Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

7

No. Adjacent means adjacent. Even if you have threatening reach, you are not making an opportunity attack, you are taking an opportunity action to make a basic attack. While the result is the same, they are not the same thing. When a power intends for you to be able to use your reach it will say "within reach" or "within range" Also note that achieving ...


7

Yes, An Immediate action can be used once between your turns. As long as it isn't your turn, your Immediate Action can be used whenever its trigger condition is met.


6

You could not have taken the opportunity action on your own turn You cannot take opportunity actions on your own turn, so if you, on your turn, move in such a way that your stance is triggered, you can't use the opportunity action granted by the stance. Thus the question about movement interruption is a moot point, though in general interruptions are ...


6

Yes. From the PHB, page 290 (Opportunity Attack): "The most common form of opportunity action is an opportunity attack - a melee basic attack against the creature that provokes it." And the PHB, page 292 (Shift): "No Opportunity Attacks: If you shift out of a square adjacent to an enemy, you don't provoke an opportunity attack." This means that ...


6

Re: Falling: Does a falling creature provoke Opportunity Attacks on the way down? Based on this, and the lack of OoAs on forced movement, I would assume that other terrain-based forced movement would not provoke OoAs either.


6

Rain of steel works, until you take an opportunity action. You can take opportunity actions if you haven't taken one since the start of your last turn. This text permits you explicitly to take opportunity actions. Rain of Steel requires you to be able to take an opportunity attack which is a special kind of opportunity action. Rain of Steel does not ...


5

As long as the enemy is a valid target of the MBA you can. The feat Repel Charge does not have an adjacency requirement so the character repelling the charge merely needs melee range on the person charging them. This is not an Opportunity Attack which does require adjacency, it's a set Opportunity Action. It's part of the same super set (Opportunity ...


3

I believe this was corrected at some point. The "swarm" entry was published in 4 different books (MM, MM2, RC, and Monster Vault: Threats to Nentir Vale). The quotation you used appears to be from the Monster Manual. The compendium uses different wording: Swarm A swarm is composed of multiple creatures but functions as a single creature. A swarm ...


2

1) For both scenarios, is my reasoning sound, and do they work as planned? No - Scenario 1 does not work, but scenario 2 does. 2) Specifically, does my own counterargument to Scenario 1 make it not work as desired? Your second counter argument looks correct. Your first is moot because of the second. You are using your move action to do the walk (or run, ...


2

to answer your questions: yes your reasoning is sound, but the enemy can choose not to continue his movement after your reaction. the caveat does not apply as you are taking a move action, even if it's a readied one. the character can definitely change his move in response to a changed battle field (IMO). So you can't force and opportunity attack here, ...


1

2nd scenario seems more sound to me going by what I believe I understand is going on from both scenarios. That said, its entirely up to DM Preference as stated. If its a dumb npc, maybe it won't notice or care. Also, I'd allow it even though in all aspects, if you did it off of that trigger type every time, you're hurting yourself more since the standard ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible