Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

60

Yeah, Handle Animal is Borked You've accidentally run into something that Optimizers have intentionally used to break world optimization records. Handle Animal has no real limit except the DCs required to train beasts, and finding some way to stop the beast from killing you in the meantime. With Charm Animal and the like, it becomes very possible for a ...


44

There are a few things you're probably glossing over that should be making this circus-collecting way harder than it has been. First, influencing an animal using Wild Empathy requires a whole minute of interaction and study, as this is the animal equivalent of Diplomacy. That can't normally be done during combat! (Incidentally, intelligent magical beasts ...


20

The DM and player can decide this together, and it'll differ based on the character of your game Rules as written, there is no requirement to wait, or to be anywhere in particular, when the companion is granted. (This is true for abilities granted at levelling up in general, e.g. knowing new spells, or having an ability you didn't have yesterday.) In more ...


19

Well, there are a couple of things you can do. First of all, keep in mind that a strict reading of the power suggests that the enemy must be within 5 squares before moving closer, but I admit that there is some room for interpretation. Second, keep in mind that this is an immediate reaction and therefore the ranger only gets to make one of these attacks in ...


13

The best way I have found, within 3.5, to handle the very sudden and abrupt changes that occur on level-up is to prepare for them ahead of time. Have the ranger adopt an animal, or have an animal start to follow the party, or otherwise introduce the future companion prior to level-up. This gives the ranger an opportunity to gain the animal’s trust and begin ...


12

Those are your stats when using the Power Attack feat. You are correct: your normal to hit and damage would be +5/2d6+6; but if you use Power Attack with a two-handed weapon, you trade a -1 to hit for a +3 to damage. Try checking the Power Attack feat usage in Hero Lab to see a change into your attack stats. Note: pathfinder's Power Attack is better than ...


11

I can't check on it from work, but this post (about Baldur's Gate, of all things...) seems to confirm that, although the PHB does technically allow ranger/druids, it was only in the Complete expansions that the alignment conflict was corrected. The post also implies this requires a Neutral Good alignment. Turns out the information about this combination is ...


10

There is one part of the question that isn't clear and is not addressed by SevenSidedDie: Can you choose to not activate an immediate reaction on the first occurrence of a trigger? Immediate Actions are Choices Since Immediate Actions are a choice, you can always choose to not activate a power on a trigger. If you choose not to, then you cannot use that ...


9

No, it has to be a new creature type from that table. At 5th level and every five levels thereafter (10th, 15th, and 20th level), the ranger may select an additional favored enemy from those given on the table. — d20 SRD You can't pick an "additional" one by picking the same one. To add a type, it has to be new.


8

You seem to have some confusion to the point of not having read the 3.5e player's handbook? The 3.5e ranger class can select a combat style at second level. One of those two styles gets you the equivalent of the two-weapon fighting feat for free without having to meet prereqs. There is no Ambidexterity feat in 3.5e. So yes, at second level, IF you select ...


7

Basically, your companion would act on your turn, much like conjurations and I believe summons. I briefly had one in my campaign and during his turn, the beastmaster would take move actions along with the companion (counting as a single move action) and he would activate powers that allowed the ranger and companion to attack as one (usually these were two ...


7

Seems Legit Taking a level of rogue (knife master and scout archetypes) and then a level of ranger (trapper and freebooter archetypes) is a legitimate combination. None of the archetype abilities replace other archetype abilities. Obviously, campaigns vary, so confirm the viability and availability with the DM, but this is mechanically sound. There's ...


7

Skilled Companion gives one ally a bonus. They could have written it better. Your confusion is 100% justified. It is quite confusing that the target line says "one ally", and the effect says "any ally" rather than referring to your target. It's reasonable to wonder if that would actually mean this power affects every ally - because you're right, it would ...


6

The ranger feature works just like it does for a ranger. These variants simply swap one or more of that class's features for one or more class features of another class. A class feature gained works just as it did for its original class, including the level at which it is gained and any other effects, except as noted below. (UA 59) So yes: the ...


6

Yes, the scout gets the damage bonus on all attacks The power reads "While you have combat advantage against an enemy, you gain a +2 power bonus to damage rolls against it." So as long as you have combat advantage you get the bonus. You don't add the bonus to each die rolled during a roll, but rather to the total damage roll (which could be 2d4 from your ...


6

While similarly named and similar in feature and function, Blade Storm and Twin-Blade Storm are different features. Since Twin-Blade Storm does not say something along the lines of "your Blade Storm now affects two adjacent enemies" we must assume that they are separate effects. So: Your turn ends and you and three of your enemies meet the required ...


6

Direct Math for your question and an explanation about Careful Attack. Attack: Roll 1d20+to-hit modifier. If you hit roll (1d8 OR 1d6) + damage modifier . Careful Attack's requirement to have two melee weapons or a ranged weapon is simply that, a requirement. When you make the attack while wielding two melee weapons you can choose which melee weapon you ...


6

You could not have taken the opportunity action on your own turn You cannot take opportunity actions on your own turn, so if you, on your turn, move in such a way that your stance is triggered, you can't use the opportunity action granted by the stance. Thus the question about movement interruption is a moot point, though in general interruptions are ...


6

Never miss is hard to come by, but you can get quite a good attack at your level. Attributes For an Archer Ranger there is no reason not to put 18 before racial modifiers on Dex. If you are sure you never reach level 14, 17 is sufficient. Increase it every chance you get. Attack: 6(half level) + 5(attributes) = 11 Race Take any race that gives a Dex ...


6

Ok, there are several things you can and should do. First and foremost, keep them working longer. This is a daily power with the chance to change 1 encounter dramatically, there are specific tactics you can employ to discourage resting to make sure their work days are appropriately long (usually about 4 encounters/day). Don't do this regularly, but ...


5

Yes, it's possible to select Scout or Hunter powers if they have a specified level. As a general rule, when a member of a class is eligible to select: an At-Will Attack, an Encounter Attack, a Daily Attack or any Utility power, and a level is specified, he can select a power of the same type and of lower or equal level from any homonymous class. So, ...


5

Yes, it has to be used right away. Not because it's an immediate action, but because it comes from a power that has just triggered. You don't get to choose when triggered powers take effect, even if going through with them is optional – they apply when, and only when their trigger condition happens.


5

It doesn't. The ability asks for a Favored Enemy. It doesn't give any allowances for replacement abilities, similar abilities, other archetypes, nothing. Your DM may houserule it to work that way - and that's something you'll have to talk over with them - but the black-and-white in the book makes Master Hunter useless unless you've got a Favored Enemy to ...


5

Handle Animal could work, but it's a bad tactic. Summoned animals are still just animals, and all the tricks used to control normal animals work on them. If we assume that the animals would be receptive to your commands if they understand them, you should be able to Push them like any other animal. But. Pushing takes a precious full-round action, because ...


4

Not A Typo, Gary Said So Gary Gygax wrote an article in Dragon magazine #96 about the Ranger/Druid multi-class ("New jobs for demi-humans - Dwarven clerics, elven rangers, and that's not all...", April 1985), and Frank Mentzer wrote a follow-up ("All about the druid/ranger - A classy explanation, better late than never", Dragon #100). As AD&D 2e was ...


4

When you put your Hunter's Quarry on a creature, the extra damage can only be added on a hit. Your rules quote was either out of date (missing errata) or just simply not a complete copy. Hunter's Quarry actually reads: Hunter's Quarry At-Will Minor Action Effect: You can designate the nearest enemy to you that you can see as your quarry. ...


3

Multi-attacks or area attacks must miss all targets to receive the consolation prize. However, all the damage from a multi-attack or area attack is buffed. Twin strike explicitly notes: Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon) or Dexterity vs. AC (ranged), two attacks Therefore, the action point indeed activates the attack ...


3

@Jeff's answer is solid, just adding some perspective from my experience. In my campaigns, I've never had a player complain because I added a bit of storytelling to how they acquired their animal companion. That being said, your campaign and play-style affects this more than anything. To give an example from an intensely story-driven campaign: It took 2 ...


3

Outlaw goes great with Ranger, and it is quite powerful. The encounter power of Outlaw requires a weapon at-will attack power, which you should be using anyway (Twin Strike), and combat advantage that you have from frost cheese. The daze is only good of course if you do not kill the target on your first turn. Also it is easy to explain in the background. A ...


3

Important Note: Despite the fact that you're "half" cleric (depending on how one defines half, in the case of a character like this), your job is to be a striker. Early on you'll grab a few cleric powers; this is because, as a hybrid, you're required to take them. It's actually quite viable to grab a couple early gems from the cleric list and then never take ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible