd want to make sure you have wis/cha/dex, but that's ...



Top 50 recent answers are included