Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

17

Your question is pretty broad and we may need a few more information as to what are your resources (Level, spell casters, time at your disposal and such...). As you did not give any of those pointers, I will give a few answers without taking into account this kind of limitations. Fire Elemental (or any non-breathing, fire immune summon/pet) This is ...


13

Lava Is a Low-level Threat Pathfinder's rules for lava say that Lava or magma deals 2d6 points of damage per round of exposure, except in the case of total immersion (such as when a character falls into the crater of an active volcano), which deals 20d6 points of damage per round. Damage from lava continues for 1d3 rounds after exposure ceases, but ...


12

No, you do not get 2 different familiars. Familiar levels stack. From the Familiars entry: Levels of different classes that are entitled to familiars stack for the purpose of determining any familiar abilities that depend on the master's level. You can though have a familiar and an animal companion (but remember PFS rules only allow for one combat ...


12

This is one of the most annoying and awkward pieces of 3.x rules You don’t get enhancement bonuses to AC, you get enhancement bonuses to armor bonuses So, armors grant an armor bonus to AC. Seems simple enough. Then we have enhancement bonuses. You could, in theory, have an enhancement bonus to AC; if you did, it would stack with an armor bonus, since ...


12

You are right, Some first level spells are not (that) useful for first level characters The combat rules for measuring the duration of effects (including spells) state: When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that ...


11

Jimbo would receive both the bonus from rage and from his challenge because although they are both morale bonuses, his rage only affects his ability scores whereas the challenge provides a straight +1 to hit. The whole similar bonuses not stacking does not care about incidentals like the fact the morale bonus to strength gives him +1 to hit and damage. If ...


10

1) It is a coat. The line "You can use this coat" covers that for me. 2) and 3) Its possible that it falls in between, but see below. Common terms states: Bonus (Armor) An armor bonus applies to Armor Class and is granted by armor or by a spell or magical effect that mimics armor. {snip} Heavens Coat of Many Stars states: Coat of Many Stars ...


9

The word that comes to my mind is 'ALLIES'. The ally is an NPC that wants (or needs) the group. They can help in three ways A) Offer themselves to the group as a wandering helper. A person who wants to travel to the city you are going to will welcome the extra security. B) Offer them equipment to help the part. It could be a character's parent (mum!) ...


6

Under Creating Psicrowns: Psicrowns are always created with full power points and have a maximum number of power points equal to ten times the psicrown’s daily recharge rate. The recharge rates are determined by the type of psicrown: 1/3 psicrown’s manifester level (round down) for lesser, 1/2 psicrown’s manifester level (round up) for greater, and ...


6

Coat of Many Stars (Su): You conjure a coat of starry radiance that grants you a +4 armor bonus. At 7th level, and every four levels thereafter, this bonus increases by +2. At 13th level, this armor grants you DR 5/slashing. You can use this coat for 1 hour per day per oracle level. The duration does not need to be consecutive; it can instead be spent in ...


6

Yes The "divine" half is not Fire damage: Half the damage is fire damage, but the other half results directly from divine power and is therefore not subject to being reduced by resistance to fire-based attacks. As it's not fire damage, Fire immunity doesn't apply.


5

Bonus feats are assigned by the monster designer to represent traits he feels every member of that monster race should have. In your example, those elementals ALWAYS have those bonus feats at every size. Air Elementals are always quick as the wind (Improved Initiative) and deadly accurate (Weapon Finesse). These are intrinsic to nature of air elementals, ...


4

No. The few Familiars that can automatically speak, do so "as a supernatural ability." From PFSRD: Familiar Basics Skills: [...] Regardless of a familiar's total skill modifiers, some skills may remain beyond the familiar's ability to use. and further down that page: Intelligent Animals Increasing an animal's Intelligence to 3 or ...


4

Doppelganger Simulacrum and Alchemical Simulacrum are widely different abilities. Doppelganger Simulacrum creates a copy of your own body, that you can use in order to prevent your original body from taking harm. Alchemical Simulacrum is the Discovery version of the spell Lesser Simulacrum, which creates a partially real duplicate of a creature, that is ...


4

James Jacobs says it adds to the damage of the triggering attack (typically, the second claw that hits, though it varies by monster), which is also how the Two-Weapon Rend feat works, meaning that it does not apply DR again nor Power Attack again (nor Sneak Attack or on-hit effects like flaming), because it's just bonus damage on the attack.


3

Your questions boil down to: What is Mass Combat Leadership and do you have to have the Leadership feat. If Leadership feat is not needed how does the feat effect Mass Combat. Will taking Leadership early make my character overpowered and should I offer one of my abilities in return for getting the feat early. So lets answer these questions. Mass ...


3

Keep in mind that readying an action DOES change your initiative to just before the person you would be interrupting. Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don't get to take the readied ...


3

It seems like the obvious answer here is to give the characters something that they can ACCOMPLISH. Whatever your motivations for things so far, it's clear that the party is basically battered by events. They feel like they are adrift at the mercy of whatever happens to them. The cure for this is to set up some situations in which the party is clearly in ...


3

If there is no action described, then it's up to the witch to decide exactly how she performs the hex in question. A hex takes a standard action to use and does not provoke an AoO (under normal circumstances) which suggests that the action taken is normally either innocuous or at the very least not particularly noteworthy or complex, at least until your nose ...


3

From the Pathfinder SRD entry on the Astral Plane: Timeless: Age, hunger, thirst, afflictions (such as diseases, curses, and poisons), and natural healing don't function in the Astral Plane, though they resume functioning when the traveler leaves the Astral Plane. The Astral Plane is not Timeless in regards to magic, so you couldn't cheap (cheat?) ...


2

I don't think so, based on what it says right here: The demiplane is another plane of existence, and therefore is outside the range of any spell or ability that cannot affect or reach other planes. and An ejected creature goes to the closest plane to your demiplane (usually the Astral Plane or the Ethereal Plane, So your new demiplane is not ...


2

Yes you may make combat maneuvers with prehensile hair Page 199 Core Rulebook: When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to ...


2

It Depends on the Hex A witch's hex is either an extraordinary ability if labeled (Ex), a spell-like ability if labeled (Sp), or a supernatural ability if labeled (Su). In general, unless noted otherwise, none of these require the creature to perform certain obvious gestures, chant magic words, or employ dime-store trinkets to make an effect happen. In the ...


2

The description for Alchemical Simulacrum reads: This works like the lesser simulacrum spell, except it costs 100 gp in alchemical materials per Hit Die of the simulacrum, requires 24 hours to grow, and decays into inert flesh rather than ice or snow if killed. And Lesser Simulacrum has a duration of 1 hour / level, so the Alchemical Simulacrum would ...


2

If you count third party sources and take a feat (extra familiar) specially for that purpose, you can have a second familiar, but as said in the answer by briddums, you don't get an extra familiar for different classes that grant it as a class feature.


2

As a "healing witch," the Healing hex is absolutely worth it. One free healing spell for anyone every day. You will use this all the time instead of wasting potions/money. You will use this hex forever. Be very aware that Cackle requires a move action, and can very quickly degrade your action economy until you are caught in a move-and-cackle trap. Don't ...


2

The rules are murky, but I'd rule it's not a valid target. A coat can be either a dress or something covering you, like a coat of paint, so I won't say the Coat of Many Stars qualifies as a vestment. Even if that was the case, I won't consider it an outfit of regular clothing. Regular does not necessarily mean mundane (for instance, it would be ok to ...


2

Get or create a costume "Staff of the Planes" I couldn't find such an item in the rules, but the rules for staves creation allow creating new types of staves. It will be extremely expensive, but you'll get an item which will allow you to use Greater Create Demiplane up to 10 times before needing to find a more powerful caster to recharge it for you (until ...


2

The rules for determining "daily recharge rate" are in the last paragraph of the description of psicrowns before the list of "standard" varieties (emphasis mine): The minimum manifester level of a psicrown is 8th for lesser, 11th for greater, and 14th for true. The type of a specific psicrown determines its daily recharge rate: 1/3 psicrown’s manifester ...


2

For Pathfinder specifically, YES As Eugene notes, Alchemical Power Components are your obvious first step - at +1 damage, for a one-time investment of under 50 GP (exact prices vary), you should always make sure to keep one on hand. 2-4 damage. The Elemental Pupil trait gives you a +1 to all elemental damage with your chosen element, bringing it up to 3-5 ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible