Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

21

No. Drinking a potion is explicitly an action. Healing Potion:.... Drinking or administering a potion takes an action (PHB 153) You can draw the potion as a part of the action that you use to drink it, but you cannot drink it as a free action. However, it takes an action and cannot be used with the Rogue's Fast Hands ability per the DMG(p141): If ...


19

Cumulative chance does mean that the chance accumulates each time, yes. Each time you drink it after the first, there is a chance that it will age you instead of youth-en you. That chance is 10% initially, but increases by 10% each time. So the first time you drink it, it has its normal effect. The second time, there's a 10% chance it has the opposite ...


15

The general rules for potions only say this on the subject: A creature must be able to swallow a potion or smear on an oil. Because of this, incorporeal creatures cannot use potions or oils. Any corporeal creature can imbibe a potion or use an oil. So it seems that the answer is Yes, they can. You can argue that some corporeal but mouthless creatures ...


10

Ugh, found my own answer on page 460. Yes, include dexterity modifier if being held by a creature. From that page, emphasis mine: General descriptions include notes on activation, random generation, and other material. The AC, hardness, hit points, and break DC are given for typical examples of some magic items. The AC assumes that the item is ...


9

Is it this same Druid? What a troublemaker... Everything I've found relating to this seems to leave the question for the DMG, either implicitly or explicitly. There are a few elements in the PHB that could probably give you some guidance. Foraging for food (PHB, p 183) seems like it would be similar to foraging for herbs, removing that character from the ...


8

Unseen Servant Interacting With An Object Per page 284 of the PHB, 5e, second paragraph of the spell description. "Once on each of your tuns as a bonus action, you can mentally command the servant to move up to 15 feet and interact with an object. The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, such as fetching things, ...


8

Yes and yes. Characters without access to any schools of magic can benefit from those items, too!


7

Yes, but only via some finagling. A potion/oil only has one target normally, and the imbiber may not select additional targets even if he would be allowed to normally as the caster of the spell. However, a number of spells that can be made into potions affect creatures other than their direct target(s) in some way. None of the methods of doing this ...


7

RAW, they weigh nothing in 4e. But for a more realistic estimate, we can look at other information we have about potions. I'll be using 3.5 SRD, because it's easily accessible on the web. (Potions don't weigh anything in 3.5e either, but there's still some information in it we can use.) The 3.5 SRD says this about potions: A typical potion or oil ...


6

The only thing that a wizard with a prohibited school can't do is actually casting spells from that school. Therefore, the answer to your question is yes. To specify a bit more, the wizard can't: Cast spells of that school using wizard spell slots. Cast spells of that school from scrolls. Cast spells of that school from wands. Cast spells of that school ...


4

The necromancy spell Deathwine has a reference to undead drinking potions: In addition, any undead creature (or other creature healed by negative energy) that drinks a potion affected by deathwine is healed of 1d8 points of damage. It seems to me that if any rule in the canonical rule set refers to a specific action then the rule set explicitly ...


4

Assuming the player has not used their free object interaction that turn they can fish a potion out, then drink it with the Use an Object action. If a thief does this they can do it as a bonus action. The reason for this is because none of the gear in the equipment section refers to Use an Object. However, the Use an Object action in the combat section ...


3

The short answer is no. Potions only effect the person that consumes them. The wording " It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute and targets one or more creatures or objects." is meant to explain what types of spells can be turned into a potion or an oil with the exception that ...


2

The limits would ultimately be up to your GM. But consider this: Your familiar has an empathic link to you, would know that you are in danger and need assistance. Your familiar is intelligent and can make its own decisions. Your familiar would be familiar with equipment you have and could know what it is capable of, depending on dialogue with your ...


2

Prestige Class: Alchemist Savant (This has already been discussed. [MoE pg53]) Familiar/Construct: Improved Familiar 7th lvl; There are homunculus that can be familiars. Might be able to get a Dedicated Wright(Homunculus). Craft Construct Dedicated Wright. You can make multiple of these Constructs. Dedicated ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible