Hot answers tagged

30

Death Ward will trigger the first time you drop to 0 hit points, and Relentless Endurance won't. Then next time you drop to 0, Relentless Endurance will be ready to go. Death Ward, emphasis mine: The first time the target would drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, the target instead drops to 1 hit point, and the spell ends. As soon as ...


21

If you read the Dropping to 0 Hit Points section of the PHB/Basic D&D rules, you'll find the following paragraph: Instant Death Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points and there is damage remaining, you die if the remaining damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum (Player's Basic p76) Thus, ...


19

The question is a bit inaccurate: the monster entry for strix lists the example strix as Neutral. So, in this case, Paizo seems to agree with the question asker. That said, the remainder of my answer assumes that the entry did make them Evil, since plenty of creatures are marked Evil for similar reasons. Don’t try too hard to make alignment make ...


17

For an analogy, Gnomes have a long time enmity with humanoid reptilian, possibly due past aggression, and have developed tactics to fight against them more efficiently. Are gnomes evil due to that? Not every lizard man out there is evil, but some of them are, and gnomes may have very good reasons to act paranoid and aggressive when lizard men are around. ...


17

You will no longer have the template at all. That is, none of its features, whether from type (Undead), subtype (incorporeal), or the specifics of the template. You also no longer count its LA against your effective character level. Specifically, under the Undead traits in the Monster Manual: Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead ...


17

Charmed is a specific game condition. From Appendix A of the PHB (page 290): Charmed A charmed creature can’t attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects. The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature. So Fey Ancestry gives advantage on any saving throw to avoid ...


17

Yes, you'll get darkvision out to 60 feet. It's not exactly simultaneous, because the character creation process puts race before class. (Which makes logical sense - you're born before you choose your profession.) As part of choosing your race: Skilled racial trait replaces your usual racial Darkvision. As part of choosing your class: Orc bloodline ...


14

No Dragonborn, the race, get no resists by default. That is not to say that they get no resists however. If a dragonborn takes the: Argentum Alliance paragon path, they get cold damage added to their breath weapon, and resist cold, Storm dragon paragon path(requiring lightning as a breath weapon) gets resist thunder and lightning, Wyrmtouched Amulet: ...


14

No, you cannot augment the bonus human at-will power at all. From the glossary definition of Augmentable: When a racial trait lets an adventurer choose an extra at-will attack power and the adventurer chooses an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses both the augmentable keyword and its augmentations. I wouldn't recommend making a house ...


12

There are no rules governing sound and audibility. And at first I thought this would be a simple "rulings, not rules" matter in 5e. "C'mon, have you ever heard a music box?" I thought. "Just figure it out in ten seconds with your GM and move on." But... There are a lot of things that depend on sound/audibility. Enough that maybe there should be rules on ...


10

Yes, the Savage Attacks ability will work while Wild Shaped. Wild Shape allows you to use your racial features: You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if your new form is physically capable of doing so. Savage Attacks kicks in when you get a critical hit with a melee weapon attack: Savage ...


10

Yes you can The rules for wildshape clearly state that you retain any benefits of features from your race if the new form is capable of using them. Since the Relentless Endurance feature does not implicitly or explicitly require any particular body parts (hands, for example) I see no reason why it should not be retained. The rule on reverting says you ...


9

First, we need to look at the rules for cover: Cover (-2 Penalty to Attack Rolls): The target is around a corner or protected by terrain. For example, the target might be in the same square as a small tree, obscured by a small pillar or a large piece of furniture, or behind a low wall. And creatures and cover: Creatures and Cover: When you make a ...


9

The easiest way to avoid the penalty of the Drow on prime material plane campaigns, is to only play Drow in campaigns which take place indoors, underground, or mostly at night. The second easiest way is to gain advantage. A Drow at 3rd level gains the spell "Faerie Fire" which grants advantage to anyone attacking the victim of the spell. If you are ...


9

I could see arguments for either 6th caster level or 7th caster level, but either way, your Shocking Grasp would only do 5d6 damage. Caster Level 6th You have two traits that add to caster level. Thus, you have two trait bonuses to caster level. However, trait bonuses do not stack: A trait bonus is a bonus granted via a character trait. Character ...


8

You could use the Arcane Talent feat to learn spark, a 0-level spell with the [fire] descriptor. The wording of the feat should satisfy the necessary requirements: Choose a 0-level spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list. You can cast this spell three times per day as a spell-like ability. The Paizo FAQ clarifies that spell-like abilities count as ...


8

There seems to be a conflict here. The WOTC online compendium Psion entry gives a different ruling: When a racial trait grants you an at-will attack power of your choice and you choose an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses its augmentations. However, the power does not lose the augmentable keyword. This means the power is ...


8

There are many races/classes with a combat bonus against a specific race due to enmity. Why should the Strix be viewed as necessarily evil because their chosen race is human? In a little more depth - if a Strix hates humans, will attack any he sees, and hurt them as badly as possible before finally killing them, then that's probably evil. If, however, ...


8

Absolutely Not This is one of the biggest and most common sources of problems in 3.5. There are a huge number of feats, most of them very weak, whose existence implies that the only way to have that background is to take the feat. Nonsense! and there’s no such rule, either. You take the feat if you want the mechanical benefit, end of story.


8

Okay, so this question seems like it has two closely-related parts: do the rules require the feat in question to benefit from the background trait, and should they? Is it Required? No. This one's simple. At no point do the rules state or imply a requirement. The feat option is different from the background option, and the conceptual redundancy between the ...


8

No. Spells Known is a part of the Spellcasting or Pact Magic features. Any spells granted from other features do not count against this limit, unless explicitly stated.


6

If Drizzt Do'Urden can be a good-aligned drow, you can play a good-aligned strix.


6

Bonuses of Different Types Stack So Racial and Feat and Item bonuses all stack with one another. Thus, in the first case, you do get +4 to AC, as well as +2 to Fort/Ref/Will. And in the second case, yes, the bonus does stack with the Tusk Shield. As for the Tusk Shield, yes, it means for Opportunity Attacks. As long as you are in the process of charging, ...


6

As Kryan says, the alignment system was really made for dungeon crawls and doesn't stand up under scrutiny. But to answer your question, I would say No, that isn't enough. Imagine a Strix who truly hates humans, but has adopted a religion with some version of "Love thy neighbor as yourself." He might hate humans, but remembers his religion and constantly ...


6

RAW, it means that you add Bluff or Diplomacy -your choice- to your class skills (check the corresponding box), and gain a +2 (to write in the Misc. Mod column of your sheet) to the skill. If both are already class skills, well, that's something the trait won't bring you. You still get the +2 though. Since it is considered a class skill, you also get the ...


6

If a spell or ability would charm the character or creature with Fey Ancestry and if the spell or ability allows a saving throw to avoid the effects, the character or creature with Fey Ancestry gets advantage on that saving throw. One example is the spell Crown of Madness, which reads: One humanoid of your choice that you can see within range must ...


6

No, and Maybe. Medium sized creatures range all the way up to 8ft and 500lbs. So he is still well within that range. He is bigger and stronger by quite a bit than a normal human, but is still nothing special compared to other medium sized creatures. Additionally, all creatures with powerful build I am aware of (Half-Giant) are a bit larger than The ...


6

These devices are whipped up in only an hour; if a gear or belt isn't aligned exactly right and machined to precise specifications, then it may slip after a certain number of revolutions and cause the device to cease functioning. A clockwork device also requires power to function. In real life, the power tends to come from kinetic energy stored when the ...


6

The rules1 are silent on any mechanical detail regarding "how far away the two Gnome items can be heard." That means that it is up to the GM to rule on, which is a common 5e D&D approach: rulings over rules. Music Box. When opened, this music box plays a single song at a moderate volume. The box stops playing when it reaches the song’s end or when ...


5

Can a Shardmind use these components? Requirement: You must have the living construct racial trait to use this item. If this is the only requirement, and there's no references to "You must be a Warforged" in the item's stat block, then yes, you can equip those items. Shardminds have the Living Construct racial trait. Can they be made from crystal, and ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible