Tag Info

New answers tagged

8

Pathfinder http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/druid#TOC-Wild-Shape-Su- A druid loses her ability to speak while in animal form because she is limited to the sounds that a normal, untrained animal can make, but she can communicate normally with other animals of the same general grouping as her new form. (emphasis mine) At 6th level, a ...


3

Except as described elsewhere, the creature retains all other game statistics of its original form Because with alternate form, The creature gains the physical ability scores (Str, Dex, Con) of its new form. It retains the mental ability scores (Int, Wis, Cha) of its original form. I would come to the conclusion, that as long as the new form was ...


0

Playing a PC's familiar is a lovely way to casually drop-in on a game in an otherwise NPC/PC extension role. Pros Low commitment, both in terms of time, and in terms of commitment to a gaming group (can be a great way to join in and get a feel for a game as a player before diving in with a PC). Easy role to play for cute/funny (if that is appropriate to ...


2

I actually did a similar thing in my last campaign. This requires access to the druid spell list, so it might not work for you depending on which divine spells you can cast. It also may require some cooperation from your DM. Stone Area If the area you are constructing your base in is already rocky then you can simply use the 2nd level spell Soften Stone ...


1

You can cast domain spells in your arcane slots with just Mystic Theurge, you don't need the other stuff. If you have a level in arcanist, you can use it just as you say. Be aware you cannot use it with your cleric spells, even cleric spells prepared in Arcanist slots, as the arcanist ability applies only to spells prepared as an arcanist (even if they are ...


-2

The balance reason is that alchemical items are ranged touch attacks that still do damage on a miss. Touch attacks are easier to hit with, plus splash weapons are guaranteed damage. Imagine a feat that let a Wizard get two Scorching Rays per round with no use of wands or Quicken Spell. Against a group of enemies that are close together, the damage can be ...


4

Check out 3.5 Unearthed Arcana's ritual spellcasting. It works marvelously under E6, since the skill bonuses don't yet reach overpowering levels and the 30-ish difficulties are yet near-epic. One of the example incantations there is the plane shift to a predefined plane. It has a casting time of 60 minutes and requires six successful DC 20 checks of two ...


-1

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/mythic/mythic-feats/mythic-spell-lore-mythic To select a mythic spell, you must be able to cast the non-mythic version or have it on your list of spells known. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/hybrid-classes/shaman/spirits/lore Arcane Enlightenment (Su): The shaman's native intelligence grants her the ability to tap into ...


1

First, I'd like to say that this kind of oversight and poor editing is common in the Mythic rules, and it's likely that whoever wrote the Mythic Spellcasting rules wasn't thinking about retraining spells when they wrote the feat and power. Thus, any ruling you make on this will likely be supported by at least one interpretation of the rules text. That ...


5

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/hybrid-classes/swashbuckler#TOC-Deeds Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex) : At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an ...


0

The opportune parry is treated "as if she were making an attack of opportunity"; it seems like if you can't take an AoO against the incoming attack (say, because it's incorporeal) then you can't parry it. It also appears to be in line with RAI at least to add a miss chance if the swashbuckler is using a magical, but not ghost touch, weapon to parry an ...


13

Mage armor, like virtually every buff spell, has a duration. It lasts for its duration, or until dispelled. Mage armor doesn't end because its target became unconscious. It continues to apply even WHILE they are unconscious. An unconscious, prone, mage armored target is still four AC points harder to hit than the same target would be if not mage armored. ...


4

First of all, I always assumed Bonus=Benefit in the context of solo tactics. Anything else didn't even occur to me. Regarding your question, the FAQ offers a precedent for Benefit = Bonus in the context of Outflank's secondary ability. Benefit: [...] In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of ...


2

Ultimate Rulership by Legendary Games is designed as an expansion to the kingdom building rules in Pathfinder's Ultimate Campaign. It has a section on building a "Cavern City", which is the closest thing I know about. A cavern city is one built underground. Common among dwarves, drow, and similar deep dwellers, surface kingdoms can establish cavern ...


4

You are correct in assuming the stronghold builder's guide contains the information you are looking for. It has information on the costs of building below ground, including successive costs for deeper layers, and the difference between turning a cave of appropriate size and shape vs new excavations. The Stronghold Builder's guide is 3.0, but with the ...


2

You are correct. The only restriction on what creatures can be targeted with Smite Evil is that the paladin must be able to see the creature to be targeted. Another way of phrasing that restriction would be to say that the target must be within line of sight. The line of sight rules state: A line of sight is the same as a Line of Effect but with the ...


10

Using an inappropriately sized weapon applies a -2 penalty to hit, and raises the weapon by one 'category' (light->one-handed->two-handed->unusable). So, to use your example, a Large Light Crossbow, while it would do the same damage as a Heavy Crossbow, would have a penalty to hit and a shorter range. There's no good reason to do it. Further, depending on ...


0

First off, one of the most important things to keep in mind when dealing with a flying mount is the mount's encumbrance limit of light load. Because of that, until you can get a mount's strength(or equivalent strength) high enough flying mounts don't serve very well in combat. All advice assumes an 'Always in the Air' character concept. 1: Per prior note, ...


7

In the description of smite evil: The smite evil effect remains until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the paladin rests and regains her uses of this ability. Also, the section you quote says: As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. All of the effects of smite evil stay in effect until the target ...


6

I can't find the exact rule on the Pathfinder SRD, but there's a link to a topic here that describes it: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2n3i9?Question-about-diagonal-movement And this is the rule in the D20SRD, which I'm pretty confident is the same: http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm You might find the exact rule in your ...


15

The FAQ has an answer to your question! When you cast a spell that allows you to make a ranged touch attack (such as scorching ray), and an enemy is within reach, do you provoke two attacks of opportunity? Yes, you provoke two attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack, since these are two separate events. ...


0

Yes, the wizard provokes for making a ranged attack, and for casting a spell. The details are as follow: Under the section on combat, under the casting a spell section, we get: Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not ...


3

Leshys in general can be read about here, in the SRD, or in the Bestiary 3 entry. The entry does in fact cover the requirements, there just aren't very many. You also may have missed the overview section, which is at the beginning and not attached to any specific Leshy. Leshys are nearly free, take a very small amount of time to craft, and have powerful ...


4

Familiars are not for combat. Not even Improved Familiars. All familiars are fragile creatures. If you want a pet that's of any use in combat, get an Animal Companion (though even those lose relevance at higher levels). The primary advantage of basic familiars is that they give you a bonus (to your save, skill, HP or initiative). The primary advantage of ...


8

PCGen is wrong here. A Samurai's Mount works like a druids animal companion, and uses the base statistics described under animal companion for a Horse Companion, including a bite attack with 1d4 base damage. That said, the reason for the discrepancy in PCGen is that a Horse's Bite is exceptionally weak for its size. Universal Monster Rules: Natural Attack ...


12

There are a very large number of possibilities for Improved Familiar, see the list on the d20pfsrd page. Even the basic options (imp, quasit) are way better than "a thrush or a weasel." But it's not about combat (a quasit can kill an infinite number of thrushes, but zero of anything that's CR appropriate for you as a level 7+ caster) - it's about options ...


0

Oil If your party isn't packing this, a TPK is a good way to teach them the virtues of Black Gold. Or, you know, they could run away and jump in a stream or something. Anyways: Alchemist's fire in Pathfinder sucks. It does only 1 point of splash damage and so isn't even useful against tight clumps of enemies, wherein it's probably supposed to be more ...


-1

Swarms aren't immune to Sneak Attack Seriously. They're not. You don't do your dagger's 1d4 but you still do your 6d6 precision damage. So basically you're fine. If you need more advice: You can pour a pint of oil on the ground to cover an area 5 feet square, provided that the surface is smooth. If lit, the oil burns for 2 rounds and deals 1d3 ...


2

My understanding: A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. There’s the damage from a direct hit by the weapon (the “weapon damage”), and then there is the “splash damage”). You cannot score a direct hit on a swarm (or, you can, but it doesn’t ...


4

Yes, it does end. The general rules for magic state: Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents, are considered attacks. Aiding Another, because it either makes an opponent more vulnerable to attack or less able to attack back, is an offensive combat action. Note that this does not ...


6

There is a difference between the three subtypes of conjuration you mention. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over ...


1

Since it doesn't mention anything about the creature being allowed to take things back, I would agree with your assessment that no, you cannot take anything back to your plane of origin when the spell/effect ends. Only the things you brough with you are returned.


4

I'd say yes, aid another does break invisibility. Strictly going by the RAW we have from the Invisibility spell: The spell ends if the subject attacks any creature. For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe. From the aid another action, which you quote: If you're in position to ...


7

It can, or the cutting part wouldn't work. The Pathfinder rules are based on a list of things characters can normally do, such as using skills, or attacking. This list is not absolute. A spellcaster can also cast spells, or you can't use diplomacy on someone trying to kill you at the same time. However, any deviation from the general set of possibilities ...


4

Yes. From the Intelligence description: Some creatures do not possess an Intelligence score. Their modifier is +0 for any Intelligence-based skills or checks. But do note that Astral Constructs are mindless (= Int —), and as such have no skill points, as per the construct type. (Contrary to popular belief[citation needed], not all constructs are ...


7

Let's see what the rules actually say Nonproficient with Armor Worn: A character who wears armor and/or uses a shield with which he is not proficient takes the armor's (and/or shield's) armor check penalty on attack rolls as well as on all Dexterity- and Strength-based ability and skill checks. The penalty for nonproficiency with armor stacks with the ...


1

Most people don't generally become adventurers the moment they become physically adult sized. For humans, physical decay kicks in shortly after adolescence. Your muscles tend to get weaker and it takes more effort to keep them strong. Your brain gets full of knowledge, but it stops learning new things as fast or as easily (possibly because of that ...


3

Let's look at what the rules say about casting touch spells. Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the ...


5

1) Look at how feats are written. They are written Prerequisites: ... Benefit: ... The duelist class ability says you gain the benefit. It says nothing about the prerequisites. You get what it says (the benefits) and don't need the rest (the prerequisites). It even goes further to modify the benefit by saying you don't need a free hand to use ...


3

Yes, the ranged touch attack is a part of the spell, and the spell as a whole is quickened. So your swift action includes the attack. There is nothing in the Quicken Spell feat that says attacks made as part of a spell are not quickened, and there is nothing in general about attacks that prevents them from being made as part of a swift action. This is not ...


2

No, you don't need the prerequisites. As a class ability, you gain the benefits of a certain feat under certain circumstances with no strings attached. Some classes explicitly clarify that you don't need the prerequisites (monk and ranger, I believe, are the examples). Yes, you can, since the class ability is not the actual feat. You will need to fulfill ...


2

Probably so by RAW and yes in practice. The reason a summoned creature takes until the beginning of your next turn to act is because that's when a one-round spell comes into effect: the creature is not present before then. A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round ...


3

Summoning a creature as a spell takes a full round (barring some other ability that lets you summon more quickly). That means that you start summoning on your turn in round 1, the monster appears on your turn in round 2 and may act, and the summoner may then do something else in round 2 as well. Summoning as a Summoner ability takes a standard action, but ...


4

The wording is "that grant familiars," not "that can grant familiars." Rogue counts as a class that grants a familiar if and only if you actually take the familiar talent, and then it only adds (rogue level − 4) to the combined level for the purpose of your familiar’s benefits.


4

Since the Deck is a Minor Artefact without a listed price, the Wish spell cannot create one. The only reasonable way to resolve the spell is if it summons an existing Deck to you, which means that its old owner now is missing a Deck of Many Things. Which probably puts you in "doing so is dangerous" territory, depending on who the old owner of the Deck was ...


8

Step 1: Find an existing cave system, or similar preexisting underground space, such as sewers or catacombs Step 2: Add sturdy doors. Step 3: Decorate. Seriously, if at all possible this is a good place to start. You get an existing location which can be blocked off and explored in stages. You enter, explore a bit, add doors to block of any areas you ...


3

Yes, with a caveat: Magic Ammunition and Breakage: When a magic arrow, crossbow bolt, or sling bullet misses its target, there is a 50% chance it breaks or is otherwise rendered useless. A magic arrow, bolt, or bullet that successfully hits a target is automatically destroyed after it delivers its damage. For Arrow Eruptions: You create exact ...


6

Yes, the Trapfinding bonus to Disable Device checks applies to all Disable Device skill checks. It says they get a flat bonus without circumstantial limitation, so that's what they get. If it was only supposed to apply to disabling traps, it would say so. The name is just there to identify and flavour the ability, it doesn't have any mechanical bearing. ...


5

There is not a single canon way this works in Pathfinder, it's left open to interpretation. However, there are several documented interpretations of how this works. The most colorful is the god callers of Sarkoris in Golarion. They believe that they are not "creating eidolons" but instead are bonding with and manifesting representations of divine ...


3

For one, Disable Device at 30ft means disabling traps while being outside of the "oh crap" range for most traps, so that even if you fail you'll most likely escape unharmed. Sleight of Hand means you can steal the keys off a guard through the bars of a prison, or pick an item off a table through a window, or steal someone's hat from a side-alley and many ...



Top 50 recent answers are included