Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

27

Yes, use the actual rules now that you know them The game is balanced around the ruleset it assumes is in use, and as you've already noticed any change to the rules is going to have system-wide implications (in this case, some very significant ones). You'll find a lot of powers, items, feats, and design philosophies make more sense now. But allow massive ...


27

D&D is a consensus game - Discuss the Options Your problem is not unique - it happens to every game master with a new system. It even happens in board games. It also happens whenever there is errata - changing the "offical rules." But, you are playing with a group of people so you should discuss any rule changes with the rest - regardless of the the ...


25

In all cases, the Attack of Opportunity is resolved in the square in which the provoking action is performed. In the case of movement, the act of moving out of a threatened square is performed in the threatened square - other squares do not come into play until that part of movement has been resolved. This is not abundantly clear from the rules on Attacks ...


23

In fencing you are taught steps that allow you to engage or disengage from an opponent without offering an opening to your enemies blade. I have listed a few examples below: advance - the primary action for forward movement in fencing retreat - the primary action for backward movement in fencing disengage - the act of avoiding the opponent's blade without ...


23

According to third edition designer Skip Williams, in his article Attacks of Opportunity (Part One), D&D uses attacks of opportunity to add tactical complexity and danger, to discourage certain actions in combat without banning them outright, and to balance out useful or powerful combat manoevers: Skip Williams: The D&D game uses its attack ...


22

From Opportunity Action, Interrupts Target’s Action: An opportunity action takes place before the target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. If the target is reduced to 0 hit points or fewer by the opportunity attack, it can’t finish its action because it’s dead or dying. A normal OA will not interrupt ...


22

Why does Withdraw protect you? You're giving up both actions and move speed in order to leave the area safely. Withdraw lets you move at double your speed, but running lets you move even faster than that. So if you're just trying to get away as quickly as possible, a run would be a better action, but you can't defend yourself while going at your top speed. ...


20

Only moving out of an enemy's reach provokes opportunity attacks. From the Basic Rules, p74: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack interrupts the provoking ...


19

No, with a caveat. No, because Mage Slayer doesn't name this reaction an opportunity attack, so it doesn't count for triggering Sentinel. The caveat is that, well it sure looks like an opportunity attack, RAW aside, so your DM may very reasonably say that it is. So bet on "no", but this is likely an easy house rule to get out of your DM if you bring it to ...


18

The characters provoke opportunity attacks as normal, however the creature who's turn it is does not get an opportunity attack against the readied action A readied actionDDI is an immediate reaction to the triggering action, and so in this case takes places during the creature's turn. Opportunity actions DDI cannot be taken during your own turn.


18

In 4e, the overriding design philosophy is that "specific trumps general" from this, all else emerges. The general case is that Opportunity Actions trigger when: Trigger: Opportunity actions allow you to take an action in response to an enemy letting its guard down. The one type of opportunity action that every combatant can take is an opportunity ...


18

My initial rules reading, maybe... Opportunity Attacks In a fight, everyone is constantly watching for enemies to drop their guard. You can rarely move heedlessly past your foes without putting yourself in danger; doing so provokes an opportunity attack. You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out ...


18

No, an opportunity attack is a single melee attack. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 74: To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. Additionally, multiattack specifies that it can't be used in this way. From the DM Basic Rules, page 6: A creature that can make multiple ...


17

It's a full round action. Think of it like this: You are using the move action to move away, while using your standard action to pay attention to your surroundings, to make sure that no one can take advantage of the situation. You do not just run away and flee, you do not let your guard down. Instead, you retreat safely.


16

From the Rules Compendium, p209 No Opportunity Actions Triggered: When a creature falls past an enemy, the creature does not trigger opportunity actions, such as opportunity attacks, from that enemy that are triggered by movement."


16

An opportunity attack is not a forced attack. It is an option. If the Defender can use an immediate action (i.e., it is not his turn, hasn't already used an immediate action this round), he can use Aegis of Ensnarement. Regardless of whether an attack is forced or not, an attack by a marked target provokes defender punishment. An attack is an attack is an ...


16

As a general rule, "An opportunity attack is a melee basic attack" (Compendium glossary), so this doesn't come up much. However, there are special cases: Ninth Legion Student [Lesser Style] lets you use Direct the Strike (ranged 5) "in place of a melee basic attack when making an opportunity attack." Now, both the Glossary entry for Ranged Attack and the ...


16

The rules for provoking opportunity actions (from PHB page 290) is: If an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack against that enemy. Thus every square of movement apart from the first would be considered as provoking movement since each other square creature A is leaving is adjacent to creature B. Just remember ...


16

No, you can't provoke opportunity attacks this way. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 74: You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or ...


16

It is legal, yes. Note that move actions are defined one square at a time. The running enemy could choose to stop when you teleport in to threaten them. But if they don’t, and leave a threatened square, they provoke from you.


16

As Miniman points out, you cannot grapple as an attack of opportunity because an AoO does not give you an attack action. However, your situation doesn't actually call for an attack of opportunity. Instead, it sounds like you had readied an action. From Basic Rules page 72: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular ...


15

The FAQ has an answer to your question! When you cast a spell that allows you to make a ranged touch attack (such as scorching ray), and an enemy is within reach, do you provoke two attacks of opportunity? Yes, you provoke two attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack, since these are two separate events. ...


14

Opportunity attacks serve multiple purposes. They don't allow you to walk around the whole battlefield whenever you want. This is mostly useful to prevent the thief from always using the backstab attack on every round. By creating opportunity attacks, there comes a cost to a thief trying to always get behind someone. (or flanking in general) They ...


14

Phasing is a mode of movement (it is listed under the heading of "Movement Related Traits") which allows a creature to ... ignore difficult terrain and ... enter squares containing blocking terrain, obstacles, and enemy creatures. The creature follows normal rules for where it must end its movement.... Rules Compendium p. 208 A phasing creature is ...


14

Hidden creatures never provoke opportunity attacks. If they enter Hidden from Create a diversion to hide, they'll be fine. From the DDI Compendium: Hidden When a creature is hidden from an enemy, the creature is silent and invisible to that enemy. A creature normally uses the Stealth skill to become hidden. See also invisible. Invisible If ...


14

No. Opportunity Attacks list one event that triggers them: When you move out of a creature's reach. Opportunity Attacks. In a fight, everyone is constantly watching for enemies to drop their guard. You can rarely move heedlessly past your foes without putting yourself in danger; doing so provokes an opportunity attack. You can make an opportunity ...


13

The attack of opportunity occurs before the opponent leaves the square. Otherwise, it would be impossible to strike at an opponent who runs away from you (which is the most common case for attacks of opportunity, and the main case they're supposed to handle).


13

You can take an unarmed strike as your attack of opportunity even if you don't have Improved Unarmed Strike, but you first have to be threatening with a weapon. If you have a dagger in one hand and your opponent leaves the threatened square, you may take an attack of opportunity using any means available to you to make an attack. A dagger is enough to ...


13

No. From the Basic Rules, p74: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack interrupts the provoking creature’s movement, occurring right before the creature leaves your reach. ...


13

Yes Since the general rule is that everyone can make Attacks of Opportunity, so can Animals unless explicitly forbidden. There is nothing in the rules, at any sane location, that prevents animals from taking Attacks of Opportunity, such as: Attacks of Opportunity mentions neither "Animal" nor "Intelligence" Animals or Creature Type: Animal doesn't ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible