Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

18

This is outside the current scope of the playtest from what I've seen of it. That means that there is no rule to govern it. However, generally in D&D the kinds of simulation aspects you've asked about are governed by attack and damage penalties. In D&D 4e's math scheme, this would be modeled with a -2 penalty to attacks with no penalty to damage ...


17

Throw Anything with a Tower Shield At a guess, if you’re going with Throw Anything applied to a Tower Shield, you’re looking at probably 1d12 or 2d6, i.e. one of the larger, heavier weapons. The weight isn’t even close, but I don’t know that a Huge greataxe (3d6) or whatever is really a good match even though the weight is closest. ...


16

The characters provoke opportunity attacks as normal, however the creature who's turn it is does not get an opportunity attack against the readied action A readied actionDDI is an immediate reaction to the triggering action, and so in this case takes places during the creature's turn. Opportunity actions DDI cannot be taken during your own turn.


10

Yes. You automatically collect any thrown weapons after the encounter. You will probably want several of them just to make sure you can use them. I play a couple of heavy melee chars and they both carry about 5 javelins and have never run out. Of interest, if you pick up a magic javelin you will only need one. Magic thrown weapons return after they are ...


10

Complete Warrior introduced the Arrow Volley under Historical Tactics on page 124. Heroes of Battle's Volley of Arrows on pages 68-70 greatly expands these rules. But because both version requires at least 10 archers, PCs are more likely use the teamwork benefits Indirect Fire and Missile Volley on page 161 of the Player's Handbook 2.


9

Crossing combustion and gunpowder with fire-based magical artifacts is tricky. If the concept was to sling the beads with a slingshot, it would be easier, but since you want to blast them of with igniting gunpowder, I would as a GM rule that the chance to activate them inside the gun-barrel would be too great.


8

Note: RBA = ranged basic attack Being an RBA has no effect on how you use the power. Dragonfrost works exactly the way it seems like it would from looking at the power description: it's a ranged implement attack that targets 1 creature within range 10. Being an RBA does affect when you can use the power. There are a number of ways to grant yourself ...


7

EDIT: Answer completely re-worked on June 5; some comments may no longer apply. This comes down to two issues. Issue One: What actually causes the detonation? The magic item says the beads detonate when exposed to magical fire or "when thrown". What is it about being thrown that allows them to detonate? Most likely the impact is the trigger that causes ...


6

There are no rules for this, but there is a lot reasons to use some best guessing to handle it. Since 4e is a miniatures based system, I note the direction and type of missile used. If it is hand-throw I figure that it travels the same distance beyond the target that it was thrown to get to the target. This gives me a simple way of tracking without ...


6

Play a Warlock You'll be going after a blaster archetype from the optimization thread here. As a point of order, there is no difference between high accuracy and low damage versus low accuracy and high damage within the bounds you are talking about. Inasmuch as accuracy is a multiplier applied to damage, the trade of accuracy for damage is purely cosmetic. ...


5

To "deliver the spell through a ranged weapon attack", you have to actually make a ranged weapon attack. Making a ranged weapon attack expends ammunition appropriate to the weapon in use. You also get any other effects of the weapon attack, most notably the weapon's basic damage. The spell's effect is an add-on to that weapon attack, not a replacement.


5

I'd say that while disadvantage is a good place to start, there are a few considerations that would change the potential results in ways that could be more fun. I don't think over-the-top physics-yness is necessary, more just some common sense and some extrapolation of existing mechanics. First, can the fighter see the target? Water's pretty good at hiding ...


5

Most sources of bonus damage apply to both arrows Pathfinder is actually much better about indicating what is and is not precision damage than its predecessor. The rogue's and ninja's sneak attack, as well as the bonus damage from the Shadow Strike and Precision Strike feats (both in the APG), are specifically called out as precision damage. You can ...


5

A ranged attack is any power which has a ranged keyword. First: The shield of deflection*: Property: You gain resist 2 to all damage from ranged attacks and area attacks. As per the ruling on magic missile, there is a headache inducing thread** as to what constitutes an attack, or attack power. For purposes of the shield, if it has "ranged" or ...


4

Given that we are optimizing maximal DPR: Stats, pre-racial: STR 10 CON 10 DEX 11 INT 14 WIS 8 CHA 18 A 20 charisma is necessary for a maximum DPR for +1 to accuracy and damage. 13 dex, not 15, cause we're using it to qualify for feats. Int is nice, but secondary and doesn't govern damage. Ignore the hand crossbow. Completely. Grab yourself a dagger if ...


4

If the normal usage of the ranged attack would provoke an opportunity attack then the readied action would do the same when triggered. As a D.M. I would rule that the O.A. would only happen if you use the attack. So if the burrowing creature never appears in the round, you wouldn't use the attack, there for no O.A. triggered. As for the actual creature ...


4

Not really. Most things work normally, except for the issues that the articles in the other answer mentioned. The primary one of those being that you can't take full round actions if you have a minimum forward speed (aka: average/poor/clumsy maneuverability and do not have Hover). Beyond that, flying is considered movement, so for combat purposes it's ...


4

No, they do not. Mundane thrown weapons do not return to your hand like magic ones do. A ki focus does not make the weapon you throw magic; it merely adds its enhancement bonus to your attack and damage rolls (and you get its critical hit effects, properties etc). You also technically need one dagger/hammer/javelin/etc. for each target of each attack for ...


3

No, weapons thrown with Giantkind Gloves do not give their usual benefits. The Giantkind Gloves attack power does not have the Weapon keyword, thus no benefits from a weapon you throw apply. As far as the power is concerned, the most powerfully enchanted dagger ever is no better a projectile than a paper airplane would be (and in fact I recommend using ...


3

No rules here, just speculation. Is it assumed that whoever fired it has at least enough accuracy that it landed in the same square as the target, or even in the vicinity? Doubtful. Especially if you're talking about a fired bolt or arrow. Those things will sail for quite some time, especially if the shot went high. I'd probably rule that it lands ...


3

A Ranged attack is any attack with a range such as ranged weapon, or ranged X squares. Area and close attacks are thus not ranged attacks, and melee obviously isn't. Damage from an effect like Force Orb is not an Attack against you: It is a separate damaging effect. A Ranged Attack must include an attack and damage roll. From the Compendium: Ranged Attack ...


3

Since firearms are already a rather odd bird in most fantasy settings, I think an interesting twist would be, rather than using muskets as just a fireball delivery mechanisms, to have these technological artifacts actively resist magic. Integrate their alienness into the system. I'm drawing much of this from Arcanum, the excellent old CRPG, where ...


2

Sadly, the RAW answer is no. You can snipe and remain hidden, but your next attack is not a sneak attack because "stealthed" isn't a condition that makes a target flat-footed or denies it its Dex bonus to AC. Similarly, if you simply stay hidden until the battle is raging and try to shoot someone, it's not RAW a sneak attack. (It's not because it doesn't say ...


2

Sniping on SRD Action: Usually none. Normally, you make a Stealth check as part of movement, so it doesn't take a separate action. However, using Stealth immediately after a ranged attack (see Sniping, above) is a move action. Since you spend a move action on the stealth check (and presumably a standard on the attack itself) you cannot full attack. so one ...


2

I'm running a DnD Next Campaign and it does seem that there must be some kind of mechanic that would in game simulate these problems. (emphasis mine) This is your mistake right here. Even the oldest editions of D&D never tried to really simulate reality, and every successive edition has moved away from realism/simulationism and into more abstract ...


1

Yes you can use that technique without any penalties. Its actually a great pain for DM's. Although we have some counters against that. To clarify. Because of HiPS you can use your stealth check even while being observed(with shadows ofc). And as we know you dont need to spend an action to perform actual steath check(most of the time its part of your ...


1

The Withdraw action is a special action but doesn't actually require that you move a full double move - it merely means that you withdraw from the combat (and mechanically that the first 5' you leave you leave in a way that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. You can then move as much or as little as you want after that first 5' of movement and you do ...


1

There are no hard rules, I don't think (outside of magic weapons). I would say use your discretion. Did the character just barely miss? Was it a clear shot? Did the targets AC or Reflex come into play? Were any bonuses responsible? Take these all into account when determining how a thrown weapon might land. For example, if they rolled a 16, and need 17, ...


1

As a side discussion for being able to pick up or recover either your weapon or an opponents, I think you need to also consider whether a thrown or fired weapon is actually recoverable at all. In other words, even if you find it, is it still in a condition that would allow you to reuse the weapon. An arrow, for instance, if it misses a target and strikes a ...


1

Yes, you can pick up a thrown weapon within the encounter. The DM needs to decide how to determine its location. I don't believe there are existing rules for this, but it's pretty simple to make one up. If the attack was a hit, either the weapon is lodged in the target or not -- probably not. If it was a miss, or the weapon struck and fell, roll 1d8 to ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible