Hot answers tagged

6

Multiplication of "xN" multipliers on a roll is a special case with a special rule in the game (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/glossary#TOC-Multiplying). It doesn't even apply to all multiplication in the game, just that on rolls that use a multiplier. Division is not lined out as a special case, it works like normal math (plus rounding down ...


4

This DM would rule that a pearl of power only needs to be in the caster's possession for it to be used The pearl of power's description says, in part, "Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day," and Using Items on Use Activated says, "A few [magic items] must simply ...


2

Except for one particularly fastidious GM, I have never seen this rule implemented. I have seen tables talk about this rule, which partially guides the answers below. And of course, some people somewhere do use it, but there are a few good reasons it is seldom used (in my experience): Handwaving Magic Item Identification One reason you don't see this ...


2

Per PFSRD: At the time of creation, the creator must decide if the weapon glows or not... The "fully 30%" statistic is for found magical items; that is, at least 30% of extant magic weapons glow. When placing treasure, the GM can choose or roll as he chooses. This, of course, could vary for your personal game.


1

A caster level gained due to spell-like abilities is insufficient to meet the caster level prerequisite for an item creation feat The Pathfinder Core Rulebook FAQ on Item Creation includes this brief exchange: Does having a caster level from a spell-like ability meet the caster level prerequisite for selecting an item creation feat? No. Thus a monk ...


1

Just like any other usable item, I would think it would have to be held. You can't use a potion by having it in your possession but not out to be used. Neither can you you use a wand if it's in your backpack. The only exception to this rule would be something that takes up a body slot- stuff like armor (because you're actively wearing it).


1

Your DC never scales The PRD tells us this about familiars: It retains the appearance, Hit Dice, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, skills, and feats of the normal animal it once was, but is now a magical beast for the purpose of effects that depend on its type. I assume that the "effective hit dice" you're referring to comes from this rule later ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible