Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

The DM and player can decide this together, and it'll differ based on the character of your game Rules as written, there is no requirement to wait, or to be anywhere in particular, when the companion is granted. (This is true for abilities granted at levelling up in general, e.g. knowing new spells, or having an ability you didn't have yesterday.) In more ...


14

Well, there are a couple of things you can do. First of all, keep in mind that a strict reading of the power suggests that the enemy must be within 5 squares before moving closer, but I admit that there is some room for interpretation. Second, keep in mind that this is an immediate reaction and therefore the ranger only gets to make one of these attacks in ...


13

The best way I have found, within 3.5, to handle the very sudden and abrupt changes that occur on level-up is to prepare for them ahead of time. Have the ranger adopt an animal, or have an animal start to follow the party, or otherwise introduce the future companion prior to level-up. This gives the ranger an opportunity to gain the animal’s trust and begin ...


12

Those are your stats when using the Power Attack feat. You are correct: your normal to hit and damage would be +5/2d6+6; but if you use Power Attack with a two-handed weapon, you trade a -1 to hit for a +3 to damage. Try checking the Power Attack feat usage in Hero Lab to see a change into your attack stats. Note: pathfinder's Power Attack is better than ...


11

I can't check on it from work, but this post (about Baldur's Gate, of all things...) seems to confirm that, although the PHB does technically allow ranger/druids, it was only in the Complete expansions that the alignment conflict was corrected. The post also implies this requires a Neutral Good alignment. Turns out the information about this combination is ...


10

There is one part of the question that isn't clear and is not addressed by SevenSidedDie: Can you choose to not activate an immediate reaction on the first occurrence of a trigger? Immediate Actions are Choices Since Immediate Actions are a choice, you can always choose to not activate a power on a trigger. If you choose not to, then you cannot use that ...


9

No, it has to be a new creature type from that table. At 5th level and every five levels thereafter (10th, 15th, and 20th level), the ranger may select an additional favored enemy from those given on the table. — d20 SRD You can't pick an "additional" one by picking the same one. To add a type, it has to be new.


8

You seem to have some confusion to the point of not having read the 3.5e player's handbook? The 3.5e ranger class can select a combat style at second level. One of those two styles gets you the equivalent of the two-weapon fighting feat for free without having to meet prereqs. There is no Ambidexterity feat in 3.5e. So yes, at second level, IF you select ...


7

Basically, your companion would act on your turn, much like conjurations and I believe summons. I briefly had one in my campaign and during his turn, the beastmaster would take move actions along with the companion (counting as a single move action) and he would activate powers that allowed the ranger and companion to attack as one (usually these were two ...


7

Seems Legit Taking a level of rogue (knife master and scout archetypes) and then a level of ranger (trapper and freebooter archetypes) is a legitimate combination. None of the archetype abilities replace other archetype abilities. Obviously, campaigns vary, so confirm the viability and availability with the DM, but this is mechanically sound. There's ...


6

The ranger feature works just like it does for a ranger. These variants simply swap one or more of that class's features for one or more class features of another class. A class feature gained works just as it did for its original class, including the level at which it is gained and any other effects, except as noted below. (UA 59) So yes: the ...


6

Yes, the scout gets the damage bonus on all attacks The power reads "While you have combat advantage against an enemy, you gain a +2 power bonus to damage rolls against it." So as long as you have combat advantage you get the bonus. You don't add the bonus to each die rolled during a roll, but rather to the total damage roll (which could be 2d4 from your ...


6

While similarly named and similar in feature and function, Blade Storm and Twin-Blade Storm are different features. Since Twin-Blade Storm does not say something along the lines of "your Blade Storm now affects two adjacent enemies" we must assume that they are separate effects. So: Your turn ends and you and three of your enemies meet the required ...


6

Direct Math for your question and an explanation about Careful Attack. Attack: Roll 1d20+to-hit modifier. If you hit roll (1d8 OR 1d6) + damage modifier . Careful Attack's requirement to have two melee weapons or a ranged weapon is simply that, a requirement. When you make the attack while wielding two melee weapons you can choose which melee weapon you ...


5

Yes, it's possible to select Scout or Hunter powers if they have a specified level. As a general rule, when a member of a class is eligible to select: an At-Will Attack, an Encounter Attack, a Daily Attack or any Utility power, and a level is specified, he can select a power of the same type and of lower or equal level from any homonymous class. So, ...


5

It doesn't. The ability asks for a Favored Enemy. It doesn't give any allowances for replacement abilities, similar abilities, other archetypes, nothing. Your DM may houserule it to work that way - and that's something you'll have to talk over with them - but the black-and-white in the book makes Master Hunter useless unless you've got a Favored Enemy to ...


5

Yes, it has to be used right away. Not because it's an immediate action, but because it comes from a power that has just triggered. You don't get to choose when triggered powers take effect, even if going through with them is optional – they apply when, and only when their trigger condition happens.


4

Not A Typo, Gary Said So Gary Gygax wrote an article in Dragon magazine #96 about the Ranger/Druid multi-class ("New jobs for demi-humans - Dwarven clerics, elven rangers, and that's not all...", April 1985), and Frank Mentzer wrote a follow-up ("All about the druid/ranger - A classy explanation, better late than never", Dragon #100). As AD&D 2e was ...


3

@Jeff's answer is solid, just adding some perspective from my experience. In my campaigns, I've never had a player complain because I added a bit of storytelling to how they acquired their animal companion. That being said, your campaign and play-style affects this more than anything. To give an example from an intensely story-driven campaign: It took 2 ...


3

Outlaw goes great with Ranger, and it is quite powerful. The encounter power of Outlaw requires a weapon at-will attack power, which you should be using anyway (Twin Strike), and combat advantage that you have from frost cheese. The daze is only good of course if you do not kill the target on your first turn. Also it is easy to explain in the background. A ...


3

Important Note: Despite the fact that you're "half" cleric (depending on how one defines half, in the case of a character like this), your job is to be a striker. Early on you'll grab a few cleric powers; this is because, as a hybrid, you're required to take them. It's actually quite viable to grab a couple early gems from the cleric list and then never take ...


3

The god Mielikki, from the Forgotten Realms setting, allows her priests to be Ranger/Druids of Neutral Good alignment (see Mielikki entry in the 2nd ed. AD&D book Faiths and Avatars, page 114–5). Her Druids are still required to be True Neutral, and her Rangers Neutral Good, but the multiclassed Druid/Ranger of Mielikki is Neutral Good. (Notably, the ...


3

To Hit : H (Your to-hit as given by charbuilder) Level : L (Your Level) Bow Dice: B Quarry: U CritChance: C CritDamage: D Static Modifier: S HitChance (T) = 1-((L+14-H-1)/20)-C Odds of Quarry (Q) = 1-( (1-T)^2 ) * U + 1-( (1-C)^2)*max(U) Average Damage = ( T*(B+S) + C*(max(B)+S+D) )*2 + Q In english: Calculating twin-strike without quarry is ...


3

No, and typically no. If the animal companion is making the attack it is a separate creature and uses it's own bonuses (as defined by the type and level of the creature plus any applicable temporary bonuses). If the power in question does damage in the form of "1[B] + beast's Strength modifier" than it uses the beasts bonuses only and items like the Iron ...


3

I have not seen such an ability on any official WotC D&D book. I believe the reasoning behind the feat for spell casters as opposed to weapon wielders is because you are always channeling the spell through your wands, orbs, etc. rather then the items are casting and dealing damage with the spell themselves as opposed to where a weapon wielder is dealing ...


3

Yes, definitely. Take a literal reading: it says that, while you have combat advantage against an enemy, you get a +2 power bonus to damage rolls against it. This means all of the damage rolls. If you take this stance and additionally somehow have the Ranger daily to make five attacks, all five of them will get the +2 to damage. Note that it doesn't count ...


3

Multi-attacks or area attacks must miss all targets to receive the consolation prize. However, all the damage from a multi-attack or area attack is buffed. Twin strike explicitly notes: Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon) or Dexterity vs. AC (ranged), two attacks Therefore, the action point indeed activates the attack ...


3

It depends on how the powers for scout and hunter are described. In the case of both the scout and the hunter, all of the At-Will powers are described as Ranger Utilities and are not eligible to be take as L1 At-Will attack powers for a regular Ranger (you may be able to grab them by taking a feat, I'm not sure right off hand). The Ranger Attack encounter ...


2

Check the builds here. Note that dual-wielding is considered the hardest of the ranger builds to optimize due to the resource requirements. Ranger 6/Swordsage 14 looks to be an excellent bet save for the presence of an SS in your party. However, given that this is a dex-wis swordsage, it should work well in synergy, rather than fighting for the same theme. ...


2

Dual-Implement Spellcaster only adds a damage bonus, not an attack bonus; I presume an analogous feat would do the same, and that it would disallow off-hand attacks as well. Given that point, there are quite a lot of feats that add extra melee damage alone, although you won't get the flavor. However, you may well be better off with existing powers anyway. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible