Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

7

You would regain consciousness after 1 minute and remain conscious until after the delay poison wears off. This is because "remain unconscious for 2d4 hours" is the secondary damage of the drow poison. You don't receive the secondary damage while under the effect of the slow poison, therefore you will not remain unconscious. If they don't regain ...


6

Looking on the poisons table in the Dungeon Master's Guide, page 297, the poisons table lists the Primary effect of Drow Poison as Unconsciousness and the Secondary effect as Unconsciousness for 2d4 hours, with no mention of the ambiguous "remain unconscious" language. So it appears that the answer to your question is Yes, the character must roll both ...


6

Although the word "remain" is confusing here, I would tend to answer that yes, you have to make both saves (unless the poison description states otherwise). In the case of drow knockout poison, the results could be expressed as this: Fail/Fail: It knocked you out cold, right from the get-go. Fail/Pass: It got the drop on you, but you shook it off and got ...


4

Yes, you make each roll independent of the result of the other. The usage of the term "damage" here is confusing, but is used simply because damage (either in the form of hit point damage or ability damage) is by far the most common effect; you could use the term "effect" instead in order to make it more grammatically accurate. The secondary effect of ...


1

When a creature takes damage from a weapon coated with injury poison, it makes a saving throw. If the creature fails that saving throw, it suffers the initial damage. If, afterward but before 1 minute's elapsed, the creature's the target of the 2nd-level Clr spell delay poison [conj] (PH 217), it's immune to the secondary damage until the delay poison ...


1

I would rule No, simply because of the wording of the second roll. After 1 minute, the subject must succeed on another DC 13 Fortitude save or remain unconscious for 2d4 hours. If you're not unconscious, you cannot remain unconscious, because you aren't unconscious in the first place.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible