Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

12

No. You can't take the feats granted by your new level until you choose a class, and you need those to qualify for the class. More generally, the level you're taking can't satisfy the requirements for the new class you're taking. Player's Handbook page 6 details the steps of character creation. The very first one is choosing race and class, while choosing ...


9

Some prestige classes, like Abjurant Champion, advance specific features of the base class (in this case, spellcasting). From Abjurant Champion, emphasis added: At each level, you gain new spells per day and an increase in caster level (and spells known, if applicable) as if you had also gained a level in an arcane spellcasting class to which you ...


7

There's some fan support for the process the question proposes... This 2014 thread suggests the process proposed in the question, but roots the process's legality in the consensus about various supermount builds (originally, I think, from this 2005 thread but also 2010 and 2012). This 2009 thread and this 2011 thread surrender to the topic at hand rather ...


7

This is a rules loophole, that I think many DMs would see as abusing the rules. If this was intended use, then why bother to write a 3rd level of UT (aside from Tricky Defence)? Just have 2nd level say "You get all skill tricks as favourite tricks, plus one effective level of another class". (likewise for Legacy Champion)


4

You are misunderstanding how levels work in general. When you gain a level, you put it into a class and become level X+1 in that class. Each class functions completely independently of each other except for specific abilities that say they stack with other classes. In your example, when you add a new level to Duskblade, you become an Duskblade 6/Abjurant ...


2

Yes, this is legit, but there's more to it than that The uncanny trickster (Complete Scoundrel 67-70) special ability class features says At each level after 1st, you gain class features (including spellcasting ability) and an increase in effective level as if you had also gained a level in a class to which you belonged before adding the prestige class ...


2

Yes, prestige classes can be progressed by other prestige classes Simply said, nothing says you can’t. No prestige class (to my knowledge) specifies base class for this kind of thing. But the chosen prestige class has to have the feature that the second advances Eldritch knight allows you to advance spellcasting. Anima mage does not grant spellcasting. It ...


1

Going from Duskblade 5/Abjurant Champion 5 and taking another level of Duskblade, you would be Duskblade 6/Abjurant Champion 5 (not Duskblade 11/Abjurant Chamion 5). Class levels are always taken consecutively. But what about the Champion spellcaster levels that count as Duskblade spellcaster levels? After levelling up to Duskblade 6, your level 5 Champion ...


1

Short answer, "no"; medium answer, "there's a typo in the class description". Long answer: No... Eldrich Knight's spell progression (along with every spell-level-progressing prestige class I can think of) says: From 2nd level on, when a new eldritch knight level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible