Hot answers tagged

20

A Potion of Flying specifically doesn't require concentration. In page 141 of the DMG under "Spells", it specifically mentions potions as an exception to the rule of concentration: ... Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell's effects, with their usual duration. So, if the potion does not say it requires ...


14

Yes you can have it in your spellbook. You simply have to have access to the spell and make the requisite Spellcraft check. A wizard can also add a spell to her book whenever she encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard’s spellbook. No matter what the spell’s source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical ...


11

Drinking/administering a potion takes an action, as you cited from DMG at p.139. That's the general rule in effect, unless specifically contradicted. You note that the DMG's description of the Potion of Healing doesn't mention that it requires an action to consume, and seem to be wondering if that omission is meant to signal something. But every other ...


9

The feat Potion Glutton does, indeed, say in its normal entry that consuming a potion is a move action, and that's been the subject of some controversy as to whether that's intended or if the feat should be the subject of errata (and here and here). I suspect that the feat's author likely just forgot the actual rule on deadline or accidentally mistyped that ...


9

Unseen Servant Interacting With An Object Per page 284 of the PHB, 5e, second paragraph of the spell description. "Once on each of your tuns as a bonus action, you can mentally command the servant to move up to 15 feet and interact with an object. The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, such as fetching things, ...


8

Whatever works in your game is what you should do. If you haven't tried any of these yet to determine what works though… Your first two options I've never seen work. They fail exactly in the ways you predict: the piecemeal benefits are way better than the normal function and it fundamentally changes the role of potions in the game. They don't work, for a ...


8

Yes and yes. Characters without access to any schools of magic can benefit from those items, too!


8

The DMG lists potions (which are a type of magic item) with the other magic items; the potions are described on pages 187-188. The Systems Reference Document also describes potions, on pages 237-238.


7

HP are an Abstraction First, remember that HP are not just a pure measure of how much physical injury a creature can take before being reduced to chunky salsa. It is an abstraction of the creature's ability to avoid death. If a Fighter hits a Goblin for 20% of its total HP, that doesn't mean the Goblin's left leg was cut off or disabled. It means the ...


7

RAW, they weigh nothing in 4e. But for a more realistic estimate, we can look at other information we have about potions. I'll be using 3.5 SRD, because it's easily accessible on the web. (Potions don't weigh anything in 3.5e either, but there's still some information in it we can use.) The 3.5 SRD says this about potions: A typical potion or oil ...


7

In both cases, the increase in strength is applied to the creature's strength score. If they did it before: You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. (PHB p.67) If they did it afterwards, the potion affects the creature normally and as above, ...


6

The only thing that a wizard with a prohibited school can't do is actually casting spells from that school. Therefore, the answer to your question is yes. To specify a bit more, the wizard can't: Cast spells of that school using wizard spell slots. Cast spells of that school from scrolls. Cast spells of that school from wands. Cast spells of that school ...


5

Wish Wish is the only spell that even has a possibility of this sort of thing happening. From the rulebook: You may try to use wish to produce greater effects than these, but doing so is dangerous. (The wish may pervert your intent into a literal but undesirable fulfillment or only a partial fulfillment, at the GM's discretion. Keep in mind that wish ...


4

No A potion is neither a weapon* nor a spell component** so drawing it during a grapple is not possible. Well, sort of *Pretty much anything can be used as an improvised weapon, but that's going to be a tough sell to your DM since a potion bottle is very small: A typical potion or oil consists of 1 ounce of liquid held in a ceramic or glass vial ...


4

Maybe The way the rules interact is ambiguous, and depends on how one looks at the rules for potionmaking and universal potions. "Yes" Interpretation: "Universal potions are potions" Universal potions are, in their class feature, defined as "a potion." Brew Potion can be used to make all items in the subset of "potions," so it would work fine with ...


4

The traditional approach is to go to a plane with very fast flowing time, such as whatever plane is described in the explanation: One may travel to another plane, spend a year there, and then return to the Material Plane to find that only 6 seconds have elapsed. That’s even faster than you need: you just need 8 or 9 hours (depending on the nature of ...


4

It depends on how many hit points the character has. If a PC has 35 hp, and the magical explosion does 33 points of damage, the character still has 2 points. That's the mechanics of how it works. If you're asking, how is that realistic? Well, realism is relative. Keep in mind that characters aren't Joe Blow walking down the street, they are mighty ...


3

The only thing stopping you is the DM. You might need to force it's mouth open, Strength vs Strength, or torture (oooooh evil acts!) to make it scream, or maybe even beat a Constitution check (gag reflex throwing the potion up) in order to make it drink. But really your job is simple: describe what you want to do, roll against whatever the DM wants. If ...


3

As far as I know there are no rules for the damage of explosions inside of a creature. That leaves it open for a DM or table ruling. The DM is key. Many unexpected things can happen in a D&D campaign, and no set of rules could reasonably account for every contingency. If the rules tried to do so, the game would become unplayable. - PHILOSOPHY ...


2

Can you retrieve a potion while grappling? No. However, drawing a light weapon requires a successful grapple check and retrieving a spell component require a full round action. Even if you retrieve it using an interpolation of the spell component retrieval, you still can't use it, since drinking it is not in the "if you're grappling" actions. Escaping ...


2

If you're a mythic character, then Recuperation gives you a full night's rest in 1 hour, including refreshing daily abilities such as spells. You can do this multiple times per day, limited only by your mythic power points. The item Cornucopia of Plenty makes this more power-efficient, but still requires a mythic character.


2

The limits would ultimately be up to your GM. But consider this: Your familiar has an empathic link to you, would know that you are in danger and need assistance. Your familiar is intelligent and can make its own decisions. Your familiar would be familiar with equipment you have and could know what it is capable of, depending on dialogue with your ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible