Hot answers tagged

40

Definitely. It's easy to think of the I-kill-you-and-use-your-corpse, or the standard graverobber. But what about someone who actually seeks the consent of those bodies? The kingsguard wishes to continue serving even beyond their deaths, the elves wronged by the evil overlord wish to become warriors before they become fertilizer. Remember too that necromancy ...


31

Of course, depending on your definition of necromancer. Can you be creating undead as a necromancer and stay good? No, that's an evil descriptor spell. Good clerics can't cast those at all, and good wizards can but like any evil act it'll move them from Good sooner or later. Can you cast the dozens of other necromancy spells that aren't evil, like Disrupt ...


22

First, there is a template for a good necromancer in one of the expanded books. I found this Good Lich template online today. The following is a long explanation I posted for my players about my world specifically. It goes into a lot of details and interprets some of the logic of the books in a way that hopefully helps explain why Necromancers tend toward ...


21

is there anything stopping the Good-aligned 'Necromancer'? There shouldn’t really be one anyway. Is there anything stopping you using Animate Objects, with or without Permanency, to affect a bunch of corpses? If so, what? And would that qualify as an Evil, Chaotic, or Neutral act? I believe corpses are objects, on the basis of the definition of an ...


21

Persistent Death ward can protect you from harm. Persistent spell allows the spell to last all day, and Death ward makes you immune to, among other things, negative energy. Find a very high level paladin or archivist and get an item enchanted with "Favor of the Martyr" (spell compendium) which explicitly protects against Wrack, and all of the status effects ...


17

Animating Corpses in Shadowrun Shadowrun's magic system is theoretically based on mythological depictions and viewpoints of magic rather than the modern fantasy-novel meaning of the word. As such, necromancy dealing with divination and the raising up of the spirits of the dead would come under the term necromancy - although Shadowrun itself often departs ...


16

The description for Resurrection includes "You can resurrect someone killed by a death effect or someone who has been turned into an undead creature and then destroyed." (emphasis mine) That indicates to me that a) you cannot resurrect someone who has been turned undead until that undead creature has been destroyed and b) that it is possible to resurrect ...


15

The player handbook page 118, when describing the School of Necromancy subclass feature says: Most people see necromancers as menacing , or even villainous, due to the close association of death. Not all necromancers are evil , but the forces they manipulate are considered taboo by many societies. There is room in the novels for non evil necromancers ...


15

Reference Skeletons: Yes they can equip weapons and armor. The do not inherently have disadvantage with any weapons or armor. Source: Monster Manual pg. 272 Animated Dead. Whatever sinister force awakens a skeleton infuses its bones with a dark vitality, adhering joint to joint and reassembling dismantled limbs. This energy motivates a skeleton ...


15

The second sentence is simply the description/justification for the first sentence. The only effects are the ones described: resistance to necrotic damage and immunity to maximum hit point reduction. In case it's the source of your confusion: "inured" just means "accustomed to". So this is just saying that you've been hanging around with undead for so long ...


14

Comparing their descriptions in the SRD: animate object and animate dead differ in these ways. Animate object is a 6th level spell; animate dead is 4th, or third for a Cleric. Animate dead is a permanent, instantaneous transformation; animate object is 1 round per level. Animated dead can follow you around and do tasks or attack; animated objects can only ...


13

Adding necromancy spells isn't overpowered in and of itself. If I were you or your DM, I'd write a new terrain type for Land druids or perhaps even make entirely new paradigm for the class. Considering that you are inexperienced, however, I think the easiest thing and the one for the least potential to break your game is to make a new circle for Land ...


13

There's plenty of mechanical solutions (which other answerers are better equipped to provide, and I hope they do), but there are always other things the evil cleric can use against you. This quickly turns into an escalating arms race which takes the focus off the rest of the game. I'm going to suggest that you start by looking away from the mechanics and ...


12

Creatures Can't Add Levels Because of Necromancy Gazoo the necromancer can't just cast the spell animate dead [necro] (PH 198-9) and make any ol' corpse into a ghoul and add 2 levels of fighter to it. That can't happen. There shouldn't be any way to create creatures and, during their creation, add new class levels to them because of necromancy. When the ...


12

No. Grim Harvest gives you the ability to reap life energy from the enemies you kill with your spells (PHB 118). The full text is: At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. Once per turn when you kill one or more creatures with a spell of 1st level or higher, you regain hit points equal to twice the ...


11

In Mysteries Revised there is: A path to immortality called living ghost (IIRC) which is obviously relevant to necromancy There is also the spirit familiar virtue which can be appropriate for ghosts. Hermetic empowerment, which is a virtue that allows you to trap a spirit in an enchanted device and use it to power ritual effects (ritual effects in an ...


11

You're mistaken about the need for a body, and the function of these spells. According to the spells' descriptions, resurrection does require at least "some small portion" of the deceased body. True resurrection is capable of "bringing back someone whose body is destroyed," so long as you have the correct information. In no case will raise dead, ...


11

From the description of the Necromancy school in the basic rules v1 (emphasis mine) Necromancy spells manipulate the energies of life and death. Such spells can grant an extra reserve of life force, drain the life energy from another creature, create the undead, or even bring the dead back to life. Creating the undead through the use of ...


11

[First off: if you have an INT of 20, you have a +5 modifier, not a +4. So a 4th level wizard with an INT of 20 can prepare 9 spells, not 8. Now on to the main question.] You may be thinking in terms of 3.5e style preparation rather than 5e. In 5e, you don't have to match spells to spell slots when preparing them. A 4th level wizard with INT 20 can prepare ...


11

No. Grim Harvest ...you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. (PHB p.118 , emphasis mine) In the case of Animate Dead, the spell that you cast "imbues your target with a foul mimicry of life," and then that target may go on to kill something. Likewise with Conjure Elemental with the spell "you call forth an ...


9

One of the most excellent Dragon magazine articles I ever read covers this very issue. The article is Shades of Death by Wade Nudson, appearing in Dragon #298 (August 2002, page 63). It provides justifications for necromancers of both neutral and good alignments, known as the Gray Path and the White Path, respectively. Necromancers of the Gray Path ...


9

You don’t get separate animate dead control pools from cleric and wizard, so you only get 32 HD, not 64. Undead from Rebuke Undead are in addition to this. From the Revised Necromancer Handbook: You are not going to play a True Necromancer! A lot of people love the True Necromancer, even though it’s a completely crippled class. Even a Mystic ...


9

Yes, you can gain a familiar elsewhere and have both This ambiguity is due to a very annoying habit that Wizards of the Coast had to assume that all characters were starting from 1st-level, would remain single-classed, and would not take cross-class skills, when discussing what members of a class can do. You see this in similar issues like: whether a ...


8

I once read an article about "white necromancers". It's for Pathfinder, but it could easily be adapted to other editions of D&D. White Necromancers fight against undead using necromancy. They don't use it for summoning undead, but to banish them. Otherwise, I can't really imagine someone who is stealing corpses from graveyards and animating them to ...


8

Balance So firstly, you need to understand that you're effectively stealing a class feature. Wizards get the least class features of any class, because their access to a wide variety of spells makes up for it. With that said, balance-wise, this is not going to be an issue. Necromancy spells come in 3 broad categories: Offensive, resurrection, and minions. ...


7

In the situation you posit, there is a resurrected PC and what was his corpse in the hands of an antagonistic necromancer. The problems arise from under-specification of Resurrection and True Resurrection and where the new body springs into existence. The simple reading is that the magic creates a new body for the dead character's soul to inhabit within ...


7

From the Basic rules (Player's book, v0.2) Necromancy spells manipulate the energies of life and death. Such spells can grant an extra reserve of life force, drain the life energy from another creature, create the undead, or even bring the dead back to life. So, you could be a necromancer who focuses on the "life" side of their powers. I'd say ...


7

The spell permanently animates the creature (its duration is instantaneous), so it definitely stays undead. After 24 hours you no longer have control over it. That means that the DM now has control of it. Which of the 3 the creature chooses is probably dependent on what you've awoken, and how undead work in your particular setting. That said, this is ...


7

It doesn't have a usage limit, but It does have a control limit on the number of undead. The answer to how many can you control at a time is in the complete feature description: If it fails, it becomes friendly to you and obeys your commands until you use this feature again. This effectively limits your Command Undead to One Undead type creature, ...


7

The higher their intelligence, the more likely they are to succeed on their charisma saving throw against the ability (DC=your wizard spell save DC). If the target has an intelligence of 8 or higher, it has advantage on the saving throw. If it fails the saving throw and has an Intelligence of 12 or higher it can repeat the saving throw at the end of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible