Hot answers tagged

47

Your players are right. An unconscious character can consume a potion administered by another player. This is held up by this sage advice entry, by Jeremy Crawford, a 5e designer. Imathil Half-Elven ‏@imathil @JeremyECrawford Can potions be administered to unconscious characters as an action? Aspirating being the issue. 10:01 PM - 18 Aug 2015 ...


12

The idea of "administering" a potion to someone who is fighting is so hilarious to me that I have trouble envisioning any use for "administering" a potion EXCEPT to someone who can't drink it themselves. Additionally, I think it's unreasonable to stipulate that a healing potion is "1.5 pints" - that would be an extremely large "vial". Every game I have ...


12

From DMG p.139, "Most potions consist of one ounce of liquid." Just to clarify the amount of liquid we are dealing with here. From PHB p.197, "If damage reduces you to 0 hit points and does not kill you, you fall unconscious (see Appendix A). This unconsciousness ends if you regain any hit points." The most obvious answer to this would just be "Rule of Fun"...


10

Actually, I used to be a paramedic and during a cardiac arrest situation (the patient is making death saving throws), we would routinely give some drugs through the endotracheal tube (a tube, used for Oxygen delivery, that goes into the trachea). This is a thing in real life. In the D&D world where things like healing potions are, by definition, magical,...


3

As stated previously, unconscious, near death characters are routinely allowed to have a healing potion "administered" to them. In my own, old school D&D games, I envisioned (and described) this more like a medic pouring the potion into the wound itself than trying to force the potion down the other character's throat. After all, if the point is to get ...


2

Jeremy Crawford has answered this in his Twitter feed, and I'm sure it made it to Sage Advice. An unconscious person can drink (or be fed) a potion. Potion away!



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible