Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

15

No, you won't need psionic combat rules in Pathfinder. Psionic Combat was removed in 3.5. What you have is probably a 3.0 Psionics Handbook. The 3.5 version is called Expanded Psionics Handbook, and is devoid of psionic combat rules; many of the psionic attack and defense modes, like Mind Blast and Tower of Iron Will, were converted to normal powers.


14

What you've mentioned are house rules, not interpretations The RAW is super-simple; forced dream resets the entire turn (or more if you've got some quintessence to hand) and cannot be gainsaid or activate partially. The deck of many things is certainly powerful but it doesn't have any especial resistance to psionic powers. With that in mind, forced dream ...


13

No, you cannot augment the bonus human at-will power at all. From the glossary definition of Augmentable: When a racial trait lets an adventurer choose an extra at-will attack power and the adventurer chooses an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses both the augmentable keyword and its augmentations. I wouldn't recommend making a house ...


13

There are two different varieties of D&D 3 Psionics. The 3.0 Psionics Handbook gave Psions a different key ability score based on their specialisation. Nomads used Dex and Telepaths used Charisma for instance. In the 3.5 update to Psionics, this was changed so that all Psions used Int as their manifesting statistic.


12

Calculate the Power Points granted by each class separately, then combine them to form your total pool. So yes, it can be said that your Wilder/Psychic Warrior would receive bonus PP for both Wisdom and Charisma, but these bonus PP would be as appropriate for the manifester levels of each class. For example, a Wilder 6/Psychic Warrior 2 with Wisdom 14 and ...


12

What you posit is reasonable except for one thing: The Deck of Many Things has a random outcome that the DM determines by a die roll. As a magical artifact, I would say that it consists, as a whole of the cards it contains, not of a bunch of independent magical cards. The whole Deck itself is the magic item here, not the cards themselves, they are just ...


11

This Wizards FAQ says the following: The Psionics Handbook is from 3.0, and is no longer supported. The Expanded Psionics Handbook, despite the name, is a standalone system that replaces the 3.0 system. 3.5 psionics differs from 3.0 psionics far more than current edition magic differs from AD&D 2e magic. The consensus on these boards is that ...


10

Psionic Power also contains no rituals. The skill used for a ritual doesn't affect anything mechanically, so you can reflavor rituals as psionic without issue -- I do this for my psion. But yeah, it seems like a bit of a lack. It's probably worth noting that rituals don't have an associated power source, just associated skills. WotC decided not to add a ...


10

Psionic Combat was not removed in Pathfinder so much as it was removed in D&D 3.5. The 3.0 Psionics Handbook (PsiH) was completely overwritten by the 3.5 Expanded Psionics Handbook (XPH), which did not include Psionic Combat. Psionic Combat was a very bad idea for a large number of reasons, though the main one is simply that it was very out of place: it ...


10

Actually, there is a creature in the core D&D 3.5 rules with the ability to possess creatures! The ghost, available to player characters with a level adjustment of +5, has an ability called "malevolence" which allows it to possess any creature. Simply re-skin the ghost as a parasite instead of an undead. Here's how I'd stat up your parasite: Start ...


9

If it doesn't specify a damage type and doesn't specify that it's [Mind-Affecting] then it's just normal damage. It'd work against undead, and it'd even work against doors and walls or whatever if you really wanted. In this case, you're probably psychically altering the density of your weapon at the right moment to add more damage on impact, or using ...


9

No, you would not need an UPD check. Dorjes use the power trigger activation method, which states: If a power is on a character’s power list, the character knows how to use a power trigger item that stores that power. With no caveats about power levels or class restrictions.


9

Paizo has studiously avoided publishing a single official word on psionics. The only psionics rules are from a third party, Dreamscarred Press, but are in the online Pathfinder SRD. According to those rules, if you are using magic-psionics transparency, then you treat powers just like spells or spell-like abilities, so yes, detect magic would detect and ...


9

Unless a WotC board member comes strolling on to this site, it is hard to come up with an answer that isn't hearsay and speculation. We know that the original 3.0 SRD is published in 2000, and came to include the base system of the time, as well as the significant 3.0 subsystems: Psionics (Psionics Handbook, March 1 2001) Divine (Deities and Demigods, ...


9

Fiend Folio has numerous “symbionts” that have various influences, up to and including total control, when implanted in a creature’s mind (or elsewhere). The cerebral symbionts, in particular, seem quite appropriate. Eberron Campaign Setting and Magic of Eberron have a few more, as do a few Dragon magazine articles. This Fleshwarping ...


8

I believe that in this case yes you would end up having more power points than your max. This is not a "house rule," it is the way that this item works. It does not say regain it says gain. Therefore, no matter how many power points you have, you gain 1 extra one that does not count against your max. You would really have 6/6 and 1 from the weapon not 7/6. ...


8

Technically every creature in the game has Hit Dice. Psicrystals have their master's number of Hit Dice, therefore, being intelligent creatures, they receive 1 feat at 1st HD, 1 feat at 3rd HD and 1 feat each 3 HD thereafter. d20SRD: Hit Dice: As master’s HD (hp 1/2 master’s) While you do change some of the statictics as listed in psion class ...


8

The power incarnate can only affect a specific set of powers: Aura sight Conceal thoughts Danger sense Detect psionics Detect remote viewing Detect teleportation Elfsight Know direction and location My light Psionic darkvision Ubiquitous vision Notably, inertial armor is not on the list, so you cannot make it permanent with incarnate. Some of these ...


8

It is supposed to be every turn. There are 10 turns in a round, but only 1 of them would be the enemy's. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. In a round, every combatant takes a turn. See also turn and once per round. Force Shard: Any enemy that enters the shard’s space or ends its turn there takes force damage. The wording says ...


7

Taking Dragon HD I’m reasonably sure you couldn’t find rules for this because Wizards never wrote rules for this. Personally, I’d rule “no,” since you are not a dragon, you just have the dragon’s body for a while. In dragons’ case in particular, advancement by HD seems to be a matter of it simply aging and coming ...


7

There seems to be a conflict here. The WOTC online compendium Psion entry gives a different ruling: When a racial trait grants you an at-will attack power of your choice and you choose an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses its augmentations. However, the power does not lose the augmentable keyword. This means the power is ...


7

The battlemind steps in and replaces a single target in the list of those attacked by the Fireball; and (most likely) invalidates that attack against her by shifting out of the area of effect before it happens. Lighting Rush Immediate Interrupt (from pg 49 of PHB3): ... Trigger: An enemy within 5 squares of you targets an ally with an attack. From ...


7

I had the same confusion for a while, but thankfully, that's not the case. You can only spend a number of power points equal to your level on any particular manifest. Some powers allow you to spend more than their base cost to achieve an improved effect, or augment the power. The maximum number of points you can spend on a power (for any reason) is ...


7

You seem to be correct: there is no limitation of 17 Power Points or 9th-level Astral Constructs on the astral construct power, but the Astral Construct creature entry does not describe what happens when you spend 19 or more Power Points on the power. Numerous forum questions out there exist about this subject (and worse, what happens with Epic shapers). ...


7

No, they are augmented automatically up to their Manifester Level You don’t need to actually spend power points on psi-like abilities; they are automatically augmented as much as they can be for their Manifester Level. From the SRD Psionic Monsters – Psi-like Abilities: When a creature uses a psi-like ability, the power is manifested as if the creature ...


6

Psionics have now been converted to Pathfinder rules officially via Psionics Unleashed from Dreamscarred Press. It was open play tested prior to publication so the rules seem pretty solid. I've been running a Psion (started at 1st at 5th now) and haven't run into anything weird. It might be worth noting now that Dreamscarred has continued to support ...


6

The main problem with Soulbow is that the projectile is always fired from mundane longbow (Complete Psionic, p36): The bolt is identical in all ways (except visually) to an arrow shot from a composite longbow. For instance, a Medium soulbow materializes an arrow that speeds toward the specified target, and if it hits, deals 1d8 points of damage ...


6

Yes, you can bind Incarnate melds to chakras unlocked via the Totemist class. The ability to bind a soulmeld to a given chakra is an ability that, once obtained, is independent of the phenomenon that granted it. As far as I know, this is more a result of omission than something that is explicitly written out, however. The general rules for chakra binds ...


6

My initial reaction is to give them "very many" spell points. The Vancian base class gets a very, very large number of their frequently used lower level spells per day, leading me to believe the class was intended to have durability enough to keep pace with mundane characters in most situations. Also, the class relies largely on augment-scaling blasting ...


6

You still need line of effect, and you'll still take a -5 penalty for not having line of sight. Cover and superior cover are not the same thing as line of effect. From the RC, p219: Determining Cover: To determine if a target has cover, choose a corner of a square the attacker occupies, or a corner of the attack's origin square, and trace imaginary ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible