Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

I'd agree with MrTumnus that -10 is a good baseline, although +10 for sleeping applies as well, for +0 base. Then you apply distance modifiers as usual, of course. For a sleeping dragon, say a young adult black dragon, that works out to having an even chance of waking up (rolling 11 or higher) if shout goes off 320 feet away, not counting closed doors ...


2

Scars and similar wounds When using the Combat section's Optional Rules: Scars and Wounds—half of which is just scars—or after having gained scars from another source,1 unless the scar's source says the scar is healed by magic, the scar isn't healed by magic. Scars aren't mentioned as removed by the spell heal, the spell regenerate, any version of the spell ...


1

Magic items are limited by places on the body to put them so that they fit/stay, and are not too close to one another (which is why you can only have one in each slot, can’t wear ten rings, etc.) When you have more body parts to put things on, you get to use more items. When you have fewer, you miss out on some items. See Table: Magic Item Slots for Animals ...


3

As the author of said feat for Pathfinder, the intent is the first choice (2+3+4+5). We will take the chance to update the feat with an example in our upcoming revision of Psionics Unleashed.


1

You double the total cost, including augmentations. There is no division between "base cost" and "augmentation cost" - only the cost to manifest a power.


4

This is not a credible concern. There are many summoners in PFS play, and while they deservedly get a bad rap for being OP, they do not have chronic issues with GMs screwing them over. The Unchained summoner was designed to mitigate the OP problem in the first place. "Can" one do so? Sure, they're GMs, they can do all kinds of stuff to you. But you appear ...


4

There are no hard rules for Perception, there are so many possibilities in terms of what characters might hear, see, or smell in a given situation that they just gave a reference table. The item on the table that likely most fits with this situation is "Hear the sound of battle - DC –10" though a final ruling is up to your DM.


11

Don't worry about it The Pathfinder Unchained summoner, like the original summoner, has the following text describing the class feature eidolon: The eidolon forms a link with the summoner, who forever after summons an aspect of the same creature. Unless an effect's severed the link the eidolon forms with the summoner, the summoner brings forth only an ...


3

The Plane of Earth does not work the way you think it does. As described on this article, the Plane of Earth is full of caves and host to a number of populations of other, not "non-breathing" species. Your eidolon will be alright waiting there to be summoned again the next day.


4

They gain the subtype, but not its features From the rules on Unchained Eidolons: The first time a summoner calls his eidolon, he must decide on its subtype. The eidolon's subtype determines a number of its base statistics and abilities, as well as its overall look and theme. The subtype also determines what sort of evolutions the summoner can select ...


2

I think the actual look of the style is less important than what it means to be in said style. What I mean by this is that if a building is described as Elven then it can be assumed that it was built by elves and maybe even for elves to dwell/do business in. If you are looking for a dwarf in some city it would be important to note that "the buildings down ...


-8

If there is a rule which states "specific beats general" that applies to all rules then it must be the most general rule in the system. If so, it is overruled by all the other rules, which are more specific. Which makes it meaningless. Pathfinder, learning from the mistakes of 3.5, must have realized this and not stated is an explicit rule, thus exempting ...


9

The phrase itself appears in the errata documents for various D&D 3.5 publications, including those books which were included in the System Reference Document that forms the basis for Pathfinder. In that context, it is referring to contradictions between different D&D 3.5 products. However, the phrase is used more generally to refer to the d20 ...


10

There is no good way to have what the book calls a scimitar that is a light weapon. Burning feats or taking −2 attack penalties for wielding an undersized scimitar are ridiculously painful for something that should be very simple. Instead, take the stats of a kukri, call it a “light scimitar,” and you’re good to go.1 The rules of the game never define ...


0

You can craft a Small Scimitar, if you really want to use a light scimitar instead of a kukri for instance. That way the weapon is small for your character, but would be medium for a halfling, yet still fully qualifying for feats and two-weapon fighting. Let me add that your damage dice will go one step down though, from D6 to D4. Also, as @I Can Chan ...


4

Weapon Choice feat from Torn Asunder: Critical Hits PFRPG Edition, page 96. http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/86417/Torn-Asunder-Critical-Hits-PFRPG-Edition Prerequisites: Dex 13+, Weapon Proficiency (selected weapon), Weapon Focus (selected weapon), base attack bonus +4 or higher. Benefit: Choose one weapon of a size category equal to your own. You ...


6

Alright, let's start saying that your assumption to apply real world physics to explain how unexplained spell effects work isn't going to work very well, specially in D&D/Pathfinder. Now, Pathfinder has an two unwritten rules that say: "unless something says you can do it, you can't." and "specific rules override the ruling of the generic rule; and when ...


3

The "uncontrolled gestalt" Something many, many players and characters find interesting is the chance to occasionally use an ability from outside their purview - especially when they're a non-magic type getting access to occasional magic. Let the players bearing pieces of the McGuffin occasionally access the shard's power to do something they can't ...


-1

I've always understood that a double weapon used with two hands are actually two weapons, like when your character uses a sword and a dagger or a couple of scimitars. When you use the weapon with a single hand means that the usage is restricted, so you must count it as a single weapon and also you can apply only part of the character strength.


6

I fear that the information you're looking for does not exist. It's hard to prove a negative, admittedly, but I've never seen or heard of such information, and I imagine that something that comes up so often would have to be located somewhere easy to find. Since it apparently isn't, I'm fairly confident that the information does not exist in any Paizo ...


3

To the best of my knowledge, there are no general rules explaining whether or not it's possible to choose whether specific conditions and injuries can be left unaffected by general-purpose curative magic. It's a bit hard to prove a negative, though. Given that that's the situation, it's up to the GM to decide how this works. Does the spell's target get a ...


4

This dates from 3.5e (or earlier?) - the quote below is from the d20 SRD, and is the same in the PF SRD. Double Weapons Dire flails, dwarven urgroshes, gnome hooked hammers, orc double axes, quarterstaffs, and two-bladed swords are double weapons. A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he or she ...


0

Having done some research, you cannot use a two-handed weapon with one hand, even if it's a double weapon. This question on the Pathfinder FAQ states definitively that you can't use a two-handed weapon in one hand, effectively or not. However, the rules for double weapons apply to exceptions that allow you to use a two-handed weapon with one hand. For ...


3

The first quote implies that double weapons are all hand-and-a-half weapons, à la the bastard sword, and can be used as one-handed weapons. It does not, however, outright state this, and that is confusing. It does not state that you can ignore the “Two hands are required” clause for two-handed weapons, and double weapons are definitely1 two-handed ...


2

Technically yes, but when using both ends to TWF, most tables say no A double weapon is a type of two-handed weapon; every double weapon in the game is listed in the appropriate Two-Handed Weapon table. The rules for double weapons state that, when you use both ends of one in conjunction with the Two-Weapon Fighting option, the double weapon is treated as ...


1

Yes and no. A double weapon takes two hands to use, but only counts as a one-handed and light weapon when you are attacking with both ends. In order to use a double weapon to make a two-handed attack, you have to only use one end at a time: The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it. If you're ...


-1

You can find out a lot about the benefits of running aquatic campaigns here: http://dungeonmasterblock.podbean.com/e/ep-19-under-the-sea/ I'm recording a Part 2 next week as well, which should air 3-4 weeks after recording.


2

Do Whatever You Find Easiest/Most Comfortable I know this probably isn't very helpful of an answer by itself, but I feel like it is important to mention. There is no one right way to do answer this question. One of the best things about RPGs with your SO: You're not going to judge each other. You're not going to hold each other to unfair standards. If ...


3

Not much. There are lots of options in Pathfinder which trade accuracy (attack bonus) for various things (usually damage). You're using three of them here, which means you're choosing to give up a lot of accuracy. There's not much which is designed to negate the penalties, because otherwise they'd go from being tradeoffs to no-brainers. Your best bet ...


2

Sword and pistol is a really difficult combat style Beyond the typical items (e.g. those that grant a character enhancement bonuses to ability scores, weapons with enhancement bonuses), not much improves a sword-and-pistol-equipped fighter's ability to land attacks. I'm aware of only this: The wrists-slot item duelist's vambraces (8,000 gp; 2 lbs.) says ...


5

While, as Matthew Najmon points out, this works in this case because you misunderstood the effects of the polymorph spell, in the general case it also works. The requirements for a spell to take effect only matter when the spell comes into effect. This is why, for example, Minor Creation doesn't immediately fail once the created object leaves the 0 ft. ...


5

He could even cast Animal Growth last, and it would still work. Polymorph does not change the target's creature type. Note that it also doesn't buff the creature's intelligence, so while the creature would gain such useful things as opposable thumbs, it would still be operating on animal-level intelligence.


9

In 3.5e The only gear gods have listed in their possessions line in the 3.5e Deities and Demigods is zero or one iconic items, often a weapon but sometimes something else (like the crown of Thoth) that is either an artifact or a real powerful mash-up item. The rest of gear doesn't matter, and you'll note stat lines are pretty full of "+12 divine" or whatnot ...


5

Unfortunately, no explicit rules for the purchasing of normal scabbards, lead lined or otherwise, are given, at least in the SRD. Nonetheless, we can get a fairly precise answer. An ounce of lead is a costless focus component for the spell Lead Plating found in Kobolds of Golarion. This means that lead is effectively free, at least in the quantities you ...


4

Answer One I would rule that it is a masterwork scabbard, which is usually what, +50gp for normal equipment? If someone has some viridium I assume they could afford that. Lead is cheap but labor for making an unusual item is not. Answer Two If you can't find the answer to this, it's probably not worth the time digging it up. Make things up for the lacunae ...


5

Don't worry about gear. If your players have a confident plan to attack a god, it almost certainly won't come down to gear that the god has. Instead, figure out the style of his/her gear and go from there. 20th level npc wealth by level in pathfinder is 159kgp. Pulling random links from the internet, we have 11mgp at 35th level. Short version: "anything a ...


-2

I'd assume not. Think of Perseus, (though Perseus isn't a dnd campaign, I think the same logic applies) that it is not a direct line of sight.


5

Unless your god is one of poverty, this is irrelevant. A god is more than a being with 40 class levels. They have a divine spark, power beyond even the most potent of mortals. They can do things that draw awe and reverance from the common folk, and gain power from this in return. It is why they are gods. They can draw upon forces, allies and resources worth ...


1

Well, it depends what you mean by "clash." You will certainly have to make decisions in some cases as to which option you prefer. Characters Both products have both new content and adaptations of existing classes (Cerulean Seas a lot more than Sunken Empires). For example, the Barbarian in CS has "All movement modifiers apply to swim speed. For example, ...


0

I have used both products together without any problems with mechanics is the short answer. You may also want to check out Admiral O' the High Seas by EN Publishing if you want to include naval combat.


15

This will get gimmicky and old pretty fast if you're not careful, and you run the risk of burnout. That said, there are some ways to make it work. Pre-plan a few lines you know will get used. Prepare some fairly generic rhyming words you can use in a pinch to put a few lines together. Do not solely use couplets! Mix up your rhyme scheme with limericks ...


8

The answer is up to your GM. There isn't any specific RAW on whether or not not having a class is "0 levels" or "NULL levels," so this is a situation where the GM has to make a ruling. There are several items in Pathfinder that do this sort of thing, and the The Sash of the War Champion is, sadly, the odd one out in wording: Robe of Arcane Heritage: "When ...


0

If 3rd-party material is allowed in your game and if you are ever interested in playing a psion, I highly recommend looking into the Thrallherd prestige class. In addition to increasing the potency of certain mind-affecting spells and telepathy, it also gives you a more powerful version of the leadership feat. You'll end up with two full-fledged cohorts ...


1

This appears to be controversial. Congrats on asking a good question! In some places, Paizo appears to distinguish between a character having zero ranks/levels of a given feature/class, and a character not having/being a feature/class. You can see that logic at work here, in regards to boosting effective level of class-features that you're not high enough ...


-3

No. Without the bravery/armor training class features access, it will not do anything. If it had language similar to Monk's Robes (which states that you have the described abilities of a 5th level Monk), then it would be a different story. In fact, even if you were a level 1 fighter and had the Sash, it would not work because you do not have the class ...


2

With a GM willing to have the party consist of the PCs plus several additional long-term NPCs, a character willing to commit the feats can have several cohorts The feat Imperial Knight (né Taldor Knight) does, indeed, grant a cohort as if with the feat Leadership. If a character takes both those feats and wants a second cohort, then the player must have an ...


6

Having an Overwhelming aura means two things, both related to detect magic. First, it means that the item detects as an "Overwhelming" power source of magic. This just means that it involves a 10th level or higher spell, or a 21st or higher caster level. There is nothing in the description of Detect Magic that says that you take any kind of penalty from ...


2

No, it has no in game effect. The overwhelming is just another signifier for the strength of the aura. Note that the aura designations are (from http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/detectEvil.html): None < Faint < Moderate < Strong < Overwhelming


2

By strict RAW, yes, there's no clause there that says they don't stack, nor any rule elsewhere that prevents it, so each feat has its own effect separately, and the end result is two cohorts on the same character. Note the contrast with Personal Guardian. Most feats that provide cohorts have some sort of restriction specifically to prevent this, but the one ...


2

PFSRD: ...it has only half of the real creature's levels or HD... Reading this straight, I believe as far as class levels are concerned, halving each classes' levels is the best way to do this, as long as the end result can come out legal. I feel the text clearly points this direction. If the creature has racial HD, those are halved as well. (If ...



Top 50 recent answers are included