Tag Info

New answers tagged

2

Smite uses spell slots. Warlock spell slots come back on SHORT rests. Use those warlock slots like there's no tomorrow and be a smiting machine!


1

Initially, I went in supporting Case 2, but on retrospect, I think Case 3 is what is correct. Reasoning: A spell cast that targets only the Paladin while mounted on steed will target both paladin and steed. If Paladin casts Heroism on self while mounted, Steed would also get the benefit while spell is under concentration. Smite spell would work the same ...


2

Strictly speaking, there is no clear interpretation. All three cases are justifiable. Also note that 5e discourages literal "rules as written" meanings. As the designers have repeatedly said: "rulings, not rules." The rules were explicitly not written to be scrutinized as a lawyer scrutinizes the law, so we should not be surprised when the end result of ...


-3

Smite spells apply only to weapon attacks, so in this case it doesn't matter: your steed wouldn't get the effects. However, RAW, if your steed could attack with a weapon, its first hit would get the smite effect, independent of your attack.


-5

My opinion is that, for the most part. it is when they break an obvious part of their oath (like using poison for example) or willing commit a truly evil act with no good end. Though on specific part of oaths. I feel that there are exceptions that a specific paladin can have. I'll use an example I had from a character Scandal: The character had a ...


5

You're right. There is no clear cut way. That's by design. How this works varies a lot by playstyle: Some groups have a solid understanding of ethics and jurisprudence and use some limited form of said understanding adjudicate alignment in D&D. Others use their full understanding of ethics, which cumulates for them into a D&D compatible system, ...


3

Yes but only in a specific kind of campaign. People often fight/fought with a sword and a free hand in real life. Why do they do it? Shields are not gentlemanly. You don't visit the court of a neighboring kingdom in full plate with a two-handed battle axe or a broadsword and shield. You don't attend state dinners with your massive wall of metal. But ...


14

At the the DM’s discretion, an impenitent paladin might be forced to abandon this class and adopt another, or perhaps to take the Oathbreaker paladin option I read this as an out-of-character game rule: if your paladin falls, that is, your DM forces you to abandon the paladin class,1 you are required, as a player, to choose either Oathbreaker or ...


18

PHB 201: When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell’s level or higher... You cannot cast a level 3 spell using a level 1 slot. PHB 164: If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to ...


5

As per the multiclassing rules, all of the other spellcasting classes get their spell slots lumped together for the purposes of casting spells (see the Multiclass Spellcaster table on PHB page 165). A Sorcerer or Wizard spell slot is functionally no different from a Paladin spell slot of the same level. We can therefore conclude that Warlocks are the only ...


6

The simplest thing that you missed is that you can't cast a 3rd level spell from a 1st- or 2nd-level slot. If you were a high enough level of Paladin, you might be able to make the argument that you ought to be able to cast fireball from a 3rd level paladin slot, but at no point can you cast a spell from a lesser slot than what is required by the spell in ...



Top 50 recent answers are included