Tag Info

New answers tagged

5

Here is the link to the FAQ by Paizo. It states, Trip: When a prone character stands up and provokes an attack of opportunity, can I use that attack to trip the character again? No. The attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved. In this case, the target is still prone when the attack of opportunity occurs ...


5

No. Attacks of opportunity are resolved prior to the triggering event. Standing up provokes an AoO, and sure, you could use it to trip him again, but he's already prone (technically, he's just starting to stand up). After your AoO resolves, the victim then stands up. (However, the victim is probably fairly out of luck in this particular scenario, since ...


-3

I have often used intelligence as a "fair" measure of control when it comes to overly powerful game items. The trick is to give the artifact a personality and if a particular usage is against such alignment the artifact may refuse to invoke an ability. The players may or may not have a way to communicate with the item, but that is for another story... The ...


11

According to d20pfsrd, the major difference between a major and minor artifact is how many there are. It even point out that "Minor artifacts are not necessarily unique items", just that they merely can no longer be created by common mortals. A major artifact on the other hand is one-of-a-kind, there are no copies and most likely never will be. The problem ...


3

From the core rulebook's definition: Minor artifacts Minor artifacts are not necessarily unique items. Even so, they are magic items that no longer can be created, at least by common mortal means but still will likely have a great impact on the adventurers and societies through whose hands they pass. Minor artifacts are typically distinguished as ...


-1

No There is no other way to allow you to threaten with a Whip outside of taking these three feats. The only advantage using a whip instead of a reach weapon will provide is allow you to threaten squares adjacent to you. While wielding a whip, you threaten the area of your natural reach plus 5 feet Improved Whip Mastery will allow you to threaten 10 ...


3

You don't know and can't choose; it's random so roll dice The alchemical item elemental flux (20 gp; 1 lb.) says This flask of alchemical powder reacts to the elemental power in suli blood. Adding at least 1 hit point worth of suli blood to it creates an alchemical splash weapon. The splash weapon works like a flask of acid, except the damage is a ...


0

The Scorpion Whip (from Ultimate Combat) can be used either as a normal 'light performance weapon' or as a whip if you are also proficient with a whip. The text doesn't say what kind of action it would take to swap between the two; if any, but if your GM will let you have it as a swift action or quicker (and I would suggest that its not an action), then it ...


15

Half-celestial does not make any requirements on your alignment, and you cannot fall as a half-celestial the way a paladin can; there is no such thing as an “ex-half-celestial,” no way to lose the template or its powers. They list “Always Good” as an alignment, but always does not actually mean always with alignment; you can have non-Good half-celestials. ...


12

Yes and no. There are two different things called "Web" in Pathfinder: the web ability and the web spell. If you're casting the web spell, you can't target a single creature. As the spell description states: These masses must be anchored to two or more solid and diametrically opposed points or else the web collapses upon itself and disappears. Web ...


4

RAW as a Neutral, Lawful or Chaotic Druid he can choose each time. Your ruling isn't entirely unreasonable though - it is a powerful feat. However, if you stick to that ruling, I would give him the opportunity to pick a different feat if he wishes. It's probably still worth him taking though.


3

A goliath warden is, to date, my favorite character in 4e. I really wish there was a straight answer to your question, a single class that captures the essence of the warden, but 3.5 did not do defenders much at all, and no class really matches the warden. That said, we can get close, particularly if we do use a little bit of a second class. Goliath ...


0

(Note: I am unable to find a definition of "object" in the rules that differs from its dictionary definition, and therefore assume that creatures are also objects. Note that if the creature you're flinging is immaterial, none of this answer applies.) The damage to the character being flung is fairly clear: between no damage and 1d6 damage is all that's ...


4

Technically, the spell sonic thrust deals damage only to a hurled object's target, not to the hurled creature or object itself... Most interpretations separate creatures and objects into two distinct categories. For example, on Aiming a Spell says Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the ...


0

Tactics wise Well, D&D 3.x so called "tanks", rather tahn being similar to the "penalties/punishment for hitting enemies, try to hit me instead of the squishy striker with too few HP and Pulses, hoping the Leader can keep me up more easily" are more of the "I'm hard to kill" variety. This is because being a Defender, save for some weak and easily ...


4

A creature brews any fleshgrafting poison at the GM's discretion The feat Brew Fleshcrafting Poison comes from Endless Night, the fourth chapter of the Second Darkness adventure path for Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 (that's what OGL after the path's entry on the Paizo Web site means). The feat's included on the d20PFSRD site, but it's unavailable on Paizo's ...


1

Powerful build is an unusual feature; there are only three ways to get it, two from Dreamscarred Press (half-giant and an astral suit option for the aegis) and one by Open Design (and the dogmole juggernaut is on an Int-2 animal who lacks the ability to wield weapons anyway). This being the case, the fact that Dreamscarred Press wrote both half-giant and ...


5

Yes. The soulknife ability clearly states that if a soulknife has Powerful build the knife it manifests is larger to match the ability. So you would deal increased damage due to having a larger knife than say.. a regular human. By design this also means if you can find a way to get Enlarge Person to increase your size, then you would also benefit from the ...


3

In the event that you do roll to hit and pass the 50% chance stated in the description for incorporeal creatures when attacking with spells that don't do damage, no. The damage that it mentions is hit point damage from corporeal sources. The ability damage would not be halved. However, you should take the following into account: An incorporeal creature ...


0

I would assume based on the wording of the feat that you can use that feat to emulate any Supernatural(Su), Extraordinary(Ex), or Spell-Like(Sp) ability that a monster happens to have in their description through the creation of a potion using a piece of that monster as a catalyst. This includes but isn't limited to Breath Weapons(Su), Poisons that a ...


3

Taking MrLemon's suggestion and googling site:http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/aberrations/ negative produces 6 results, which after filtering out 'negative level' reduces to 3 aberrations with negative energy abilities, though not necessarily breath weapons. They are as follows: Trench Mist Havero Drakainia Of all of those, the Trench ...


2

This is a progression to level 11, involving 4 classes. Vivisectionist Alchemist grants sneak attack, a mutagen to improve Dex as well as opening up discoveries(to take an additional limb to allow for reloading of firearms. Urban Barbarian allows for rage to improve Dex rather than Str/Con. Weapon Master Fighter aids in the protection of the weapon as well ...


-2

Wouldn't logic of what your using neceomancy on dictate this. If you use a freshly killed townsperson that you slayed to raise. As opposed to an evil bandit that you slayed to save the town and now are enslaving in the gods name for good to repay his debt. Really its a grey area and needs to be entwined into the charcters story the book can be your answer ...


10

You can put multiple spells on the same scroll Magic Item Creation on Creating Scrolls on Time Required says Scribing a scroll requires 1 day per 1,000 gp of the base price. Although an individual scroll might contain more than one spell, each spell must be scribed as a separate effort, meaning that no more than 1 spell can be scribed in a day. So, ...


3

The physical description of a scroll states the following: A scroll is a heavy sheet of fine vellum or high-quality paper. An area about 8-1/2 inches wide and 11 inches long is sufficient to hold one spell. The sheet is reinforced at the top and bottom with strips of leather slightly longer than the sheet is wide. A scroll holding more than one spell has ...


5

There definitely isn't a lot of information regarding multiple spells on one scroll, but it is possible. According to Scrolls A scroll is a spell (or collection of spells) that has been stored in written form So we definitely can have more then one spell on a scroll. To create a scroll, you'll first need the Scribe Scroll feat, which will allow you ...


2

PRD, Magic Items: Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell. A spell being cast from a wondrous item works similarly, it assumes the ...


-1

After reading the item description and the spell, due to the way that magic items normally function it would be the caster level of which the item has been made with. The item clearly states near the top that its caster level is 3. So the sword would do 1d8 +1. The attack however would be based on your stats since its unrealistic to have the stats of ...


3

"Miss" is a very specific thing that happens with concealment, blur, mirror image, among other things. Make the attack normally—if the attacker hits, the defender must make a miss chance d% roll to avoid being struck. Clearly you need to make the attack roll as normal. You also need to overcome their AC. AFTER that, they get another chance to avoid the ...


11

Fire > Cold > Electricity > Acid To answer your first question, in general, your best bet would be to make your Elemental Metamagic Rod an Acid Rod. In my experience the fewest number of creatures in all the Bestiaries have resistance/immunity to Acid. However, take this with a grain of salt because your campaign setting may be completely different. My ...


2

Only if it includes the square(s) you're in Swallow Whole reads: If a creature with this special attack begins its turn with an opponent grappled in its mouth (see Grab), it can attempt a new combat maneuver check (as though attempting to pin the opponent). If it succeeds, it swallows its prey, and the opponent takes bite damage. Unless otherwise noted, ...


9

No. Spells require line of effect in order to affect a target. If you are completely obscured from a character (ie. you have total cover) then you can't be hit by that character (exception being a Spread which can fold around corners, in which case the origin of the spread must be in line of effect to the caster). There are 3 main kinds of areas of effect ...


12

Yes, lightning bolt affects everyone in its line of effect Creatures do not block line-of-effect, so areas extend through them A line area effect targets all squares (within the limits of its range and shape) to which the effect has line-of-effect. Magic Overview > Aiming a Spell > Area > Cone, Cylinder, Line, or Sphere A line-shaped spell shoots away ...


8

Lightning Bolt is has an area of effect; 'line'. From the CRB chapter on Magic: A line-shaped spell shoots away from you in a line in the direction you designate. It starts from any corner of your square and extends to the limit of its range or until it strikes a barrier that blocks line of effect. A line-shaped spell affects all creatures in squares ...


2

This exact question was answered just this Friday in the most recent FAQ posting on paizo's site. Wild armor and other transforming armor: When I use a wild armor and gain the armor’s benefits, what restrictions, if any, apply to me? In general, when I transform with a polymorph effect and some of my gear melds into the form, what restrictions do I have ...


14

I have played monks with Dex-to-damage as well as Wis-to-damage (and Wis-to-attack, for that matter). These things help, undoubtedly, but they are not really sufficient to solve the problems. The big advantage here is that they allow a certain amount of reduced Multiple Ability Dependency. This helps some of the monk’s serious “number” problems – their HP, ...


0

First off, monks are not underpowered, just as rogues, they rely on skills and situational abilities, and those are underrated by the community. Now, monks shine when you apply archetypes to it, the vanilla (core rulebook's) monk looks underpowered when compared to classes that came after the CRB and have more feats and new spells. The Qinggong Monk ...


1

Have you looked into the Unchained Monk class update by chance? It's on the d20pfsrd site. The whole "unchained" book is about variant rules and classes to address issues with power levels and balance. The Monk, Summoner, Rogue and Barbarian all got the treatment. I've only really looked at the Monk and Rogue classes, and both looked like they got more ...


1

If a flame sphere is moved on top of both characters, they both take damage. As damaging area spells don't make a difference between friend or foe (unless said so on the text). The rule about a grapple trying to force the grappled target into a dangerous area doesn't apply here because the spell was moved by someone outside the grapple. If a flaming sphere ...


0

Rules as Written It may seem that way, but the ability further clarifies how it works: Cold (Ex) An ice golem's body generates intense cold, dealing 1d6 points of damage with its touch. Creatures attacking an ice golem with unarmed strikes or natural weapons take this same cold damage each time one of their attacks hits. So two things happen ...


0

Yes According to the Chokehold Combat Feat: While you have an opponent up to one size category larger than you grappled, you can attempt a grapple combat maneuver with a –5 penalty on the check. If you succeed, you have pinned your opponent and hold the opponent in a chokehold. The Pinned status states: Pinned is a more severe version of ...


1

You can hold your breath 2 rounds per Constitution point, and keep holding it after these rounds for as long as you don't fail your saving throws. During the rounds you are holding your breath, there is a 50% chance you don't have to make a saving throw against the poison. A creature can attempt to hold its breath while inside the area to avoid ...


2

Note that it mentions nothing about the weight of the items being carries no longer applying, so assuming your strength does not change when you wildshape, if you were encumbered then, you will be encumbered after because the weight/mass is still there. One problem with this conclusion is that if we accept it, then changing into a significantly ...


1

Pinning someone grants the following penalties: Pinned Creature is unable to move. Is denied their Dexterity bonus to AC ( but is not considered flat footed ) Takes an additional -4 to AC Can use its actions as an attempt to free itself ( Grappler gets +5 CMD to continue a grapple ) Can take Verbal or Mental actions, but is unable to cast spells which ...


19

No A Flat-Footed penalty will still apply. According to Ability Scores: A positive modifier is called a bonus, and a negative modifier is called a penalty. With this in mind, when looking for an ability bonus, only use a positive modifier. Example: Looking at Flat-Footed AC with a Dex of 9 According to Armor Class Sometimes you can't use your ...


5

Wild shape is governed by the rules of polymorph found here In the rules for polymorph the rules state the following: Unless the new form is humanoid, all gear merges into the form. Constant bonuses (except AC) remain. Activation items can't be activated. Material components are not accessible while merged into the form. So the gear he buys will still ...


5

There aren't any rules regarding how tired the rider gets from riding overland in PF. Therefore, you don't get tired when riding overland in PF, by RAW. Obviously regular rest rules apply. Your GM is free to change that by fiat, which you are free to take issue with. You should be able to gallop a horse into the ground, and be fresh as a daisy by the end, ...


1

By my reading: Casting Time 1 round, so the spell doesn't go off until immediately before your next turn. Pretty straightforward. Next round, just before your turn comes up, the spell completes and you may take an unarmed full attack or flurry of blows as if you had taken a full attack action. I agree it's poorly worded, but the example in the text makes ...


11

It's instantaneous the way a fireball is instantaneous: the spell effect happens, hurts people, and then is gone. You cast the spell, taking a round to cast it. When it is complete, it has the effect in its description: you hit the target with a variable number of crows for X [fire/negative] damage per crow, with the number of crows being equal to the ...


2

Closest thing I know of would be the d20pfsrd.com website. And even then, its more that it has a lot of that sort of information available in one place, and does reference it's existence. Edit: Found something for you http://sourceforge.net/projects/scoreforge/



Top 50 recent answers are included