New answers tagged

0

According to Mike Mearls, looks like it's your choice which of the moves to spend your reaction on. Eugene Katz ‏@eugenekatz @mikemearls if I'm holding a 5' and 10' reach weapons, do I get opportunity attach when enemy moves adjacent->5' or 5'->10'? Or my choice? 9:48 PM - 30 Apr 2016 Mike Mearls ‏@mikemearls @eugenekatz your choice if 2 ...


34

Players Basic Rules, pg 71 Moving Around Other Creatures If you leave a hostile creature’s reach during your move, you provoke an opportunity attack, as explained later in the chapter. and, Players Basic Rules, pg 73 Opportunity Attacks You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your ...


0

To supplement KRyan's answer with the detailed mechanics... In return, they provoke attacks of opportunity from you each time they swing. Since you mention "sufficient Dex", you are probably aware of it, still I find it worth mentioning: Robilar's Gambit only gives the character an opportunity to strike back. This means that: the character may ...


0

Yes, you would be able to retaliate. Although they may choose to not attack with this attack of opportunity. Also they get their attack of opportunity first meaning they deal their damage to you first. In short you would be able to move past enemies provoking an attack from each and you would be able to retaliate to each hit. Then when your movement ends ...


4

Yes, he would, assuming each enemy actually took the opportunity to attack (this is always an optional thing, so they could avoid doing so e.g. after recognizing his use of the feat). Attacks of opportunity interrupt the flow of actions, so that means they can interrupt movement, and after they have resolved the interrupted actions continue, meaning he ...


1

you can move through a hostile creature's space only if the creature is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. Remember that another creature’s space is difficult terrain for you. The wolf cannot move through a hostile creature's space so your first option is N/A. The would can jump over the creature if it can clear 5 feet so it is not ...


0

Casting a spell only triggers an attack of opportunity if the casting time is equal or longer than 1 standard action. A spell-like function as a spell toward attack of opportunity, thus Arcane Bloodrage doesn't trigger any attack of opportunity as there is no casting time.


3

Your DM is correct: it does provoke an AoO. The confusion here comes from your reading of the sentence where you believe that the second part only applies if the first is true. The sentence is in fact a two item list; the first half and second half do not interact with each other in any way. The d20pfsrd also says A spell-like ability has a casting ...


4

No, you can't. The true question here is to determine whether or not a free interaction can occur right before an Opportunity attack. An Opportunity attack is a type of reaction (probably the most current one), and a reaction must immediatly follow it's trigger : REACTIONS Certain abilities, spells and situations allow you to take a special action ...


15

Drawing a weapon as part of an attack is something that happens on your turn, specifically during your move or our action (not your reaction). Player's Basic Rules v0.3, page 70. Player's Handbook, page 190. Other Activity on Your Turn You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your ...


6

No. Opportunity attack allows you to use your reaction to make a melee attack against a foe leaving your reach(PHB pg 195). It does not grant you an action.


10

RAW, it is a "free" part of action and movement; so it wouldn't be part of a bonus action or reaction. Attacks of Opportunities use reactions, and thus don't allow a free draw of the sword. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. A DM may allow you to still do it (I think ...


1

There's no limit on the number of opportunity attacks a creature can make: it's a free action, triggered by the action of an enemy, that takes place during their turn.


36

There are no facing rules in 5e, by default. Thus, one provokes an OA leaving an opponent's reach no matter how you imagine the characters are faced. The reasoning behind this is that the round represents six seconds of movement, thrusts, parrying, bobbing-and-weaving, &c.* In your example, the answer is: yes, Atone would provoke an OA from Dip. If you ...


2

Yes, he gets an Opportunity Attack This applies to corporeal, incorporeal, burrowing, etc. Jeremy Crawford has confirmed this with a pair of tweets: Tweet 1: Q: Does an earth elemental trigger an OA when it burrows? It is within 5 ft, but the creature can no longer reach it A: An opportunity attack occurs right before the target leaves your reach ...



Top 50 recent answers are included