Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

30

I think the sections you linked to present the answer to your question: Familiars: "Only a normal, unmodified animal may become a familiar." Animal Companion: "A (...) druid’s companion is completely typical for its kind except as noted below." A polymorphed animal cannot be considered either "normal, unmodified" or "typical for its kind": It is a ...


27

The main issues with Polymorph are: Monsters aren't designed for PC use. Many monsters have abilities that are overpowered or disruptive in the hands of PCs, as they were designed primarily as opponents and weren't balanced with polymorph in mind. Versatility is power. Polymorph is by far one of the most versatile spells in the book. A more versatile ...


25

Wizards of the Coast explain this problem here. The ways this spell is used and abused are summarized here. As some examples of this whole subschool being broken: Alter Self into Avariel - you just got yourself a cheaper and longer version of Fly two levels early Start as an outsider and Alter Self into Ravid - you just got yourself +15 of Natural Armor ...


23

The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation becomes permanent. Given the positioning of the second sentence, I believe it is safe to assume that it is providing an exception to the transformation ending by either of the two ...


15

You maintain concentration, regardless of the form. Your ability to concentrate on a spell does not depend on any mental statistic. You can also continue to concentrate on a spell, even if you cannot cast spells. For example, Silence, Druid Wildshape, and the Antimagic Field spell all restrict spellcasting, but not do not restrict your ability to ...


13

The word "broken" has different meanings to different people. Polymorph fits a few of those, which is why we have a lot of people saying it about the spell. In core 3.5, the fundamental problem is that the spell's power is not bounded by the contents of the spell description, it is bounded by the power of the monsters available. This has a few consequences: ...


13

Polymorph Effects Are Dangerous It is a very good idea to limit them. At the extreme, changing into a Sarrukh from Serpent Kingdoms while using Assume Supernatural Ability (Savage Species) or shapechange is the opening gambit for becoming Pun-pun, a character with +Yes to everything and every ability ever published (and arguably abilities not published, as ...


12

First, from the SRD: Rust (Ex): A rust monster that makes a successful touch attack with its antennae causes the target metal to corrode, falling to pieces and becoming useless immediately. The touch can destroy up to a 10-foot cube of metal instantly. Magic armor and weapons, and other magic items made of metal, must succeed on a DC 17 Reflex save or be ...


11

The shapechange spell is geared around continuous changing into a variety of creatures, and has a list of spells that it encompasses. It doesn't do inanimate objects. Polymorph any object (the spell which changes objects to creatures, objects to objects and creatures to creatures) can, though none of the spells that it can replicate are capable of such a ...


11

Another broken aspect is that it messes up point-buy for ability scores. You can choose to dump your physical stats when you make your character, focusing entirely on mental stats, and then use polymorph to give yourself great physical stats as well. And that's just one spell to do it; you still have plenty more.


10

In my opinion, you should at least have encountered the creature before to polymorph into it. You might even have to examine a body. Reading about it in a book or rolling Knowledge should only let you recognize it. It lets the DM prohibit creatures with abilities that are broken in the hands of PCs, or creatures which don't exist in his game world. It adds ...


10

No, Polymorph does not allow you to use your class features. Compare it to the Druid's Wild Shape ability, or the Shapechange spell, both of which include this paragraph: You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if your new form is physically capable of doing so. However, you can't use any of your ...


10

It's weirdly difficult, probably because it isn't something the designers thought anyone would particularly want to do. Your best bet is probably a carefully worded Wish, and the hope that this being an extremely low-power use of Wish the DM won't twist it on you. However, there is one explicit way - be a 14th level Wizard of the Transmutation school. ...


9

No, they can't. Emphasis mine: Swarm Subtype: A swarm is a collection of Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creatures that acts as a single creature. First, while a swarm may act as a single creature, it isn't one. Second, you wouldn't Wild Shape into either a Small or Medium creature. So, per rules-as-written, you cannot Wild Shape into a swarm. However, ...


9

They lose the Humanoid traits, which aren’t much Literally the only thing that they lose, since they presumably have class levels, is the need to eat, breathe, and sleep. Which they will probably get back by whatever type they gain. They gain the traits of their new type, whatever they are For example, if they gain the Elemental type, they get the ...


9

You get all of the creature's game statistics. This includes their default equipment, powers etc (otherwise your game statistics would not be the same). However, I think something like the alternate option such as the Rope of Entanglement would be very much at the DM's discretion. There's no clear RAW here, so it's definitely up to discretion.


8

The presumption that the permanence changes the duration is incorrect. It says "the transformation becomes permanent." The change is permanent after an hour. It's not the duration becoming indefinite, or the concentration requirement being removed. It literally says the effect—the transformation—is permanent.


8

Short answer: Yes you can, but it could get complicated Addressing the elements in reverse order: The Soul of a Warrior Trapped in a Toad's Body Can a character True Polymorph into itself as a means of reversing a True Polymorph someone permanently cast against them earlier? (ex: A warrior is permanently transformed into a toad. The party wizard ...


7

Do you have access to new spells? If so have the wizard pick up Hoard Gullet out of Dragon Magic. Turns yourself into a bag of holding. If you're trying to make the Alter Self thing work ask your DM about the final paragraph of Alter Self. Depending on his ruling you may be able to strap your stuff to your legs and then Alter Self into a Merfolk which has a ...


7

Yes, it is plausible to restrict polymorph to creatures that the players have encountered. This is one of the commonly discussed polymorph house-rule. I think the minimum knowledge would be determined by a knowledge skill check for that monster. If the monster does not exist in your multi-verse this check would be impossible to complete. Basic knowledge of ...


7

Although the iron golem is specifically described as being affected normally by a rust monster's Rust attack, the effect of the Rust attack on a creature isn't explicitly given. Since it instantly destroys a 10-foot cube of iron, it would be reasonable to treat it as a disintegrate spell, dealing 2d6 damage per hit die of the familiar (i.e. your caster ...


7

No, the polymorphed creature can only use actions that a normal creature with the new form would be able to do. It comes directly from the definition of “game statistics”. The Statistics section of the The Monsters Manual starts with: A monster's statistics, sometimes referred to as its stat block, provide the essential information that you need to run ...


6

I assume that you are referring to Slimy Transmutation (level 1 wizard daily from the red box) It's effect line reads: As a toad, the target is dazed and the only actions it can take are to move its speed or shift. As per the effect line of the power, a spell caster would not be able to cast most, if not all, their spells. In general, the only ...


6

I've taken to a risk v reward method for Polymorph. I make only one simple alteration. If you nat-1 on a Polymorph, you accidentally summon whatever you were trying to alter yourself or others into. Nice and tidy, it deters anyone from doing anything too terrible or dangerous and is rare enough that occasional massive risk can result in great fortune. It ...


6

Some ridiculous cheese here, the sort of thing that could easily break a game wide open. Bard 1/Wizard 2/Master Transmogrifist 7/Sublime Chord 1/Master Transmogrifist +3/Sublime Chord +61 Yes, that’s master transmogrifist at level 4. How? By being bad, bad people. Also, flaws from Unearthed Arcana. This gets us 9th-level spells at 20th level while ...


6

The latest Sage Advice clears this up authoritatively Can you concentrate on a spell while transformed by polymorph? You can’t cast spells while you’re transformed by polymorph, but nothing in the spell prevents you from concentrating on a spell that you cast before being transformed. Since "nothing in the spell" prevents you from maintaining ...


6

While, as Matthew Najmon points out, this works in this case because you misunderstood the effects of the polymorph spell, in the general case it also works. The requirements for a spell to take effect only matter when the spell comes into effect. This is why, for example, Minor Creation doesn't immediately fail once the created object leaves the 0 ft. ...


6

What happens is the werebear feels very sheepish about ruining a perfectly good suit of armour by forgetting to take it off first. As Shapechanger says, no gear transforms with you, unlike with a normal polymorph spell: Any equipment it is wearing or carrying isn't transformed. Should circumstances prevent removal of too-small worn items before ...


6

The answer to this is in the description of the spell itself. PHB. pg. 284 (continued from 283 True Polymorph spell description); emphasis added on the applicable point is mine Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature’s challenge rating is ...


5

On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms. And The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, it returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. "its new form" appears in both places and must have the same meaning so, yes, each time ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible