Tag Info

New answers tagged

5

Yes, your ruling appears correct Creech and Ruesch's Torn Asunder (2003) from Bastion Press says that Once these criteria are met you can attempt a called shot. You receive a called shot penalty to your attack roll, as per the chart below for the appropriate body location. (28) Targeting the head causes the attacker to suffer a −8 called shot penalty ...


2

In my last campaign, I played a ranger that was obsessed with not wasting arrows. My DM and I came to an agreement that was satisfactory for both of us. You are welcome to tailor it to your needs. Any missed shot is a lost arrow. The chosen logic was, "either we are in an empty area, where the arrow could fly wide and never be found, or we are in a ...


3

In general I do not permit ammunition recovery. It's heading downrange at a great velocity. There are two basic fates: It's stopped by something or it continues until gravity brings it down. Most things capable of stopping an arrow will cause a wooden shaft to shatter, they will blunt any tip even if the shaft survives. While a blunted tip might be used ...


1

What I would do: I've not played Numenera but I usually use house rules and GM discretion based on what happens to each shot. I and my players tend to find this somewhat interesting and it helps maintain the sense of overall realism/consistency/meaningfulness-of-choices to not handwave ammunition and other supplies. Note it can also take a significant amount ...


4

In every campaign I have played as a player we were allowed to recover some of the arrows after a fight. No rules or reason were explained. As DM I would rule the following and adjust that according to the circumstances Some ammunition is simply lost. Bolts which missed and are burried in the ground of a grassy plain, arrows which landed in a river and ...



Top 50 recent answers are included